Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    FSB FRIEK deathstar13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,265

    can you guys give me some info on this?

    wth 5000 units at 16m a unit? finish date september 8th!
    really my pc is rather fast but damn is this normal? i just turned one in a few minutes ago and it took 2 days,but i only fold 12 hours a day as my room gets too hot at night.

    is this worth the motherload in points or something?


    Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    The GUI client doesn't have a clue how long a WU will take until it's completed a frame. It really shouldn't show anything until it can make an accurate forecast. I'm not sure why your pie shows 60% when it says 0 out of 5000 frames complete unless this is right after a restart. Read fahlog.txt to see what is really going on.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  3. #3
    FSB FRIEK deathstar13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,265
    the pie chart is just showing the current frame length i think.
    whats odd is it errered out right after i posted this,saying my pc was unstable.
    funny since its been rather stable and even finished its last unit wich was 400 with no issues.
    mabey was just a bad unit?

    Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    Not likely a bad WU on that particular project. Your OC may be a bit high to fold stably.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  5. #5
    AlabamaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    A Labyrinth
    Posts
    6,176
    The GUI does that all the time. Be sure your screen saver is set to just go to blank or logon, otherwise it sucks cycles and well and warms your room.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  6. #6
    FSB FRIEK deathstar13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,265
    Quote Originally Posted by ChasR
    Not likely a bad WU on that particular project. Your OC may be a bit high to fold stably.
    i highley doubt that.
    i use folding mainly for stability testing and ive been running these settings for days without issues.but if i see it happen again ill agree and go back and add vcore.i have it pushed low as possible atm and more would fix it IF that was the issue.

    im not useing a screensaver but the windows program itself.

    anyhow its back folding fine now

    Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-

  7. #7
    Member tenchi86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Smoky Mountains, NC
    Posts
    3,633
    Some WUs are a lot harder then others. From what I remember gromacs are some of those hard ones. Any way like they said its wrong, use Wedos one click. And EMIII.
    "Millions saw the apple fall, but Newton was the one who asked why." -Bernard Mannes Baruch

    Mobo: MSI Neo2-V
    CPU: 2.8a Prescott @ 3.2
    PSU: Blue Storm 500 Watt
    GPU: Geforce 6600GT
    HS: Zalman 7000
    Ram: Kingston HyperX 1024mb 3200

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    No one has reported stability problems on p890 to Stanford. Almost everyone doubts it's their computer that's unstable.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  9. #9
    FSB FRIEK deathstar13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,265
    Quote Originally Posted by ChasR
    No one has reported stability problems on p890 to Stanford. Almost everyone doubts it's their computer that's unstable.
    WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE TELLING MY SYSTEM OF STABILITY TESTING IS FLAWED?




    lol j/k
    and after further review and the verdict is in.
    i had to add more vcore and all is good and its eating up another gromac core.hey i wish i was always right but im not and wasnt this time.
    luckily to get the 100% stability i didnt loose any mhz just added voltage.
    these gromacs are also heating my cpu up more also.i was dancing along at 37c but adding more vcore and the new gromacs core its 39c
    not bad but lets just see how many extra points i can give F(OC)LD when my X2 gets here in about 2-3weeks.

    Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    4,628
    39C is pretty low anyway. Thanks for adding all that megahurrrrrzzzz!!111one!

    < FOLD!
    < Heatware

    < EVGA X58, 920, TRUE, 12GB Corsair, 2 x EVGA GTX 285, Enermax Revolution, Velociraptor, 7 64-bit

  11. #11
    Retired muddocktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New Iberia, LA
    Posts
    12,977
    Is that a mobile Claw you are running, deathstar13?

    I have one like that setup of yours and I found that I had to back down to 2665 MHz for total stability on my DFI board. At first it seemed stable at 2700, but a few of the Gromacs wu's showed it not entirely stable at 2700 MHz.

  12. #12
    FSB FRIEK deathstar13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,265
    Quote Originally Posted by veryhumid
    39C is pretty low anyway. Thanks for adding all that megahurrrrrzzzz!!111one!
    the TT typhoon is a rather amazing heatsink.i never thought id say that about anything made by TT but i just did.

    yeh its a mobile 3000+
    mine wants to max out at 2.8ghz but takes almost 1.75v to do it.
    2.75ghz is fine but still takes 1.68v
    i found 2.7ghz @1.57v to be completly stable.but i could still crank it upto 2.8ghz when i want some benching and such but for normal stuff i prefer the lower voltages.

    Last edited by deathstar13; 07-19-05 at 11:42 AM.

    Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-

  13. #13
    AlabamaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    A Labyrinth
    Posts
    6,176
    Look at those LATS' ,;'
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  14. #14
    Senior Fold-a-holic
    harlam357's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    @Home... Folding@Home
    Posts
    8,024
    Quote Originally Posted by deathstar13
    wth 5000 units at 16m a unit? finish date september 8th!
    really my pc is rather fast but damn is this normal?...

    is this worth the motherload in points or something?
    My rig 2(see sig) has seen two of these 5000 unit WU's come and go in the past few days. Seems as though they are worth a couple hundred points.

    Just turned the second one in... Stanford isn't registering it quite yet. I'll post back with a true point count when it registers on my total.

    edit: 142pts. for the 5000 unit gromacs WU.

    Quote Originally Posted by AlabamaCajun
    Look at those LATS' ,;'
    Cas 1.5 sure... but a Tras of 0. Never seen that... maybe an A64 thing. What's up with that deathstar?

  15. #15

    Member
    freeagent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg!
    Posts
    5,017
    Quote Originally Posted by AlabamaCajun
    Look at those LATS' ,;'
    Agreed. Thats Sick!! wanna trade?
    Intel Xeon x5690 E.S. @ Stock/H100
    Asus Rampage III Formula @ 133/3200/3200
    3x2GB STT Chrome @ 1333 6-6-6-20 1T
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ Stock
    Intel 520/WD Black
    Auzentech Prelude
    Thermaltake SP850M
    Fractal Design Define R4

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    CPU-Z may report 0 but I don't think it'd work if the tRAS were really 0. Ive never seen a motherboard with tRAS lower than 4 available in bios. Here's a quote from Anandtech about latency on nForce motherboards:

    *Several memory tests have shown that memory performs fastest on the nVidia nForce chipsets at a TRas (RAS Precharge) settings in the 9 to 13 range. We ran our own Memory Bandwidth tests with memtest86 with TRas settings from 5 to 15 at a wide range of different memory speeds. The best bandwidth was consistently at 9 to 11 at every speed, with TRas 10 always in the best range at every speed. The performance improvement at TRas 10 was only 2 to 4% over TRas 5 and 6 depending on the speed, but the performance advantage was consistent across all tests. All benchmarks were run at a TRas setting of 10.

    We have not tested a Socket 754 board that offered a CAS 1.5 setting. The OCZ memory ran without problems with 1 DIMM at 1.5-2-2-10 settings.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  17. #17
    hibner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Huntington, WV
    Posts
    1,539
    I just started folding a few days ago. TEAM 32 BABY!!! Last night I got a 5000 unit gromac and my cpu temp shot up about 3c. It should finish tommorrow morning, so I'll confirm the 142pnts. Now that I think about it, I've had 4 WUs so far and all have been gromacs.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    el segundo, ca or caprock, nm
    Posts
    1,474
    WELCOME to the fold!!

  19. #19
    Senior Fold-a-holic
    harlam357's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    @Home... Folding@Home
    Posts
    8,024
    Quote Originally Posted by ChasR
    CPU-Z may report 0 but I don't think it'd work if the tRAS were really 0. Ive never seen a motherboard with tRAS lower than 4 available in bios. Here's a quote from Anandtech about latency on nForce motherboards:
    I didn't think so... such timings should be theoretically impossible- I don't have the exact equation for calculating minimum Tras but 4 would make perfect sense. I think it is (ras-to-cas + ras-precharge) = min. Tras.

    10 Tras misreported as 0 makes sense. Someone needs to remove that "% 10" from the code that calculates the Tras.

    I haven't checked to see what low end Tras my boards will do. I just know that nForce2 loves 11 Tras! So that's what I run.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    From Mushkin:

    The minimum tRAS would be tRCD+CAS latency + 2 cycles (to output the first burst of four and make way for the second burst in the output buffers).
    Obviously tRAS of 5 works I've got a few rigs running at that. Here's a good explanation of latency from Corsair. After rereading this, I just might loosen up tRAS on my Intel rigs like I already have on my nForce rigs and see what happens.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •