• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

going over FBS (upgrading)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gizmofo

Registered
For some reason i found a processor with 533MHz FBS that is cheaper then one that is 400MHz. I have an old system i'm upgrading and I was wondering, if the frequency was the same, and my motherboard only supports 400MHz, would my motherboard be bottlenecking it, so the 533MHz would work as a 400MHz?

If you can't manually adjust the FSB to 133 MHz in the BIOS, then your 533 processor will only run at 100 FSB. For example, a 2.4B 533 bus P-4 will run at 1.8 using the 400 bus. What motherboard fo you have?

that looks very long and confusing.. I'm not to good at overclocking, im kinda new to it. I'll try reading it and doing what i can, but i am going to buy the CPU soon and I need to know if it will 100% work... will extra cooling be required? Am i overclocking my motherboards FBS? i didnt know you could do that... by the way the CPU is 533, the mobo is 400... Really confused, but less than before
Much thanks this far

I responded to your PM, but I will also post here in case other people in the same situation are trying to figure this out too. The system bus speeds of Intel and FSB (front side bus) speeds are a little confusing.