Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: X2 Desktops?

  1. #1
    Member InfiniteThought's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Davis, CA
    Posts
    365

    X2 Desktops?

    Does HP or Dell (any company) sell desktops that use the X2?

    I'd like to get a couple for work. Unfortunately I can't build a machine myself, it has to be a plug and play system.

    Thanks. Frank.

  2. #2
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Banned Camp
    Posts
    6,917
    Dell doesn't.

  3. #3
    Member Showstoppermd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    hawaii
    Posts
    305
    Rig 1 :generic case with modified exos wc
    2.4c@3.4 on asus p4c800
    2*512 muskin lvl II 3500 using 3:2 divider
    radeon 9800 pro < stock timings:\
    vcore 1.6v, vdimm 1.7

    Rig 2:
    4400+ toledo 2.6(260*10)
    asus a8n-sli premium
    2x1gb crucial ballistix tracer pc4000
    antec p-180
    2 xfx 7800gtx sli
    ocz powerstream 600

  4. #4
    Member InfiniteThought's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Davis, CA
    Posts
    365
    I just picked this machine out from Dell for $3,111.24.

    If anyone can think of something better let me know.

    I want a RAID1 setup for my data.


    Date 10/10/20052:28 PM
    Catalog Number 16 Retail RC956934
    Dell Precision 380 Intel® Pentium® D Processor 820, 2.80GHz, DC, 2X 1MB L2, 800MHz
    828TDG - [ 221-8665 ]


    Operating System Genuine Windows® XP Professional, SP2 with Media
    XPP2E - [ 420-4860 ]


    File System NTFS File System
    NTFS - [ 420-3699 ]


    Chassis Configuration Tower w/ 1394-Optical drives mounted horizontally in Mini-Tower orientation
    MT1394 - [ 311-5161 ]


    Sound and 1394 1394a Controller Card
    1394 - [ 313-3422 ]


    Memory 2GB, 533MHz, DDR2 SDRAM Memory, NECC, (2 DIMMS)
    2GN25 - [ 311-5154 ]


    Hard Drive Configuration C5 All SATA drives, RAID 1, 2 drive total configuration
    SR12 - [ 341-2340 ]


    Boot Hard Drive 80GB SATA, 10K RPM Hard Drive with 8MB DataBurst Cache™ without RAID
    80SA10 - [ 341-2316 ]


    2nd Hard Drive 250GB SATA, 7200 RPM Hard Drive with 8MB DataBurst Cache™
    250SATA - [ 341-2327 ]


    3rd Hard Drive 250GB SATA, 7200 RPM Hard Drive with 8MB DataBurst Cache™
    250SATA - [ 341-2327 ]


    Monitors Dell 20 inch UltraSharp™ 2005FP Widescreen, adjustable stand, VGA/DVI
    2005FPW - [ 320-4108 ]


    Graphics Card 64MB PCIe x16 nVidia Quadro NVS 285, Dual DVI or Dual VGA Capable
    NV64D - [ 320-4327 ]


    Speakers Dell Two Piece Stereo System
    A215 - [ 313-2753 ]


    CD-ROM, DVD, and Read-Write Devices 16XDVD+/-RW with Sonic Software, CyberLink PowerDVD™, No Media
    DVRM16N - [ 313-3564 ]


    Floppy Drive and Media Card Reader Options 3.5 inch 1.44MB Floppy Drive
    FD - [ 341-2334 ]


    Systems Management Dell OpenManage Client Instrumentation
    OMCI - [ 420-3904 ]


    Keyboard Dell USB Enhanced Multimedia Keyboard
    U8 - [ 310-5992 ]


    Mouse Dell USB 2-Button Optical Mouse with Scroll
    LOD - [ 310-6652 ]


    Energy Star Energy Star™
    ES - [ 310-4821 ]


    Resource CD No Resource CD
    NORCD - [ 313-3673 ]


    Quick Reference Guide Quick Reference Guide
    REF - [ 310-6651 ]


    GSA Contract Number GSA Contract
    GSAC - [ 460-5909460-9900 ]


    Hardware Support Services 3 Year Limited Warranty plus 3 Year NBD On-Site Service
    W3OS - [ 900-1240900-2762 ]


    Gold Technical Support Gold Technical Support, Precision, 3 Years
    GTS3YR - [ 902-4902 ]


    Installation Support Services No Installation
    NOINSTL - [ 900-9987 ]

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    411
    I dont like alienware for price reasons but ohwell
    http://www.alienware.com/product_det...de=SKU-DEFAULT
    if you configure it with a 4800+ X2, 320gig raid, 2gb memory, xp pro, and chop the things you dont need its like 3111
    Last edited by Jakalwarrior; 10-10-05 at 05:22 PM.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    98
    Ill have to agree but if moneys no issue they wont do you wrong. A few mates in my clan have went through alienware and have been very happy with them so far. They do a professional presentation overall and their support is supposed to be grade a. You look like your looking for more of a autocad type setup by the looks of it so hp or dell might be better there.

  7. #7
    member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,555
    If you want to go custom, you could have the leetest system humanly imaginable w/ 3000 bucks . You could go 4800+ Toledo w/ VapoChill LS and Dual 7800GTXs to top it all off . Just a suggestion.
    Core i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz w/ XIGMATEK SD1283 120mm
    Asus P8Z68-Z
    8GB Corsair Vengeance
    640GB x 2 WD Black in RAID0, 500GB Data drive
    Sapphire HD5830 @ 900Mhz / 1225Mhz
    Lian Li V2000A w/ 550W Antec TruePower II

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    411
    bosses wont let you build your own systems for work though. If you get fired they got no warranty and tech support.

  9. #9
    member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,555
    Whoops .. didn't read whole post. I guess id go w/ the HP since it seems to have the best value .. unless you really wanna go to the darkside. . Alienware .
    Core i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz w/ XIGMATEK SD1283 120mm
    Asus P8Z68-Z
    8GB Corsair Vengeance
    640GB x 2 WD Black in RAID0, 500GB Data drive
    Sapphire HD5830 @ 900Mhz / 1225Mhz
    Lian Li V2000A w/ 550W Antec TruePower II

  10. #10
    Member Wiggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sanford, NC
    Posts
    583
    abs computers also has them. They also have pre-built dual amd opteron systems available. www.abspc.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •