Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Soichiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile

    Help with Gentoo networking setup

    In trying to set up Gentoo on my main computer, I've run into an error. It seems that the onboard network card (eth0) does not work, and rc-update doesn't know how to add my pci network card (eth1) to the default runlevel. When I try plugging in the cable to eth0 and then do "ping -c 3 google.com", it pauses for about 1 minute then tells me it can't find the host. When I plug in the cable to eth1, it instantly tells me that it can't find the host. Also, when checking ifconfig, it only shows information for eth0 and localhost (I have the settings in /etc/conf.d/net set for manual config btw, not dhcp). Can anyone help me with this, either by getting the onboard LAN to work or by getting eth1 to work? It's probably something really simple but... yeah, I'm moderately linux inept.
    Last edited by Soichiro; 10-24-05 at 08:02 PM.
    "Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

    Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
    ASUS Z87-A
    8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
    60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
    ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


    Folding User Stats

  2. #2
    Open Source Senior khiloa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    /usa/sc/florence
    Do you use / have DHCP?


    Say NO to ads!

    Did someone just help you? Thank them.

    Along with F@H, please help support some of our other teams.


  3. #3
    Soichiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I don't use DHCP, but I do have the dhcpcd package (just in case).
    "Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

    Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
    ASUS Z87-A
    8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
    60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
    ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


    Folding User Stats

  4. #4
    Senior Member Gnufsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    June Lake, California
    Quote Originally Posted by Soichiro
    In trying to set up Gentoo on my main computer, I've run into an error. It seems that the onboard network card (eth0) does not work, and rc-update doesn't know how to add my pci network card (eth1) to the default runlevel. When I try plugging in the cable to eth0 and then do "ping -c 3 google.com", it pauses for about 1 minute then tells me it can't find the host. When I plug in the cable to eth1, it instantly tells me that it can't find the host. Also, when checking ifconfig, it only shows information for eth0 and localhost (I have the settings in /etc/conf.d/net set for manual config btw, not dhcp). Can anyone help me with this, either by getting the onboard LAN to work or by getting eth1 to work? It's probably something really simple but... yeah, I'm moderately linux inept.
    You need to coy the net.eth0 script over to net.eth1 to be aable to add it to a runlevel. It also sounds like you don't have the correct driver for eeth1. If you compiled it as a module, you need to modprobe it. If you didn't compile it, you should do so (either built-in or as a module). What PCI NIC do you have?
    Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
    Forum Policies
    Sig Rules

    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
    -Sir Winston Churchill

  5. #5
    Soichiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    The adapter is a D-link something or other. Not sure of the model. But I'll go through the kernel config junk and make sure I compiled it, and if it's not compiled then I'll recompile the kernel with the eth support in there.
    "Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

    Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
    ASUS Z87-A
    8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
    60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
    ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


    Folding User Stats

  6. #6
    Senior Member Gnufsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    June Lake, California
    Do you know what driver you need? What about the chipset of the NIC?
    Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
    Forum Policies
    Sig Rules

    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
    -Sir Winston Churchill

  7. #7
    Soichiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    After recompiling the kernel with the drivers built-in (they were installed as modules before), the eth1 adapter works. I wasn't exactly sure which driver to choose, so I just selected all the ones that looked like they might work, and apparantly one of them did work. Thanks for the help.
    "Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

    Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
    ASUS Z87-A
    8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
    60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
    ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


    Folding User Stats

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •