Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Member OCS911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,039

    AMD X2 3800+ or 4200+???

    If you can purchase an AMD X2 3800+ and X2 4200+ at the same price $360, which one do you get beside X2 4200+ is a good deal at that price? I want to know which one is better in overclocking and overall performance since X2 3800+ has Toledo Core w/ half L2 disabled, thanks for helping!

  2. #2
    Sleepy_Steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    VT... or MD
    Posts
    2,246
    from what ive read....

    the chache makes very little difference, so go for clock speed.

    now guessing the 3800 is 2.2 and the 4200 is 2.4...

    i would go for the 2.4 cause even a marginal / moderate OC on that would likley be better than a moderate / respectable OC on the 2.2,

    if only for the fact that the chip comes out of the box closer to the red line.
    CPU i7-2600 Cooling CM 212+ w/ 2 fans RAM 4x4gb G.Skill DDR3 1333 Video 9800GT & 8600GT Storage 1TB Raid0 system & 2TB storage HEAT
    Folding User Stats

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Oak Ridge, TN
    Posts
    403
    3800+ seems to have a better overclock potential from reading other threads.

    I went for the 4400+ myself.
    SAGER/CLEVO Laptop: SHIVA
    i7 740 at stock speeds
    ATI 5870 Radeon at stock speeds
    8GB DDR
    320 GB HDD@7200 RPM/160GB in bay 2
    Intel Wireless
    (I highly recommend these cases. Easy to maintain and upgrade as a desktop)

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    845
    If both are the same price get the 4200. Overall they OC about the same and with the 4200 you have a 11x multi so there is more flexibility when overclocking.
    AsRock Z97 Extreme 4 4790K DELIDED W/CLU4.8@1.29 8 GB G.skill Ripjaws 2133
    WATER COOLED:Swiftech H220-X 2nd XSPC EX240 Rad SCYTHE ultra Kaze push-pull 240 GB Sandisk Extreme 2 SSD WD 1 TB black edition
    Asus Direct Cu2 270X(1200/1500)
    Corsair HX850 Cooler Master CM690 III

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,497
    FYI the 3800 clocks at 2.0GHz and the 4200 at 2.2GHz. They hae the same cache size. Some 3800 are toledo cores with the extra cache disabled and some are manchesters which have the the 512x2 cache to begin with. (The toledo cores may be slightly better overclockers) If you can get a 4200 for that price that is one great deal. Once you OC there would probably be no big differences between them but the 4200 would get you a higher stock speed and an 11x multi, which could come in handy. All in all it's a pretty close call. Good luck with whihever one you pick.

  6. #6
    Member Enigma422's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Parabolic Quantum Well
    Posts
    1,450
    I say get the 3800+. If you OC you will most likely not be using the 11x mult so it won't be needed. The 3800+s are also great OCers and in the end that is what counts, not stock speed. That is unless you plan on keeping it at stock, but if you do what are you doing in an overclockers forums

  7. #7
    Member 1twelve2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    243
    where i bought my X2 4400+ (Fry's Electronics), the 3800+ was the same price as the 64 4000+ (about $370), and the 4200+ was only $20 cheaper than the 4400+(about 500)... so basically my choice was the 3800+ or the 4400+........ i chose the 4400+ because its a Toledo core and has 2x1Mb L2 cache. So, in your case if the prices for the 3800+ and the 4200+ are the same (idk why, but i doubt it) go with the 4200+..... if you can get it for $370. good luck !

  8. #8
    Member OCS911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,039
    $360 shipped on Retail AMD X2 4200+ is a very good deal, I guess X2 4200+ for me then hope I will be good overclocker

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    clearwater, florida
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by OCS911
    $360 shipped on Retail AMD X2 4200+ is a very good deal, I guess X2 4200+ for me then hope I will be good overclocker
    can you tell us where you are getting that from, and do they have more ?

  10. #10
    Member InfiniteThought's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Davis, CA
    Posts
    365
    On the X2 3800+ multipliers: The maximum 10x multiplier is set by the CPU not the motherboard? When I saw the 10x multiplier in the BIOS I assumed changing the BIOS might allow a multiplier over 10x, am I incorrect?

  11. #11
    Member OCS911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,039
    10x multiplier is applied to CPU itself not motherboard, unless you are lucky that you can find unlock multi CPU or else you have to stuck w/ 10x multiplier on X2 3800+

  12. #12
    Member InfiniteThought's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Davis, CA
    Posts
    365
    I'll need to research before I start overclocking. Just messing around last night I pushed the FSB to 220 at 10x and the X2 ran perfectly. I know there is a search function, but does anyone know of any information on over clocking an X2 with a DFI Ultra-D MB?

  13. #13
    Member darksparkz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,418
    Both are pretty much the same core. Only difference is the 1x multiplier, same cache size as well.

    Since that was already stated a few times in this post, I'd say go for the better core, X2 4200+. Most people get the X2 3800+ over the X2 4200+ because of price/performance ratio. Both cores are the same in terms of performance, and both can probably OC to about the same max speeds on air, so thats why most rather save the dollars and not get that 1x multiplier.

    But since you can get the X2 4200+ at the same price as the X2 3800+, then of course go for the better core for the same price.
    Antec P182 w/ 3 Yate Loon D1SL-12
    Intel DG965WH Motherboard
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    G.Skill 4x2GB DDR2 PC6400 4-4-4-12
    WD Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB
    OCZ Vertex2 60GB SSD
    eVGA 8800GTS 512MB
    Asus DRW-24B1ST
    Corsair HX520
    Scythe Ninja w/Panaflo 120mmx38mm FBA12G12M

    [Heatware] <---Or rather lack of heatware

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"
    Posts
    3,636
    I have an E6 X2 3800 and it is clocked at 260x10 with 166 divider running solid from what I see so far after a nice 40 minute HL2 gaming session. I paid 330 shipped for mine off ebay

    Solid chip for what I paid, either way you can not go wrong

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •