Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Jedi Knight Senior Über~PhLuBB's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Portland, OR

    What are these "grand canyons" on AthlonXP's?

    I've seen a few articles referring to gaps, or trenches on AthlonXPs that somehow interfere with unlocking. Can someone give me a pic to explain this? (Or a really good text explaination!)
    Member of The Avatar Maker's Guild™
    Help your fellow Overclockers, Folding@Home Team 32!
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz / Asus P6T / Win 7 Pro
    6GB Muskin DDR3-1600 / Enermax 720W PSU
    300GB WD Velociraptor / SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
    2x eVGA GTX 280 SLI / Samsung 2233rz
    Anything worth stealing is worth paying for.

  2. #2
    Senior Member oc jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Fayetteville, AR
    Its the L! bridges, they used to be a flat chip surface to connect on, now there is actually a little "ditch" dug in between the 2 unconnected bridges, so you cannot directly connect the 2, you just find something to fill the bridges and then connect it
    [THE HATEMACHINE]
    .: p4 3.2c : Abit IC7 : 1.5gb pc3500 : Gf Fx 5950 :.

    [FAVORITE GIRL]
    .: AMDxp 3700 : DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 : 2gb pc4000 : Gf 7900gt :.

    WoW
    Server: Laughing Skull
    Faction: Alliance
    Name: Truex 60 Dwarf Rogue

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    ok, you know with the L1 bridges that you usually have to connect? well, they are flat. in the new xp chips, there is not only a gap between the contacts, but there is also a "pit" or a trench. this doesnt allow you to simply use a pencil. you have to either fill in the trench, then pencil it in, or, use a conductive material to fill in the trench, AND connect contatcs.

    here is a CRUDE pic.

    contact 1--> __ __ <-- contact 2
    \__/

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    oops, they didnt come out right, well, maybe someone will post a pic.

  5. #5
    Jedi Knight Senior Über~PhLuBB's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Portland, OR
    No, I see what you guys are saying.

    Wouldn't it make sense to use an ultra-fine tip soldering iron to solder over the gaps, or even a thick conductive paint? It would come out something like this:
    Member of The Avatar Maker's Guild™
    Help your fellow Overclockers, Folding@Home Team 32!
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz / Asus P6T / Win 7 Pro
    6GB Muskin DDR3-1600 / Enermax 720W PSU
    300GB WD Velociraptor / SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
    2x eVGA GTX 280 SLI / Samsung 2233rz
    Anything worth stealing is worth paying for.

  6. #6
    Angry's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, WV
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    The problem with soldering is Frying the chips...some have done it sucsefuly..others have not...

    Main Rig..........................Game Server............................................ Media Server..............Untangle.....................N vidia Shield
    Core i5 4690k @ 4.5ghz ........Phenom II X4 965 w/CM Hyper 612.............Core i3 2100.......... Athlon X2 2350-BE....... Android 4.4.2
    GA-Z97X-Gaming GT ..............GA-890GPA-UD3H.....................................MSI p67A-gd-65...........MSI 785GTM-45..........16gb mSDHC
    16gb Partriot S5..........................G.Skill 2x2gb 1333.....................................4gb DDR3 1333...........4gb OCZ DDR2 1066
    EVGA GTX 770 SC w/ACX .................XFX 8800gt+Asus 8400gs
    60gb OCZ Summit..............................4x250gb WD RE Raid0
    HGST 2x2tb Raid 0
    ViewSonic VX2453mh-LED

  7. #7
    Jedi Knight Senior Über~PhLuBB's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Originally posted by Angry
    The problem with soldering is Frying the chips...some have done it sucsefuly..others have not...
    Then window-defogger repair paste. Use masking tape to isolate a single bridge, and slother between the tape edges. Repeat 3 more times. Boom, bang. Done.
    Member of The Avatar Maker's Guild™
    Help your fellow Overclockers, Folding@Home Team 32!
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz / Asus P6T / Win 7 Pro
    6GB Muskin DDR3-1600 / Enermax 720W PSU
    300GB WD Velociraptor / SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
    2x eVGA GTX 280 SLI / Samsung 2233rz
    Anything worth stealing is worth paying for.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    yeah, that works.

    many people have been using a high heat tolerant compound to fill the gaps first. then, you are pretty much a the same point you would be with an old tbird or duron...

    either way, you will have to viod the warranty.

  9. #9
    Jedi Knight Senior Über~PhLuBB's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Portland, OR
    I don't see why those little tape things wouldn't work either... Y'know, they go for about $20 for 2 of 'em. It's a piece of sticky plastic with 4 little strips of adhesive metal that you just kind of "tape" to the bridges.
    Member of The Avatar Maker's Guild™
    Help your fellow Overclockers, Folding@Home Team 32!
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz / Asus P6T / Win 7 Pro
    6GB Muskin DDR3-1600 / Enermax 720W PSU
    300GB WD Velociraptor / SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
    2x eVGA GTX 280 SLI / Samsung 2233rz
    Anything worth stealing is worth paying for.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •