Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 39
  1. #1
    Mushkin Tech Rep Zebbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    End of the Redline
    Posts
    841

    Cool Redline, way to go

    I got a little bored here so I decided to pull the trigger and try out how much XP3200 Redline kit is able to handle.

    I fed these modules with only 3,6volts and here's the result.

    282MHz
    283MHz
    284MHz

    And I haven't even started yet, lets just wait for the colder weathers
    Last edited by Zebbo; 09-20-05 at 07:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    4,832
    Not to bad but can you pull RAS to CAS on 2 and lower CAS to 1.5?

    Also was this done at 2T command rate?

  3. #3
    Senior Air Extraordinaire
    HousERaT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Imladris
    Posts
    6,418
    Not bad...... Let's see how far you can take them using 2-2-2-5 1T?
    CM-690 | Maximus Formula | Ballistix D9GMH 2GB - 4-4-4-10 - 2.2v (active cooled) | E6850 @4GHz (L719B) 602 Bios 500x8 - 1.475v | Ultra 120 Extreme | 2x HD3870 840/1300 | Lite-On 52327s CDRW | WD 74GB - Raptor HDD | Corsair 620HX PSU | Windows XP Pro sp2 |

    Support the OC Benchmarking Team The HD 4870/50 Thread The HD 3870/50 Thread The X1900XT/XTX Thread X800GTO² Thread Heatware

    Make friends with your "FAST" - 90K 01SE - 77K 03 - 29K 05 - 19K 06 - 274K AM3 - single card all air baby!

  4. #4
    Mushkin Tech Rep Zebbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    End of the Redline
    Posts
    841
    It is all with 1T command rate, I will do some more benching soon and I will provide bandwidth benchmark with it + A64T shot. I can't get tRCD to 2 no matter what I do, it's only possible with 200MHz and with 3,3V so I let it be alone.

    I am also very limited with my Venice's memory controller. This baby wont stay stable at 2,7GHz with 1,7V or even with 1,75V

    Just wait couple minutes until my room gets cold enough and I will provide a few benches more

  5. #5
    Senior Air Extraordinaire
    HousERaT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Imladris
    Posts
    6,418
    280 with cas 2 is still darn good. Looks like some good sticks you got there.
    CM-690 | Maximus Formula | Ballistix D9GMH 2GB - 4-4-4-10 - 2.2v (active cooled) | E6850 @4GHz (L719B) 602 Bios 500x8 - 1.475v | Ultra 120 Extreme | 2x HD3870 840/1300 | Lite-On 52327s CDRW | WD 74GB - Raptor HDD | Corsair 620HX PSU | Windows XP Pro sp2 |

    Support the OC Benchmarking Team The HD 4870/50 Thread The HD 3870/50 Thread The X1900XT/XTX Thread X800GTO² Thread Heatware

    Make friends with your "FAST" - 90K 01SE - 77K 03 - 29K 05 - 19K 06 - 274K AM3 - single card all air baby!

  6. #6
    Mushkin Tech Rep Zebbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    End of the Redline
    Posts
    841
    Actually this is very early version of XP3200

    I just need to wait for ~10mins until I can start. Using water cooling and my CPU idles at 16 degrees

  7. #7
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    4,832
    That is very good, but it would be 10 times better if you could push RAS to CAS to 2 since that is a performance giver in bandwith bench, 3D Mark...

    Even though those are still nice results considering that it's running on 1T. Also I'm assuming that you are active cooling these or did you put on some of them new HS

  8. #8
    Mushkin Tech Rep Zebbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    End of the Redline
    Posts
    841
    Okey Gentlemen, here's the 283MHz and this includes the A64Tweaker shot too. Going for more

  9. #9
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    4,832
    Good to see that you got that CAS down. See if you can go for higher freq eventhough you cand lower RAStoCAS.
    Last edited by RedDragonXXX; 09-21-05 at 07:26 AM.

  10. #10
    Mushkin Tech Rep Zebbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    End of the Redline
    Posts
    841
    Ok, so I provided that 283MHz, why not to provide 284MHz too.

    Well, as I stated above that my Venice is not as good as it could be, I think the memory controller is what keeps me this low.
    Last edited by Zebbo; 09-20-05 at 07:46 PM.

  11. #11
    Member RAMMAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    gold coast, australia
    Posts
    1,005
    link doesnt work.
    xfx gtx260 @ 700/1500/1150, core 2 extreme qx9650, 2x1gb crucial ballistix pc2 6400, gigabyte p35-ds3p, 74gb raptor, 750w thermaltake toughpower, 22in lcd and razer deathadder+exactmat.

  12. #12
    Mushkin Tech Rep Zebbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    End of the Redline
    Posts
    841
    Works now

  13. #13
    Member RAMMAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    gold coast, australia
    Posts
    1,005
    why is the refresh rate (tref) set differently to the memclk freq?
    xfx gtx260 @ 700/1500/1150, core 2 extreme qx9650, 2x1gb crucial ballistix pc2 6400, gigabyte p35-ds3p, 74gb raptor, 750w thermaltake toughpower, 22in lcd and razer deathadder+exactmat.

  14. #14
    Member Tyreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    1,989
    WOoooOOO!!!
    so the redlines are hot stuff!
    Greattt.... I was planinng on getting those hot sticks for my new rig and now its confirmed.
    -- Main Rig --
    Q6600 @ 3.2 Water cooled. | GA-P35-DS3R | 4 GB Corsair XMS2 DDR-667 4-4-4-12 | nVidia XFXGefore 8800 GTS Stock| Seagate Barracuda 320 GB | Western Digital Raptor 36 GB | HSPC Tech Stationw/ Custom Mods

    Feel free to IM me with any questions. :D

  15. #15
    Mushkin Tech Rep Zebbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    End of the Redline
    Posts
    841
    Refresh rate and memclk frequencies doesn't have to walk hand-in-hand

  16. #16
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    4,832
    Quote Originally Posted by Zebbo
    Well, as I stated above that my Venice is not as good as it could be, I think the memory controller is what keeps me this low.
    I don't think that it's your CPU since Venice are know for having good mem controller much better then previous Winnies.

    I think that you have reached the top but if you were to loosen up those timings you could squeeze few more MHz out of it, but what would be the point of that since these are UTT's (if you know what I mean)

  17. #17
    Mushkin Tech Rep Zebbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    End of the Redline
    Posts
    841
    You are correct there, Venice's does have better memory controller than Winchester's does. But just an pure example here, if I would get an FX -series CPU now, there is still possibility I might get better memory overclock for a less voltage than I do with my Venice.

    But this is really something we cannot discuss cause I don't have an FX so that's as far as it goes And did I or didn't I hit wall here, well, you never know did I left an headroom there to show you guys some better results later

  18. #18
    Member largon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Suomi Finland
    Posts
    502
    Zebbo,
    Eikö tRCD tosiaan mene kahteen? Entäs tWTR ja tRTW, meneekö 1?

    Quote Originally Posted by RedDragonXXX
    Not to bad but can you pull RAS to CAS on 2 and lower CAS to 1.5?

    Also was this done at 2T command rate?
    1. CAS1.5 = CAS2. A64 doesn't support CAS1.5.
    2. If the ram can do xxxMHz @ 2T it can do the same @ 1T. Memcontroller is the only thing that matters when command rate is 1T. It's simply not an ram issue.
    Last edited by largon; 09-21-05 at 02:40 AM.

  19. #19
    Member RAMMAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    gold coast, australia
    Posts
    1,005
    Quote Originally Posted by largon
    2. If the ram can do xxxMHz @ 2T it can do the same @ 1T. Memcontroller is the only thing that matters when command rate is 1T. It's simply not an ram issue.
    what if a memory controller doesnt like a particular type of ram? or if the 2 sticks are not in the right slots?
    Last edited by RAMMAN; 09-21-05 at 04:32 AM.
    xfx gtx260 @ 700/1500/1150, core 2 extreme qx9650, 2x1gb crucial ballistix pc2 6400, gigabyte p35-ds3p, 74gb raptor, 750w thermaltake toughpower, 22in lcd and razer deathadder+exactmat.

  20. #20
    Member largon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Suomi Finland
    Posts
    502
    RAMMAN,
    What do you mean? In both cases you mentioned it's not memory's fault, but mcontroller's.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •