Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Member Twiggz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    636

    Decided to Choose Knoppix V3.9

    After Unsuccesfully trying to install ubuntu and kubuntu i went with knoppix and i like it pretty well though im still a stranger to linux and have many questions....
    So far i've managed to install macromedia flash 6 and updated FireFox to 1.0.7 though commands in a shell are as foreign to me right now as learning german i usually navigate through home directory to the folder then open a terminal session in that folder to accomplish stuff and then all i have to type is ./firefox-installer Lol other than that i cant do much yet
    I do have a few questions though about linux... Where is the Hardware Manager ? is there one ?
    Also do i still have to manually install ati video drivers in linux ? ( my max resolution atm is 1024x728 )
    And Lastly is there anyway i can set this up so that i can just double click install files for them to load ? ( like windows ) or do i have to use shell commands.
    ---Desktop---
    i5 4670K - ASRock Z87M Extreme 4 - 8GB PC-2400 - Seasonic 750W M12II Bronze - 124GB Crucial M4 2TB WD Green - HD 4600 - Win 8.1

    ---Media Server---
    Q6600 - G31M-S2L - 4GB DDR2 - Rosewill 750W - 80GB WD 2x1TB Seagate Raid0 - OnBoard Video - XBMCbuntu

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    916
    you shouldn't have to use the terminal to get apps to open.. check your kmenu, the apps you want should be there...

    as for your res, i'm not sure if knoppix uses xfree86 or xorg. go to /etc/X11/ and check if you have xorg.conf or XF86Config-4. open whichever one you ahve and go down to your monitor resolutions. then just enter whatever the native resolution is in the spaces provided.
    Laptop: MacBook Pro | 2.2GHz Core 2 Duo | 4GB RAM | 120GB HD | 128MB 8600M GT | Snow Leopard

    Media Server: AMD Phenom II 955BE | Gigabyte GA-MA790GP UD4H | 2x2GB | 2x80GB, 1x300GB, 2x750GB, 1x2TB | Antec 550W | Windows 7 Ultimate

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Xanadu
    Posts
    3,538
    There won't be anything there if he installs apps like his firefox with ./firefoxinstaller.

    Twiggz: learn how to properly install software with apt-get and dpkg, it will save you a lot of hassles in the future.
    Of course you can't avoid serious hassles one day when it won't work anymore at all, since knoppix is made for LiveCDs and not hdd installs. Debian repositories will break sometime in the future for your knoppix version.

  4. #4
    Senior Member MRD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    7,023
    While Knoppix is a wonderful LiveCD, you may run into problems using it as a hd installed OS as it is not really designed as such. It does have the ability to be installed to your HD, but that is really something of an afterthought.

    I'm not saying to not use it, just that it may not be ideal, and as klingens says, things may behave unexpectedly.

    Pure, plain vanilla debian actually makes a great desktop OS. Some really easy to use options include MEPIS and Xandros OCE. These are all debian based and work similarly.

    I personally agree with you on ubuntu. While many love it and swear by it, I have yet to get it to install successfully (it's the only distro I haven't gotten to install, and I've tried 20+). Sometimes ubuntu's installer is just temperamental, and it doesn't seem to like me.

  5. #5
    Member Twiggz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    636
    Yea im not to worried right now about knoppix potientally breaking because i Do have ALOT to learn and im sure by the time it does break ill move on to a better distro but a question that never got answered was.. Is there anything like a hardware manager ? where can i go to see all my hardware and the drivers for it ?
    ---Desktop---
    i5 4670K - ASRock Z87M Extreme 4 - 8GB PC-2400 - Seasonic 750W M12II Bronze - 124GB Crucial M4 2TB WD Green - HD 4600 - Win 8.1

    ---Media Server---
    Q6600 - G31M-S2L - 4GB DDR2 - Rosewill 750W - 80GB WD 2x1TB Seagate Raid0 - OnBoard Video - XBMCbuntu

  6. #6
    Senior Member Gnufsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    June Lake, California
    Posts
    5,662
    That information shoul dbe accessable through /sys, I believe.
    Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
    Forum Policies
    Sig Rules

    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
    -Sir Winston Churchill

  7. #7
    Member Twiggz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    636
    Cool deal I took the klingens advice and figured out apt-get and was able to install gaim that way cool linux isnt so bad i feel i've made leaps in one day time
    ---Desktop---
    i5 4670K - ASRock Z87M Extreme 4 - 8GB PC-2400 - Seasonic 750W M12II Bronze - 124GB Crucial M4 2TB WD Green - HD 4600 - Win 8.1

    ---Media Server---
    Q6600 - G31M-S2L - 4GB DDR2 - Rosewill 750W - 80GB WD 2x1TB Seagate Raid0 - OnBoard Video - XBMCbuntu

  8. #8
    Member TheGreySpectre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Phoenix, Az
    Posts
    3,681
    Im just wondering, why 3.9 instead of 4.0?
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9300 w 6800go and 1.2 gigs of ram
    Desktop: intel i7-3770, 16Gb Ram, Radeon 7970, 18.5 Tb HD space, Dell 3008 WFP 30"

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Xanadu
    Posts
    3,538
    Is there anything like a hardware manager ? where can i go to see all my hardware and the drivers for it ?
    In KDE there is something called "kde control center" I believe. It will at least let you look at your current hardware and drivers. Doubt it will let you change anything, especially in knoppix which likes to autodetect everything

    That information shoul dbe accessable through /sys, I believe.
    Wth is /sys? I'm an old codger who likes is mostly monolithic kernels, MAKEDEV and /proc but I never ever heard of /sys
    There is some info under /proc of course. but strictly read only at least for hardware info, nothing to change

  10. #10
    Senior Member Gnufsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    June Lake, California
    Posts
    5,662
    AFAIK, /sys was added in the 2.5/2.6 series of kernels.
    Code:
    dan@langley ~ $ ls /sys
    block  bus  class  devices  firmware  kernel  module  power
    dan@langley ~ $ ls /sys/bus
    i2c  ide  pci  pci_express  platform  pnp  scsi  serio  usb
    dan@langley ~ $ ls /sys/bus/pci
    devices  drivers
    dan@langley ~ $ ls /sys/bus/pci/devices/
    0000:00:00.0  0000:00:02.0  0000:00:06.0  0000:00:09.0  0000:00:0c.0  0000:00:18.0  0000:00:18.3
    0000:00:01.0  0000:00:02.1  0000:00:07.0  0000:00:0a.0  0000:00:0d.0  0000:00:18.1  0000:01:09.0
    0000:00:01.1  0000:00:04.0  0000:00:08.0  0000:00:0b.0  0000:00:0e.0  0000:00:18.2  0000:05:00.0
    dan@langley ~ $ ls /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000:01:09.0/
    bus    config  irq         modalias  resource   resource1         subsystem_vendor
    class  device  local_cpus  power     resource0  subsystem_device  vendor
    Mostly you can't change anything, but things like cpufreq now interface through /sys.

    As to the original question, lspci (or lspci -v or lspci -vv or lspci -vvv) will give nice information about devices on the pci bus.
    Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
    Forum Policies
    Sig Rules

    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
    -Sir Winston Churchill

  11. #11
    Open Source Senior khiloa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    /usa/sc/florence
    Posts
    2,131
    I have never heard of or noticed /sys myself either.


    Say NO to ads!

    Did someone just help you? Thank them.

    Along with F@H, please help support some of our other teams.


  12. #12
    Senior Member Gnufsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    June Lake, California
    Posts
    5,662
    From wikipdeia:
    History

    During the 2.5 development cycle, the Linux driver model was introduced to fix several shortcomings of the 2.4 kernel:

    * No unified method of representing driver-device relationships existed.
    * There was no generic hotplug mechanism.
    * procfs was cluttered with lots of non-process information.

    Sysfs is designed to export the information present in the device tree which would then no longer clutter up procfs. It was written by Patrick Mochel. Maneesh Sony later wrote the sysfs backing store patch to reduce memory usage on large systems.
    [edit]

    Technical Overview

    For each object added in the driver model tree (drivers, devices including class devices) a directory in sysfs is created. The parent/child relationship is reflected with subdirectories under /sys/devices/ (reflecting the physical layout). The subdirectory /sys/bus/ is populated with symbolic links, reflecting how the devices belong to different busses. /sys/class/ shows devices grouped according to classes, like network, while /sys/block/ contains the block devices.

    For device drivers and devices, attributes may be created. These are simple files; the rule is that they should only contain a single value and/or allow a single value to be set (unlike some files in procfs, which need to be heavily parsed). These files show up in the subdirectory of the device driver respectively the device. Using attribute groups, a subdirectory filled with attributes may also be created.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sysfs
    Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
    Forum Policies
    Sig Rules

    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
    -Sir Winston Churchill

  13. #13
    Member Twiggz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    636
    I didnt see a 4.0 knoppix on the website maybe i missed it, when i was installing this one it made me " double check " if i wanted to, saying it was a really new version with possible bugs or whatever.

    Ill give that a shot gnufsh

    And also yea i noticed that KDE Control Center but yea it seemed kinda ' limited '
    ---Desktop---
    i5 4670K - ASRock Z87M Extreme 4 - 8GB PC-2400 - Seasonic 750W M12II Bronze - 124GB Crucial M4 2TB WD Green - HD 4600 - Win 8.1

    ---Media Server---
    Q6600 - G31M-S2L - 4GB DDR2 - Rosewill 750W - 80GB WD 2x1TB Seagate Raid0 - OnBoard Video - XBMCbuntu

  14. #14
    Senior Member Gnufsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    June Lake, California
    Posts
    5,662
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiggz
    And also yea i noticed that KDE Control Center but yea it seemed kinda ' limited'
    That would be because it is. I'm not aware of any programs like the device manager on windows, with a nice GUI for everything. You can use usbview to look at your usb devices.
    Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
    Forum Policies
    Sig Rules

    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
    -Sir Winston Churchill

  15. #15
    Member Twiggz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    636
    LoL i broke knoppix after ..... 26 hours ? lol so i just reinstalled it with debian based instal instead of the plain multi-user whatever... i noticed it didnt detect my dsl connection so i had to figure out how to set that up, but so far seems to be working fine.

    I believe knoppix broke after doing apt-get update apt-get upgrade ( i just had it install anything and everything )
    It wouldnt log in it would just revert back to login screen everytime
    ---Desktop---
    i5 4670K - ASRock Z87M Extreme 4 - 8GB PC-2400 - Seasonic 750W M12II Bronze - 124GB Crucial M4 2TB WD Green - HD 4600 - Win 8.1

    ---Media Server---
    Q6600 - G31M-S2L - 4GB DDR2 - Rosewill 750W - 80GB WD 2x1TB Seagate Raid0 - OnBoard Video - XBMCbuntu

  16. #16
    Open Source Senior khiloa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    /usa/sc/florence
    Posts
    2,131
    It might take some time and work but you can usually fix a "broken" system.


    Say NO to ads!

    Did someone just help you? Thank them.

    Along with F@H, please help support some of our other teams.


  17. #17
    Member Stewie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    San Clemente, CA or U of A
    Posts
    268
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiggz
    LoL i broke knoppix after ..... 26 hours ? lol so i just reinstalled it with debian based instal instead of the plain multi-user whatever... i noticed it didnt detect my dsl connection so i had to figure out how to set that up, but so far seems to be working fine.

    I believe knoppix broke after doing apt-get update apt-get upgrade ( i just had it install anything and everything )
    It wouldnt log in it would just revert back to login screen everytime
    If your DSL uses PPP, chances are you're probably going to need to install a few things to get that up and operational.

    [Off Topic]
    I say this because I recently had a bout with my Debain box trying to get a PPtP VPN working, and I can incredibly close to achieving, although was never completely sucessful, which included patching my kernel to include MPPE support (that wasn't fun). It seems to me Linux just wasn't meant to be a VPN client.

  18. #18
    Member Twiggz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    636
    Im going to try to build a kernal today to fit my custom needs.
    ---Desktop---
    i5 4670K - ASRock Z87M Extreme 4 - 8GB PC-2400 - Seasonic 750W M12II Bronze - 124GB Crucial M4 2TB WD Green - HD 4600 - Win 8.1

    ---Media Server---
    Q6600 - G31M-S2L - 4GB DDR2 - Rosewill 750W - 80GB WD 2x1TB Seagate Raid0 - OnBoard Video - XBMCbuntu

  19. #19
    Captain Random
    Senior Evil Genius

    Arkaine23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Woodlands, Tx
    Posts
    9,105
    Try apt-get installing a kernel. You can generally grab one that's optimized for your arch... Use:

    apt-chache search kernel

    And that will return names of kernel packaes available. You could grab a source package for the rolling-your-own route, or a pre-built binary.
    Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
    i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
    Folding User Stats

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Xanadu
    Posts
    3,538
    ok, I dimly heard of sysfs once upon a time. Which kernel option is it?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •