Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile

    WHy does FAH #3 keep shutting off??

    I am running the quad install on my dual xeons. Just after I did the U wire mod and OCed a little more now the 3rd instance of FAH keeps shutting down. I've primed and superpied, It is a stable system. Why does the third instance keep turning off?
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  2. #2
    Master of teh Ghetto Mods ghettocomp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Choosing between two evils, I might pick the one I've never tried before.
    some WUs are sensative to OCing. Even if a system seems stable and possibly tests the same way, there may be issues. Pretty much a reason some people use the F@H programs to test the final stability of their rigs.
    My guess is to try and get a different WU to work on for that one and see if it works better. If not, further testing and adjustments may be necessary before the work can be completed.
    I find that most people are like Slinkies.. They are not really good for anything, but can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. :P

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Folding Profile
    What does the log for that instance say is happening?
    Does the service remain running or is it turning off? Could it be set to manual and just not be restarting on bootup?

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  4. #4
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    the service remains runnin. I checked everything and I even went into the services and manually restarted it by stoping then starting it. It starts up but then shuts off. You can see in the task manager that it has shut down. The log for it jsut say start blah blah blah..and then is says completed ....15%
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Folding Profile
    Sometimes you get a message like "Client Died" which is what it sounds like is happening.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  6. #6
    Unoriginal Macho Moderator nikhsub1's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Post the log file for client 3 here, otherwise we can't really help you.
    Loading Signature ...

  7. #7
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    Here is yesterdays log file.
    --- Opening Log file [December 15 10:35:51]


    # Windows Console Edition ################################################## ###
    ################################################## #############################

    Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

    http://folding.stanford.edu

    ################################################## #############################
    ################################################## #############################

    Launch directory: C:\Program Files\FAH\FAH3
    Executable: C:\Program Files\FAH\FAH3\FAH502-Console.exe
    Arguments: -local -service -advmethods -forceasm

    Warning:
    By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
    safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
    do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
    If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
    if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
    use of the flag.

    [10:35:51] - Ask before connecting: No
    [10:35:51] - User name: Shelnutt2 (Team 32)
    [10:35:51] - User ID: 39F75E594380B074
    [10:35:51] - Machine ID: 3
    [10:35:51]

    A potential conflict was detected:

    Process 596 is currently running and may also be a client with Mach. ID 3.
    Program will now exit. Upon restart, this check will not be done --
    you may wish to check that no client is currently running in
    C:\Program Files\FAH\FAH3 before restarting.
    Here is todays:

    --- Opening Log file [December 16 17:39:44]


    # Windows Console Edition ################################################## ###
    ################################################## #############################

    Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

    http://folding.stanford.edu

    ################################################## #############################
    ################################################## #############################

    Launch directory: C:\Program Files\FAH\FAH3
    Executable: C:\Program Files\FAH\FAH3\FAH502-Console.exe
    Arguments: -local -service -advmethods -forceasm

    Warning:
    By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
    safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
    do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
    If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
    if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
    use of the flag.

    [17:39:44] - Ask before connecting: No
    [17:39:44] - User name: Shelnutt2 (Team 32)
    [17:39:44] - User ID: 39F75E594380B074
    [17:39:44] - Machine ID: 3
    [17:39:44]
    [17:39:44] Loaded queue successfully.
    [17:39:44] + Benchmarking ...
    [17:39:48]
    [17:39:48] + Processing work unit
    [17:39:48] Core required: FahCore_7a.exe
    [17:39:48] Core found.
    [17:39:48] Working on Unit 04 [December 16 17:39:48]
    [17:39:48] + Working ...
    [17:39:48]
    [17:39:48] *------------------------------*
    [17:39:48] Folding@Home GB Gromacs Core
    [17:39:48] Version 1.86 (August 28, 2005)
    [17:39:48]
    [17:39:48] Preparing to commence simulation
    [17:39:48] - Assembly optimizations manually forced on.
    [17:39:48] - Not checking prior termination.
    [17:39:49] - Expanded 66355 -> 359381 (decompressed 541.6 percent)
    [17:39:49]
    [17:39:49] Project: 2077 (Run 15, Clone 6, Gen 0)
    [17:39:49]
    [17:39:49] Assembly optimizations on if available.
    [17:39:49] Entering M.D.
    [17:40:10] (Starting from checkpoint)
    [17:40:10] Protein: p2077_Ab Initio Protein Random Structure
    [17:40:10]
    [17:40:11] Writing local files
    [17:40:11] GB activated
    [17:40:11] Completed 473792 out of 3000000 steps (16)
    [17:40:11] Extra SSE boost OK.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  8. #8
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    Can anyone help? Now FAH#1 is doing it. I tried deleting the work folder but same thing happens.




    --- Opening Log file [December 20 01:28:59]


    # Windows Console Edition ################################################## ###
    ################################################## #############################

    Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

    http://folding.stanford.edu

    ################################################## #############################
    ################################################## #############################

    Launch directory: C:\Program Files\FAH\FAH1
    Executable: C:\Program Files\FAH\FAH1\FAH502-Console.exe
    Arguments: -local -service -advmethods -forceasm

    Warning:
    By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
    safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
    do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
    If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
    if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
    use of the flag.

    [01:28:59] - Ask before connecting: No
    [01:28:59] - User name: Shelnutt2 (Team 32)
    [01:28:59] - User ID: 39F75E594380B074
    [01:28:59] - Machine ID: 1
    [01:28:59]

    A potential conflict was detected:

    Process 520 is currently running and may also be a client with Mach. ID 1.
    Program will now exit. Upon restart, this check will not be done --
    you may wish to check that no client is currently running in
    C:\Program Files\FAH\FAH1 before restarting.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  9. #9
    Rpkole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    out BORGING
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    what it is saying is that you are trying to run more than 1 client with the "Machine ID: 1 " or 3 so check you config files and make sure that they are all different or the clients may be running as a service and that is the reason you are getting the error. I know it happens to me when i try to run the same client more than 1 time
    Gamming Rig - MSI X58M, i7 920 @ 4Ghz, 2 x GTX275, 6GB G.SKILL DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    File Server - DFI LANPARTY DK 790GX-M2RS, Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz, 7600GT KO, 4GB G.SKILL DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500), 19.5TB of Storage space
    - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r Heatware

    Folding User Stats

  10. #10
    Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :( pscout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Also, make sure the service is stopped before editing the client.cfg ... it rewrites the file with whatever it started with.
    Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
    Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
    2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
    4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
    4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
    x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
    3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
    E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
    1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

    Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Folding Profile
    There is a bug (sort of) in FAH that mainifests itsself when running Windows XP after an improper shutdown of the client. There is a "lock" file that doesn't get deleted and causes the client to beleive the instance is already running. There has yet to be an explanation as to why this happens only sometimes after an improper shutdown of the client.

    In my experience, about one in ten instances will wind up conflicted after a power failure. THe real question is why is your machine crashing? Or how are you shutting down FAH? What caused instance 1 to restart on [December 20 01:28:59]. My guess is there is no sigterm message in the log on the shutdown prior to this restart.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  12. #12
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    #2 is shutting off on me now. I have deleted the work folders three times and I even went and deleted all the cores to see if that was the problem. It is set to service in the registry. Help this is the one that folds QMDs.

    Here is the log


    --- Opening Log file [January 26 10:34:44]


    # Windows Console Edition ################################################## ###
    ################################################## #############################

    Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

    http://folding.stanford.edu

    ################################################## #############################
    ################################################## #############################

    Launch directory: C:Program FilesFAHFAH2
    Executable: C:Program FilesFAHFAH2FAH502-Console.exe
    Arguments: -local -service -forceasm -advmethods

    Warning:
    By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
    safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
    do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
    If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
    if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
    use of the flag.

    [10:34:44] - Ask before connecting: No
    [10:34:44] - User name: Shelnutt2 (Team 32)
    [10:34:44] - User ID: 3D2038E853E7A7B9
    [10:34:44] - Machine ID: 1
    [10:34:44]

    A potential conflict was detected:

    Process 828 is currently running and may also be a client with Mach. ID 1.
    Program will now exit. Upon restart, this check will not be done --
    you may wish to check that no client is currently running in
    C:Program FilesFAHFAH1 before restarting.



    --- Opening Log file [January 27 10:50:42]


    # Windows Console Edition ################################################## ###
    ################################################## #############################

    Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

    http://folding.stanford.edu

    ################################################## #############################
    ################################################## #############################

    Launch directory: C:Program FilesFAHFAH2
    Executable: C:Program FilesFAHFAH2FAH502-Console.exe
    Arguments: -local -service -forceasm -advmethods

    Warning:
    By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
    safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
    do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
    If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
    if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
    use of the flag.

    [10:50:42] - Ask before connecting: No
    [10:50:42] - User name: Shelnutt2 (Team 32)
    [10:50:42] - User ID: 3D2038E853E7A7B9
    [10:50:42] - Machine ID: 1
    [10:50:42]

    A potential conflict was detected:

    Process 304 is currently running and may also be a client with Mach. ID 1.
    Program will now exit. Upon restart, this check will not be done --
    you may wish to check that no client is currently running in
    C:Program FilesFAHFAH1 before restarting.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  13. #13
    Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :( pscout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    are you sure your machine id's are all unique? and are between 1 and 8?

    and that each instance has the -local flag set?
    Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
    Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
    2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
    4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
    4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
    x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
    3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
    E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
    1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

    Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout

  14. #14
    Chief folding_monkey the garynator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Wrightstown, WI
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    it looks like both your #1 and #2 clients were both set with a machine id of 1...that's one problem... as for the 3rd and 4th, they might both be running 3...try reinstalling FAH with wedo's oneclick.
    folding_monkeys needs you!!!!
    Join the folding_monkeys folding@home subteam.

    Lian Li V2000b; Promise EX8350 Raid controller; 120GB G.Skill SSD; 9x 320gb (2x RAID 0 ext); 150gb Raptor; 500gb; 3x 1tb; 4x 2tb; PCP&C 610w and 750w; MSI 280GTX; Asus Rampage Formula; Q6600 @ 3.2ghz; 8gb GSkill DDR800; Liteon DVDRW; 32" 1080p LG; 22" Dell widescreen

    Black Belt Ubercloxx0r

    My Heat

  15. #15
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by pscout
    are you sure your machine id's are all unique? and are between 1 and 8?

    and that each instance has the -local flag set?
    Ok, fold#2 id was set to id #1. I changed it, and have restarted it still does not start. there is no work folder to delete.

    All instances do have the flag "-local"
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  16. #16
    Chief folding_monkey the garynator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Wrightstown, WI
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    did you try reinstalling FAH again? and now that i think of it, with wedo's you'd have to get one of the non-advmethods ones and manually turn on advmethods on one instance.
    folding_monkeys needs you!!!!
    Join the folding_monkeys folding@home subteam.

    Lian Li V2000b; Promise EX8350 Raid controller; 120GB G.Skill SSD; 9x 320gb (2x RAID 0 ext); 150gb Raptor; 500gb; 3x 1tb; 4x 2tb; PCP&C 610w and 750w; MSI 280GTX; Asus Rampage Formula; Q6600 @ 3.2ghz; 8gb GSkill DDR800; Liteon DVDRW; 32" 1080p LG; 22" Dell widescreen

    Black Belt Ubercloxx0r

    My Heat

  17. #17
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by the garynator
    did you try reinstalling FAH again? and now that i think of it, with wedo's you'd have to get one of the non-advmethods ones and manually turn on advmethods on one instance.
    No I haven't reinstalled...but I can use the advmethods one click? I want to run advmethods on all of them. That gives me the most PPD. Just only on teh second instance I turn on big packets. Or do you recommend using no-advmethods?
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  18. #18
    Jimbob7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Folding Profile
    With the no-click you can either download the adv or non-adv, and you can always edit the config to bigpackets=no/yes.
    PentiumM 725 "Dothan" 1.60GHz @ 2.60GHz, P4C800D, 3850Pro AGP, 3GB OCZ Platinum XTC, Arch Linux
    TDX, Maze4, 120.3, D5, U2-UFO
    Dell E248WFP

    Core2Duo 3GHz, Asus Motherboard, 4GB, Ubuntu-Server 12.10
    Dual Pentium III 600MHz, 512MB, Asus P2B-DS, OpenBSD

    HP ProBook 6360b, Intel i5 3rd Gen 2.60GHz, 8GB, Windows 7

  19. #19
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    I'll be darned. I haven't restart my computer or FAH or reinstalled it (been watching Forest Gump on TNT). Here it is my computer's been on an hour and #2 starts back up. It works now and I guess that all that matters.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •