Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    231

    virtual memory question

    if i make a seperate partition to hold my virtual memory, do i set the whole partition as the memory size

    ie: size of partition : 1536mb size of memory: 1536mb ?

    or do i have to put a lil room there so...

    size of partition 2000mb size of memory: 1536 ?
    MSI 915P Platinum
    Corsair 2 x 512MB XMS2-PC5400
    550 3.4 Ghz P4 @ 3.8!!!
    80G WD ATA
    120G MAXTOR ATA
    320G WD SATA

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1,308
    As far as I know you can set it to the whole drive size (there might be like a few mb reserved though). If you're using windows XP it will tell you the maximum amount of free space available on the partition though, so you can just set it to the max amount available.
    Asus PC-DL - 2x2.4M0 xeons @ 3.27ghz - 9800pro - 2 x 512 pqi Turbo @ 2,2,2,5 - 550W FSP550-60PLN
    cooling: Iwaki WMD-30RZT & 2x Apogee CPU Blocks

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    231
    but i was wondering if that would offer optimum performance, like how u should have like 10-15% of ur hd free and stuff like that
    MSI 915P Platinum
    Corsair 2 x 512MB XMS2-PC5400
    550 3.4 Ghz P4 @ 3.8!!!
    80G WD ATA
    120G MAXTOR ATA
    320G WD SATA

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1,308
    Well, a quick read through this thread may be of interest, even though not directly related to your question there is some good info in here and some think that putting the VM file on a separate partition won't improve perfomance at all.

    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=387205



    Anyway, about leaving some % of the drive free, if it is a drive specifically for virtual memory then I see no real reason to, as it won't need to be defragged or anything. But I have no conclusive proof of this, hopefully someone will come along and enlighten us...
    Asus PC-DL - 2x2.4M0 xeons @ 3.27ghz - 9800pro - 2 x 512 pqi Turbo @ 2,2,2,5 - 550W FSP550-60PLN
    cooling: Iwaki WMD-30RZT & 2x Apogee CPU Blocks

  5. #5
    Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid Enablingwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Strongsville
    Posts
    6,870
    I don't have much to say. I do however come with a link on the what, how and why of the Page file.

    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...c_evl_bsaq.asp


    No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus








Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •