Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan

    temps on my x2 4200+

    Ive been playing around with my x2 4200+ and my temps seem a lot higher then other peoples. i got it running at 2.6ghz 1.5v running dual prime i get a max of 122f. Do my temps seem high?

  2. #2
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    thats 50C

    not to bad try and get them lower, use that as max
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

  3. #3
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    it idles at 40c im using the Thermaltake Big Typhoon fan. at stock vcore and speed it idles at 100f, my friend has a 4800+ and his runs at a max 78f.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Would help if you told us what kind of cooling you have.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  5. #5
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Quote Originally Posted by OnDborder
    Would help if you told us what kind of cooling you have.

    Thermaltake Big Typhoon fan for cpu. i have a 120mm in back, 2 80mm in front and a 80mm on the side.

  6. #6
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    what TIM are you using ?

    if the big typhoon is on correctly with AS5 or other good TIM you should be sitting around 30C idle give or take a couple degress....
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

  7. #7
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    i took the IHS off my cpu and that didnt help at all.

  8. #8
    Member ziggo0's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    La Porte, Indiana
    As Rattle just said, what kind of TIM/Thermal Paste are you using? The lack of TIM or crap quality will cause some pretty bad temps.

  9. #9
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    im using artic silver 5.

  10. #10
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    OK what motherboard are you using and what are you using to check temps ?
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

  11. #11
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Giga-Byte GA-K8NSNXP-939, im using speedfan for temps also used the one that giga-byte uses.

  12. #12
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    heres a pic.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  13. #13
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    i dropped the htt voltage at full load im at 113-115f. got a little better.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by srtdodge05
    i dropped the htt voltage at full load im at 113-115f. got a little better.

    Not a big deal really but I would start quoting your temps in Celcius... Even us American guys are more used to celcius when it comes to cpu temps.
    E8400 Q747A374 @ 4.1Ghz 24/7 w/Thermalright Ultima-90 ES - Asus P5K-D (603) - EVGA 8800GTS (Hr-03) 660/1950 - 2x1 Gskill HZ's pc8000 @ 4-4-4-15 - X-fi Platinum w/BeyerDynamic DT-990pro Headphones - Silverstone TJ-07 w/Antec Quattro 850w - Samsung 275t - WD Raptor X HD and Seagate 7200.10 400gb

  15. #15
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Quote Originally Posted by Battle_Rattle
    Not a big deal really but I would start quoting your temps in Celcius... Even us American guys are more used to celcius when it comes to cpu temps.
    46c

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2001

    update bios

    I just updated my bios on d 830 and it fell over 20 degree C to the high 30s/low 40s (jumped about 5+ degrees with the heater on). My mobo temps rose about 10 degrees. Maybe next bios update will fix it.

    My Big Typhoon just arrived. I was wondering about how much Arctic Silver 5 to use. I noticed that the BT uses alot for there thermal compound in this installation (covers the CPU) vs. the little used for AS5.
    BT thermal compound instructions

    AS5 instructions

  17. #17
    Member srtdodge05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    i have the latest bios, i guess ill have to live with the temps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •