Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :( pscout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto

    Thumbs down The "fix" for QMD's on AMD's seems to give gromacs to P4's!

    All my P4 mostly QMD exclusive (BP/-Advmethods) machines are now getting GROMACS!!!

    I am guessing this is a byproduct of the "FIX" by stanford to stop giving QMD's to amd machines???!!!

    I hope they fix this soon!
    Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
    Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
    2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
    4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
    4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
    x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
    3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
    E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
    1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

    Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout

  2. #2
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Hrm, I've got multiple gromacs cores running, and all I have in my room are AMDs...

    *shrug*
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  3. #3
    Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :( pscout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    I just got a response from Vijay ... he said this would keep up until Friday or Monday.

    If its Monday it will give someone else my spot in the top 20.
    Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
    Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
    2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
    4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
    4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
    x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
    3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
    E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
    1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

    Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout

  4. #4
    Senior Headphone Guru
    TollhouseFrank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    T3h Intr@tub3z!
    the temp fix is only good till monday? hmm.... i was loookin' over the server list last night.... seemed like about 1 out of 5 servers was down for some reason or other. Maybe they are doin' some major updates?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    MA, USA
    Heatware Profile
    this is freaking retarded, I woke up today to have grand total of 77points on this rig, I just went orange and this is gonna kill it damn you vijay

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    FL
    Quote Originally Posted by dicecca112
    this is freaking retarded, I woke up today to have grand total of 77points on this rig, I just went orange and this is gonna kill it damn you vijay
    Welcome to my world, it seems my little p7xx problem started again.

  7. #7
    hibner's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Huntington, WV
    Both of my AMD rigs that are set up for QMDs (BP/-Advmethods) are still receiving QMDs with no problems.

    EDIT: scratch that. both rigs just finished up their respective WUs and qued up gromacs
    Last edited by hibner; 09-30-05 at 08:33 AM.

  8. #8
    jerseytomato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Folding@Palau
    just got a puny p2200_ProteinA for 121 points.

  9. #9
    Well there goes my 1600 ppd average. One of my three QMD rigs went from 400 ppd to 120.


    $#@@# $&R%^ %^$$^*% $*^%$*^ %$(*%^$*E ^%#$!!!!!








    That is all.

    (Disclaimer. The above characters do not represent any specific words in the English language. They are simply characters.)
    Last edited by AMD_OCER; 09-30-05 at 09:44 AM.
    Folding for Team32 under user name Cluster007

    <<< My Main Rig

  10. #10
    I looked at my two rigs today to find them folding Gromacs and not QMDs. As a beginning folder it was a real boost to climb the ladder so fast from nothing. To see my points drop from 900 ppd to around 240 ppd or so, a real bummer.

    After a few moments of panic trying to figure out what happened, I remembered it's not really about the points but the science and saving lives.

    Hmmm, maybe there is hope for me yet and I'm on my way to recovering from the " need more points addiction" that was beginning to overtake me?

  11. #11
    Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :( pscout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Quote Originally Posted by Vijay Pande
    QMD's will be back soon. Hopefully either Friday or Monday.
    Apparently to stop the large corp based folders from getting QMD's by mistake (and risking losing a huge folding farms) they have mostly stopped sending out QMD's untill today or monday to give them time to implement and test a fix.

    Rigs that had flags to stop them getting QMD's were getting them.

    Getting QMD's on folding only rigs would not be a problem, but i know what happens from experience if 2 qmd's were running at the same time on my rigs! or on my lesser p4's that i am working on while running a qmd ...

    So hopefiully we will get our steady diet of QMd's back shortly!
    Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
    Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
    2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
    4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
    4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
    x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
    3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
    E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
    1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

    Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Audioaficionado's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Medford, Orygun
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    All my QMD boxen are on a lite diet of itsy bitsy gromacs this weekend

    Oh well I think I know what's going on and it's no biggie as this will affect everyone.

    Like pscout said, QMDs were getting sent to machines that were set NOT to get them such as corp machines. That's a huge problem that needs to get fixed ASAP!

    A lot of IT guys who use their corp machines to fold are at risk to lose their jobs if some QMDs took down mission critical machines by flooding their memory bus, etc. Not only would the IT super folders get in deep dodo, but it would give FAH a black eye and make it harder to recruit. I understand why Stanford did this and I fully support it while they sort this out.

    It's costing me some PPD too but I'll gladly accept it knowing that it's going to be better for FAH in the long run.
    .....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
    .......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
    Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
    Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
    Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
    Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
    Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

    You have over 101 signatures and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
    Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!

  13. #13
    Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :( pscout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    And it will give the AMD folks a chance to outpoint us for a while.
    Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
    Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
    2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
    4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
    4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
    x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
    3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
    E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
    1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

    Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •