Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    287

    How much bandwidth do the big sites have?

    I was just wondering how much bandwidth the big sites have (yahoo, google,microsft ect)?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    Posts
    3,725
    Multiple OC3's and OC12's.
    Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
    Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
    HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

    Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

    Heatware

  3. #3
    Member TalRW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    1,648
    I was lucky enough to get to go on a field trip with the local cisco class even though I'm not in the class. We went to sonic.net a local ISP and the guy was explaining that they have a straight fiber connection with google so if you use their ISP you don't have to travel across the internet to get to google but are on the same backbone because of that fiber connection they have so I thought that was kinda interesting. But yeah their bandwith usage must be massive.
    CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
    MOBO: Asus K8N4-E Deluxe
    HARD DRIVE:
    MEMORY: 3.0GiB
    POWER:
    VIDEOCARD:
    GNU/Linux Distribution: Trisquel 5.0 (Dagda)
    Support software freedom! Try one of the nine FSF endorsed distros.
    Got a wireless network? Secure it!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    607
    i thought they got 200mb!?! lol nah they have there own servers and just have to pay for a fiber optics connection which as said above but i dont know the price off by hand even to i looked into it for interest lol

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    --
    I teach people how to read your email.
    su root's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,448
    In most cases, what happens is that Datacenters make agreements with bandwidth providers to haul large connections into their datacenter. The bandwidth is then resold to the occupants renting space in the datacenter (usually the bandwidth provider makes agreements with the individual occupants). The actual bandwidth to the datacenter is usually quite enormous.

    For large sites, most move into a datacenter, connect with one or more different providers, which often provide 100mbit or gigabit connections into their racks or cages, which can then be routed and used. In 99% of cases, gigabit is the most bandwidth connected to any one server. In most cases it's 100Mbit (because if you are saturating that with http requests, then the machine should be over capacity anyway, especially if it's not static pages.)

    Some webhosts and websites spout numbers like "we're connected via 2 OC12s".. but they really can't use all that bandwidth, because although that is what they are communicating through, it's usually a more limited and connection into their rack or cage. (like 100mbit/gigabit)

    So, at a single datacenter, they may have, say, 1 gbps (a very high example, for a large cage, with maybe 250 different servers or so sharing it). Larger sites will have presence in multiple datacenters around the world, adding more bandwidth at each datacenter.

    Edit: For example, the graph at the link below is a gigabit switch, which most of the major bandwidth providers that pass through Toronto, Ontario connect to. This is in the datacenter at 151 Front Street, Toronto. If you have a rack or cage in 151 Front, you would get connected to this, contact one or more of the bandwidth providers, and buy some bandwidth off of them, and your traffic would go through this switch, to another provider, and off through their large internet connection.) For this switch, which is the vast majority of the traffic travelling through Toronto, it's only peaking near 2Gbps. Note that Google has a presence in that datacenter aswell, so if you use Rogers or Bell or anything with bandwidth into 151 Front, you are fairly close to Goggle.
    http://www.torix.net/stats.php
    Last edited by su root; 11-17-05 at 11:54 AM.
    "Some people, when confronted with a problem, think 'I know, Ill use regular expressions.' Now they have two problems."

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    SuperStarDestoyer orbiting DeathStar3
    Posts
    290
    FYI OC192 is gigabit, not OC12

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    --
    I teach people how to read your email.
    su root's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,448
    Quote Originally Posted by darthdana
    FYI OC192 is gigabit, not OC12
    OC192 is 10 Gigabit.
    OC12 is 622 Mbit and change.. 2 or more OC12's (or one OC24 is well over a Gigabit.
    "Some people, when confronted with a problem, think 'I know, Ill use regular expressions.' Now they have two problems."

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    SuperStarDestoyer orbiting DeathStar3
    Posts
    290
    Thanks I had actually forgot the extra zeo, but if we are getting technical its 9.6

  9. #9
    Member nstabl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Northern Cali
    Posts
    462
    here at work, im on a dual OC12, yeeaa its fast.. see my rank
    ABIT IC7-G Burned Out, RIP 6-13-05 to 12-1-2005 :cry:
    **STILL werkn on the oc like a mad scientist**
    ASUS P4P800-E/P4 3.0e@4.0/VCore@1.48/FSB@267
    2x512OCZgoldDC4000REV2/6800GtOc256@427/1.15
    Supafly Swiftec WaterCooled. 100+ CFM (Way too loud.)
    This is my site.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •