Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered fosheazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    61

    New Memory! Now running at 300 1:1!

    I recently purchased a MSI K8N neo2 Platinum with some old trusted corsair memory and a new venice core 3000+. No matter what I did I couldn't get past 267. At any voltage,any dividers, any amount of tweaking. Even when setting all memory dividers very low I could not achieve a higher overclock. Figuring that I just got a crappy CPU I ordered some OCZ platinum rev2 so that I could at least have tight timings at the speeds I was running. I put my new memory in today and started running memtests, and upping the overclock. I hit 315 1:1 before I hit a memory test error! I could not however pass a prime at this speed. Timings were 315 cas3 4,4,8. I can pass prime and all memory tests at 305 however! This also means what I previously thought was a really crappy CPU is running over 2.8 ghz! I can't believe how picky this board is for RAM! But now running 9x300 at 3,4,3,8 stable with every test I've thrown at it, including several hours of gaming! Woot!

  2. #2
    Member MoPMatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    857
    whoa nice
    My venice will do 2.85 but my TCCD won't do past 265 1:1 with the venice at any timings, did 275 fine with the winchester...

    Maybe its cuz the new OCZ rev2 is TCC5 and not TCCD?

    What bios are u running?
    My Heat & eBay

    DFI nF4 LP SLI-DR ~ Opteron 165 DC @ 3ghz
    Custom Water ~ Swiftech & AquaXtreme
    G.Skill 4GB ~ XFX 8800GT 2x
    PCP&C 700w ~ Dual Dell 1907FP 19" LCDs ~ Sceptre 32" LCD TV
    Seagate 500GB ~ Seagate 1.5TB ~ Hitachi 400GB

  3. #3
    Member ziggo0's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    La Porte, Indiana
    Posts
    4,729
    Very very nice, I only wish I could have more than 2.7vdimm...my OCZ Plats would really shine, they've been tested to 304fsb 1:1 3.4.4.8

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,497
    Congrats! Yes, it's a very picky board with ram, particularly older ram. You are not the only one who thought they had a bad cpu only to find out it was the ram. I bet there are many more people who would benefit from a ram upgrade. It's another good reason to spend the bucks on quality ram. (My tccd will only do 275 and it's the ram not the board or cpu that holds it back)

  5. #5
    Registered fosheazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    61
    I am currently running the 1.8 bios. Reading about the new 1.9 beta bios is exciting, however I will wait for an official release. I am running the memory at 2.85 which is max on this board.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    121
    I can't wait till I get my OCZ EL Platinum rev2 memory
    i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz
    Corsair H60
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    G.Skill Ripjaw 8GB DDR3 1600
    2x6950 @ 880/1350
    3x64gb ssd G2 series RAID 0
    Corsair 750w

  7. #7
    Registered fosheazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    61
    Well after some more tweaking and testing I am happily running at 9x295 2.5,4-3-8 1t! This has given me much better performance over the additional cpu speed but laxer timings of 300+ fsb. I have achieved 8000 in sandra memory tests!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by fosheazy
    Well after some more tweaking and testing I am happily running at 9x295 2.5,4-3-8 1t! This has given me much better performance over the additional cpu speed but laxer timings of 300+ fsb. I have achieved 8000 in sandra memory tests!
    Awesome! You have the TCC5 correct?
    i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz
    Corsair H60
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    G.Skill Ripjaw 8GB DDR3 1600
    2x6950 @ 880/1350
    3x64gb ssd G2 series RAID 0
    Corsair 750w

  9. #9
    Member Osirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Check your Six...
    Posts
    1,161
    Welcome to the world of 300HTT 1:1. I can do it as well, with a 3000+ winnie (0437)...
    I did 300HTT 1:1 with 2.5-4-4-5 1T.. Very nice OC though!
    HP dv8300us Media Center Lappy

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Palmdale CA
    Posts
    923
    What kind of benchmark scores are you getting at 300 1:1 memory? I am curious to see if my benchmarks are better with 250 1:1 @ 2-2-2-5.

  11. #11
    Member Osirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Check your Six...
    Posts
    1,161
    The bandwidth is in the range of 7.7 to 7.8. Dont remember off hand. I have some screenie's of it in action if you like to see them.
    HP dv8300us Media Center Lappy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •