Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Member Brinnswift's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    St. Louis

    Folding and Dual core?

    I have a new rig with the 3800+ and folding will only use one of the cores. Is there a way to get it to use both cores? Thanks

  2. #2
    Retired muddocktor's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New Iberia, LA
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    You need to set up a second folder with the console version in it; since the present client isn't SMP aware you have to run 2 clients. When you set the second client up, assign it a different machine ID under advanced properties if you set up manually like I do. Someone else can help you out if you use the Wedo one click install method.

    I just upgraded my Epox machine to an X2 4400 and it's presently processing a p1481 and a p1149 at almost 900 points/day average.

  3. #3
    Super Shark Moderator
    LandShark's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
    Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Wedo's OneClick for dual client is your answer!!
    ~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

    Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


    Folding User Stats
    How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

    | F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

    | My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |

  4. #4
    z0n3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hoosier Land
    Download Wedo's 1-click for Duals.
    In other words, look for shiny books.-Frodo Baggins
    OK Oni...I've told ya about rubbing David before. Keep it private, eh?-LutaWicasa
    I just caught myself putting my credit card into the DVD drive of my computer ... -ghettocomp
    LOL if I was sapphire I would leave ruby on there and take her shirt off instead...-Rattle
    What do you most want to accomplish with your life? Ban SilverSinkSam-cw823
    Ooo. that 1 comes with a mouse!-WarriorII
    last friday I got back from annual training and downloaded my duffelbags to my house.-SuperFarStucker
    Thank goodness the downtime was not any longer I almost got myself a life-UnseenMenace
    I live in a steel reinforced cave/bunker so unless he is on my list of bad guys to kill, I don't pay too much attention to politics.-TommyHolly

  5. #5
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Or, as mentioned above, create a second F@H directory for the second CPU, with the console version, ...
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  6. #6
    Member Brinnswift's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    St. Louis
    I'm up and running! Thanks for the help!

  7. #7
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Quote Originally Posted by Brinnswift
    I'm up and running! Thanks for the help!
    Fold on!
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  8. #8
    White Runner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Over Here!
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Brinnswift
    I have a new rig with the 3800+ and folding will only use one of the cores. Is there a way to get it to use both cores? Thanks
    I just installed my 3800, got the one-click for duallies; but i was wondering if there is a way to further optimize my computer? Assign one core for large wu's and the other for small ones? I dunno, hence my post.
    Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
    Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
    Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
    OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
    Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<

  9. #9
    Senior Yellow Forum Rat
    pik4chu's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, Colorado
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by White Runner
    I just installed my 3800, got the one-click for duallies; but i was wondering if there is a way to further optimize my computer? Assign one core for large wu's and the other for small ones? I dunno, hence my post.
    by changing the config files and set one to bigpackets=yes and the other to no. but thats about it.
    DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
    Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

    Folding User Stats
    Team 32 Countdown heatware

  10. #10
    White Runner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Over Here!
    Heatware Profile
    one thing i noticed is that when my pc starts up... both folding programs do as well... any idea how to keep them from starting right away?
    Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
    Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
    Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
    OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
    Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    FL
    Under services.msc you can change them to manual and start them once you're booted up and ready to fold.

  12. #12
    White Runner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Over Here!
    Heatware Profile
    thanks for the reply
    Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
    Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
    Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
    OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
    Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<

  13. #13
    Member DManeKid's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brick, NJ USA
    Quote Originally Posted by White Runner
    one thing i noticed is that when my pc starts up... both folding programs do as well... any idea how to keep them from starting right away?
    well that happens because they are set up to run as a service.. which is actually helpful in most cases... if you dont mind me asking, why wouldnt you want it this way?

  14. #14
    White Runner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Over Here!
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by DManeKid
    well that happens because they are set up to run as a service.. which is actually helpful in most cases... if you dont mind me asking, why wouldnt you want it this way?

    I just installed a new processor, and when am workin on overclocking, it gets tiring to have to stop both processes... When i am satisfied with my overclock and stable, then i wont have a problem with em both starting.....
    Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
    Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
    Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
    OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
    Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<

  15. #15
    Grandfather of Crunchers Senior Morpheus's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Quote Originally Posted by Brinnswift
    I have a new rig with the 3800+ and folding will only use one of the cores. Is there a way to get it to use both cores? Thanks
    Sure, you can switch to Berkeley's BOINC software (that will let you choose as many cores as you have--up to 16, I think).... and then run either Predictor@home or Rosetta@home.

    This will not get you any credits for Team 32, but will let you work with protien folding nonetheless... There are many other Overclockers.com BOINC teams too...
    Kris

    Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
    this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
    small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
    the absence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.

    OverClocking the Search for Extra Terrestrial Intelligence

  16. #16
    White Runner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Over Here!
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Morpheus
    Sure, you can switch to Berkeley's BOINC software (that will let you choose as many cores as you have--up to 16, I think).... and then run either Predictor@home or Rosetta@home.

    This will not get you any credits for Team 32, but will let you work with protien folding nonetheless... There are many other Overclockers.com BOINC teams too...

    Unless aliens have an almighty cure, im gonna stick with folding for now but thank you for the info
    Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
    Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
    Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
    OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
    Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by White Runner
    I just installed a new processor, and when am workin on overclocking, it gets tiring to have to stop both processes... When i am satisfied with my overclock and stable, then i wont have a problem with em both starting.....
    Run services.msc and set FAH services to manual. Set them to automatic when you've got a stable oc you plan to stick with.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  18. #18
    Grandfather of Crunchers Senior Morpheus's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Quote Originally Posted by White Runner
    Unless aliens have an almighty cure, im gonna stick with folding for now but thank you for the info
    errr... methinks these are all BOINC projects... I run 3 on my system at all times...

    Predictor@home: investigate protein-related diseases
    Rosetta@home: help researchers develop cures for human diseases
    Climateprediction.net: study climate change
    Einstein@home: search for gravitational signals emitted by pulsars
    LHC@home: improve the design of the CERN LHC particle accelerator
    SETI@home: Look for radio evidence of extraterrestrial life
    Cell Computing biomedical research (Japanese; requires nonstandard client software)
    World Community Grid: advance our knowledge of human disease. (Requires 5.2.1 or greater)

    As you can see there are four different projects working with diseases and cures...

    I like the World Community Grid which is sponsored by IBM and United Devices. It is a generalized grid framework which can be used for a variety of scientific tasks. Currently, it supports just one task: the analysis of human proteome folding. This project differs from Folding@Home in that the Human Proteome project is focusing on the science of protein folding and not simply the assessment of specific diseases.
    Last edited by Morpheus; 11-24-05 at 02:42 AM.
    Kris

    Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
    this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
    small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
    the absence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.

    OverClocking the Search for Extra Terrestrial Intelligence

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •