• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

ati mobility x800 or geforce 6800 ultra?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

eliteoneXP

I am planning on buying a kickass alienware laptop and I want to make sure it has the best of the best. I see they are offering the new geforce go 6800 ultra chip and I don't know which would give better performance. I'm kinda new to the laptop market so I'm not quite sure which one would be better overall. Any help would be appreciated. I see in most cases the ATI x800 beats the normal geforce go 6800 but I cant find any comparisons comparing the 6800 go ultra to the x800 mobile.

i have the 6800 non ultra version and it is kinda power hungry... I can't imagine the battery life with a overclocked 6800 ultra.

alienware laptops are hORRID on battery life because they use P4's in their gaming ones at least. i would either go sager or dell xps2. my dell xps2 at least outperforms the alienware and i get 2x the battery life.

tricknasty said:
alienware laptops are hORRID on battery life because they use P4's in their gaming ones at least. i would either go sager or dell xps2. my dell xps2 at least outperforms the alienware and i get 2x the battery life.

^^ Alienware is horrid on Batterylife? Sager is better on battery life? Do you really think there's a difference between the 2 companies besides the price?

Sager and Alienware use the same ODM, the 9880 Sager is the same as the Alienware A51 just without as much flash. Sager does get parts ahead of Alienware tho like the 6800 Ultra.

well i meant that the sager would be alot cheaper. but yea sager is proly just the same on battery life. in my opinion the 6800 go ultra is an outstanding card, but so is the x800, so it sounds like either would be great in a gaming laptop

I'd go with the ATI myself without even thinking but: