Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pny Dc?

  1. #1
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile

    Pny Dc?

    I have a couple questions.

    1) Is this Pny DC?
    2) With DC can I mix brandes? Right now I have 1 stick of Kingstone Value Ram (1/2 a DC kit) would it work with this PNY to be DC? Along those same lines in my PC-DL I have 2 Kingstoen Stick, could I add 2 of these to get 2 gigs of ram, but also DC?

    Thanks.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  2. #2
    Senior Member Know Nuttin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    no, it is a single stick, so it is not considered a "dual channel" setup.

    You can mix memory brands/speeds and still get DC operation but there is also the slight possibility that it won't work.

    Yes, your board supports DC with 4 modules.

    As for probability of it working, I don't think anyone here will be able to give you a definitive answer. Mixing and matching ram and getting stable operation in single channel mode can be a task in itself, and dual channel is not any easier.

    What I can share with you is my experiences, and I have taken both cheap and high end ram, mixed them together on several different setups, and gotten most of them to run in DC.
    AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
    Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.

  3. #3
    Member toddm27's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Smyrna, TN
    Heatware Profile
    it's recommended to not mix for best performance. as stated you can probably get it to work but maybe not at the rated timings as the two might not play well together.

  4. #4
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    OK thanks. What I didn't know was if ram had to be DC compaitble or somethign special besides jsut 2 sticks to make it work in DC mode. I think I m going to buy a couple fo thsoe PNY sticks, after all you can't beat the price (after rebates).
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  5. #5
    Member toddm27's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Smyrna, TN
    Heatware Profile
    no but it probably won't overclock very good

  6. #6
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by toddm27
    no but it probably won't overclock very good

    I'm not to worried about it over clocking much. the one machine has a 2.4B in it which is/will run at stock while my other one only has C1 steping xeons so I'm almost at my max OC anyway.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  7. #7
    Member toddm27's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Smyrna, TN
    Heatware Profile
    i'd go for it then at that price its hard to beat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •