Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Member madhatR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NJ

    BFG 7800gtx .. what do i use to overclock it ?

    which program are you guys using to overclock it ?
    i wanna see what this card can do

    thanks

  2. #2
    Member Trombe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Cool Bits

    Riva Tuner

    Enjoy

    BTW I like your pocketbook...

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Trombe
    Cool Bits

    Riva Tuner

    Enjoy

    BTW I like your pocketbook...

    totally agree...I use Riva Tuner myself.

  4. #4
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Check the Guide in my sig. Also be sure to use Hardware Monitor to check your temp because those cards get hot

  5. #5
    Member madhatR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NJ
    thanks

  6. #6
    Member madhatR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Quote Originally Posted by RedDragonXXX
    Check the Guide in my sig. Also be sure to use Hardware Monitor to check your temp because those cards get hot

    thanks for the guide ..

    i remember i spoke to someone at BFG and asked what are acceptable temps for this card and he said most people idle around 60sC and load around 80-90C .. he said as long as it doesnt go over like 95c ur fine .. right now my card idles around 50c which he said was pretty low .. ill check out today what this card can do


    and thanks for the nice pocketbook comment








    EDIT

    installed both rivaturner .. now im running coolbits .. they both detect my
    7800gtx speeds as 275/1300 ?? whats up with the core
    Last edited by madhatR; 07-19-05 at 11:14 AM.

  7. #7
    Member speed bump's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montana tech Butte mt.
    Which drivers are you using? I believe you have to use to 77.72s to make rivatuner work correctly.

    Also to check clockspeeds have you considered powerstrip? It isn't used much anymore becuase it has to be open to have the clockspeeds running however it will show what the card is clocked at.
    Big changes coming: Intel e4300, DFI Blood iron, Crucial DDR2-8500, ATI x859xt, MCW-6002>Ehiem 1250>Bip3 with 3 nidec beta Vs, Sunbeam Zorro, Corsair 650 watter
    Stuff I should be using but don't: Finally got around to running that stuff.

    Ever run a benchmark? support our forums by posting it in the 3dmark team and system benchmarking team sections.
    My heatware

    Silence may be golden but performance is platinum

  8. #8
    Member madhatR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NJ
    yeah im using the 77.72s .. this is weird

  9. #9
    Member Trombe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    What does coolbits say?

  10. #10
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Quote Originally Posted by madhatR
    yeah im using the 77.72s .. this is weird
    Try the 80.40's

  11. #11
    Member madhatR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NJ
    i figured it out .. lol i was reading the clock speeds for 2d

    i might give the 80.40s a try

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by RedDragonXXX
    Check the Guide in my sig. Also be sure to use Hardware Monitor to check your temp because those cards get hot

    Funny my Evga doesn't peek over 55c...and thats at the clock in my sig...

  13. #13
    Member madhatR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Quote Originally Posted by AsusLover
    Funny my Evga doesn't peek over 55c...and thats at the clock in my sig...

    nice .. my case cooling is horrible .

  14. #14
    Member ShadowClock59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lieing on my back dieing from heat exhaustion in my big black hair/hat thing.
    Wow, thats strange that they say around 60c, mine idles at 41c and around 55c load and my case cooling isnt the best. But thats no big deal, anyways, yeah, if your talking about the monitoring tab for RivaTuner, as of now, it only reads 2d clocks, but the next version of RT will allow 4 clocks to be read, 2d, low 3d, perf 3d, socalled Geo-Delta-Clock (maybe it is ).

    I wouldnt use Coolbits along with RivaTuner, it causes windows not to save my settings, so I used the clean registry tab on Riva to fix this, just in case you run into this, anyways, Riva will enable the Clock Frequencies tab in the Display properties anyway, so I would just use Riva.

    My .02 cents.

    ShadowClock59

  15. #15
    Member ShadowClock59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lieing on my back dieing from heat exhaustion in my big black hair/hat thing.
    Quote Originally Posted by AsusLover
    Funny my Evga doesn't peek over 55c...and thats at the clock in my sig...
    Thats because eVga rocks.......

  16. #16
    Member madhatR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NJ
    yeah who knows .. but that is what they told me .. right now just testing out i have the core at 490 .. no problems .. idles at 50c like stock .. but loads around 72 lol .. still fine i guess .. ill run it all the way 90c lol .. since bfg says thats still fine .. my case has like NO airflow .. the lian li pcv2000b .. gotta switch to a stacker

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowClock59
    Thats because eVga rocks.......

    Well i knew that

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •