Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6

    My Rig keeps freezing..:(

    I recently upgraded to a new computer with PCI-Express.
    When I play anything cpu/graphics intensive, the computer freezes and i have to restart.

    Here are the specs:
    Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 1.550v
    DFI LANPARTY nF4 Ultra-D
    1GB Corsair PC3200 Value Ram
    eVGA GeForce 7800GT

    I am suspecting the power supply is at fault. It is a rosewill 500w with a 20 to 24 pin adapter.
    Is the 24 pin adapter causing some kind of voltage issue? or is the power supply a bad brand?

  2. #2
    Member Romulox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    355


    So you went from a agp to a pci-e board? Did you reinstall the operating system during this upgrade. If you change boards with different different chip sets it is best to reinstall or repair the OS. They're many ppl who also think they need to reinstall after a video card upgrade but I've never had a problem.
    For the PSU ,I don't think its that. A 500w rosewill should be enough without an Overclock but just to make
    sure download speedfan and monitor the voltages.

    AMD 3800X2
    2GB OZC GTX
    Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    xfx 8800gts
    Audigy ZS2
    Antec III 550/Super lanboy
    Samsung 206BW

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    I went from a VIA K8T800 Pro to nForce 4, so i had to reinstall windows.
    The CPU is a Athlon 64 3000+ overclocked from 1.8GHz to 2.7GHz.
    Also, i should add that the PSU makes squeaking sounds and is very hot.
    The 12v line is at 11.78v and the 5v line is at 4.83v

  4. #4
    Disabled apu318's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Welland: Most drug use per capita in Canada.
    Posts
    1,321
    Put everything back down to stock clock speeds and try to play games. If it doesn't crash, then you know your overclock is not stable. Most likely that it is your PSU. those voltage are quite low for an overclock of such magnitude. What are your CPU temps like? Could you check your ram and CPU voltage under load with Speedfan? They're probably drooping down severly because of your weak PSU.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Norway - subzero watercooling in winter :D
    Posts
    165
    I agree. Try at stock speeds. What kind of noise is the PSU making? 500W should be enough though. Just make sure it not your OC that's too high.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    The PSU is making high pitched sqeaks about every half second. It also has a "heated" plastic smell to it. I want to overclock my CPU though. It was stable at 2.7GHz before the switch to the DFI.

  7. #7
    Member Romulox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    355
    I didn't realize you where overclocking when I first read the post, I kinda ignored the voltage when I didn't see a speed rating. Those are signs that your PSU is failing. I would suggest lowering the OC to stock for now until you get a new PSU. At this point there isn't any other option If you want to OC with your current setup becuase a OCing pci-e system takes a better quality PSU espically with a 7800. If your PSU is still reacting the way you descibed at stock you should leave the comp off until you get a new PSU. A failing power supply can be bad for your system.

    AMD 3800X2
    2GB OZC GTX
    Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    xfx 8800gts
    Audigy ZS2
    Antec III 550/Super lanboy
    Samsung 206BW

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Norway - subzero watercooling in winter :D
    Posts
    165
    That does not sound good at all. If I where in your shoes I would just keep it off and unplug the PSU. Apparantly it's heating up inside, and might just take a few components to it's grave when it fails. You do not want that to happen.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    Yea, i wouldn't want that to happen. I have been doing some research, and I found the FSP Fortron Blue Storm 500 Watt PSU. Is this power supply any good? It has plenty of good customer reviews.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Norway - subzero watercooling in winter :D
    Posts
    165
    Fortron PSU's are excellent. Several other companys buy from them and stick their name on them. I was about to buy one, but then I went for an Enermax.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Palmdale CA
    Posts
    923
    I am not sure what MB bios version you have. I had some problem and I flashed my motherboard bios to version 623-3. That solved my problem.
    CPU: AMD 1090T Black EditionThuban
    Cooler: Corsair H50 Hydro Series (push/pull)
    MB: Asus Crosshair IV Formula 890FX
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 60 Gb
    HD: 2 x WD Caviar Blue (Raid 0)
    Mem: OCZ Gold series DDR3-1600
    GPU: Sapphire HD 6970 in CrossfireX
    PS: Corsair HX1000W Modular
    Case: AZZA Solano 1000

  12. #12
    Member Albaholic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    2,210
    those bluestorm psu's are awesome i wouldnt hesitate to buy another one

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    i have the latest 6/23/05 bios.

    Update: It seems to always freeze after 15-20 mins of game play, with the room smelling like "hot" plastic. The PSU hasn't blown yet....

  14. #14
    Member Tiesto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    279
    i'm surprised nobody told you this yet:

    http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10785

    DFI specifically says to use 24-pin PSU, not 20pin-to 24-pin converters.

    also, Rosewill are POS units. and a POS 500W couldnt keep up with a good 400W power supply. Get something with a proven track record, like an Enermax, Antec, Fortron, Tagan, PC&C. If you get a PSU that's almost half the price of similar units from these companies, than you're getting screwed. you get what you pay for.

  15. #15
    Member fatguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    522
    The smell of hot plastic might be your PWM chip frying...what are you're PWMIC temps?

    This is a sure sign that you don't have all 4 power connectors hooked up to the board. All 4 must be connected for stability:

    ** Image Linked from DFI-Street (http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34504) **


  16. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    I'm pretty sure that the plastic smell is coming from the power supply itself.
    I have all four power connectors plugged in.
    The PWM Temperatures seem normal (115 F)

  17. #17
    Disabled apu318's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Welland: Most drug use per capita in Canada.
    Posts
    1,321
    Your PSU is crapping out on you. You will need a new one. If there is one thing you listen to strangers on the internet about, it's this. You'll be kicking your own ass (after we do) if your PSU fails and friends your hardware.

  18. #18
    Registered Electric Bill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    85
    Rosewill=Junk.
    OCZ, Enermax, Antec, Fortron are all good and reasonably priced.
    I just went from an Antec 480 NeoPower to a OCZ 520 PowerStream on my nF4 Ultra-D.
    I like it a lot.
    ASRock 970 Extreme3
    FX-4100 w/Coolermaster GeminII S cooler
    M Station HT-1100 HTPC Media Center case
    Antec 480 NeoPower PSU
    Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
    Gigabyte GV-R467ZL 4670/1GB video card
    Hitachi HDS721050CLA362 500GB SATA hd
    Windows7 Ultimate x64 & Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (partitioned)
    Pioneer DVR-215D SATA DVD burner
    Samsung 40" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV LN40C630


    You can teach an old dog; it just takes longer.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Posts
    5,351
    Check the fan in the power supply. The power supply fan may not be spinning!
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •