• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

decisions, decisions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hUMANbEATbOX

Contributing Member
i have been itching for an upgrade for a while now in the CPU department. i've had my 2.4c for what seems like forever, and i want something new to play with.

whatever i do, i want to hold on to my agp card and my ram (for now, will probably pick up some new ram in the spring).

i was thinking of a 640 setup, that way i can keep my 2.4c and ic7max3 together, along with some spare ddr, and replace the pIII 733 that is currently powering my television/movie box.

or, i could just buy a 3.2e and hope for the best. this would save me money, and i could just drop it into my current rig. easier = good.

so what would you do? i am a full time student, so buying ddr2/pci-e is out of the question, and my gf would quite literally KILL me if i did that. I can handle the cost of a 640 and a decent mobo to go with it, but if i could hit 4ghz on a 3.2e easily enough, i think that would satiate my need for an upgrade, and save me some dough.

thanks in advance for the input!