Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD
    Posts
    329

    MCW6002 mounting

    I was installing the MCW6002 on my comp a few days ago and I really had to fight with it to get it on. I had to remove the washers and the little white rings and compress the block to the board very tightly to get the threads on the screws to catch on the backplate. I didnt even use the retention frame because it wouldnt fit. Did anyone else have this problem on the DFI LanParty NF4 inlcuded backplate and retention frame?
    DFI LanParty NF4 Ultra-D 6/23 -3
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBWE 0547TPMW 312x9 1.475v
    eVGA 7800GTX
    2x1gb G.Skill PC4000
    OCZ PowerStream 520w
    SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-680's, Sennheiser HD555
    WD 200gb SATA & Samsung 80gb SATA

    Heatware

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by Seanohue
    I was installing the MCW6002 on my comp a few days ago and I really had to fight with it to get it on. I had to remove the washers and the little white rings and compress the block to the board very tightly to get the threads on the screws to catch on the backplate. I didnt even use the retention frame because it wouldnt fit. Did anyone else have this problem on the DFI LanParty NF4 inlcuded backplate and retention frame?
    Not exactly.. I had problems with my apogee on my lanparty though, using both the stock backplate and the zalman backplate that came with my CNPS7000. I just went washer-less and the problem was gone. The spring seems to have quite a bit extra give in it so there didnt seem to be a loss of pressure or whatever.

  3. #3
    Member Senater_Cache's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, FL / Frankfurt Germany
    Posts
    1,311
    re-read the instructions as obviously something went wrong.
    make sure proc is in socket properly
    make sure you dont have to remove the backplate to install the block.
    XP-M 2500+ @ 221 x 13 | 1.65v
    Abit NF7 | Mantarays XT
    OCZ PC3200 EL PE | 2.5-3-3-7
    9800pro XT PCB with Silencer3 @ XT-spec
    D4 | MCW6200 | 2-302 | Sanyo Denki | custom AntecCase

    ~--------------------~~---------------------~
    upcoming:
    XEON 3060 | eVGA_122_NF68 | 7900GTO | Crucial 10th Anny. D9GMH |
    DDC-2 PetrasTop | MCR320+Denkis | STORM | Stacker


    Heatware | Senater_Cache

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD
    Posts
    329
    You cant install this block without the backplate and if the CPU was in the socket wrong, then shoot me lol. Anywho, I'll order the backplate from Swiftech and see that does.
    Last edited by Seanohue; 01-06-06 at 08:56 PM.
    DFI LanParty NF4 Ultra-D 6/23 -3
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBWE 0547TPMW 312x9 1.475v
    eVGA 7800GTX
    2x1gb G.Skill PC4000
    OCZ PowerStream 520w
    SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-680's, Sennheiser HD555
    WD 200gb SATA & Samsung 80gb SATA

    Heatware

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by Seanohue
    You cant install this block without the backplate and if the CPU was in the socket wrong, then shoot me lol. Anywho, I'll order the backplate from Swiftech and see that does.
    The screws supplied with the block are about 1/8" too short, so you have to push down on the springs to engage the bolts in the backplate. Easiest fix is to just use longer #6-32 screws.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    W. Lafayette, IN
    Posts
    526
    I had the same problem with an SLI-D and the 6002. The supplied screws are simply too short.

    I found if you just use the stock DFI screws, with just the bracket, and tighten that down all the way it works perfectly fine.

    CPU: Intel C2D e6000 @ 3000 mhz
    Cooling: Stock for now
    Motherboard: Gigabyte DS3
    Ram: Patriot 2x1GB PC 6700
    Video: 1900 XTX


  7. #7
    Disabled tsuehpsyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Western PA, USA
    Posts
    125
    Hmmm, I have the SLi-DR and the screws DID seem too short, but I just pushed with all my might and they caught, and did a fantastic job after they caught too. Obviously I'm not using the top bracket anymore for mounting reasons, but it should fit?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Charlestown, IN
    Posts
    359
    I had the exact same problem, but my Apogee mounted on without a hitch. I had to take the MoBO and sit it flat on a table so I could push down hard enough to get the screws to reach. I was afraid of cracking the board with it in the case. I ended up eventually using longer bolts through from the bottom and securing the block with wingnuts so I could adjust in small amounts from one side to the other. The issue is the non-standard backplate on the DFI.
    FoxConn P45A-S
    Q9550/Xigma 1283S
    8GB GSkill DDR2 1000
    PowerColor HD4870PCS+
    BFG EX 1000
    CoolerMaster C590

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD
    Posts
    329
    so if its just the DFIs plate, anyone elses should work right? Im just goin to get a new plate since I have to remove the mobo everytime I need to do work on it.
    DFI LanParty NF4 Ultra-D 6/23 -3
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBWE 0547TPMW 312x9 1.475v
    eVGA 7800GTX
    2x1gb G.Skill PC4000
    OCZ PowerStream 520w
    SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-680's, Sennheiser HD555
    WD 200gb SATA & Samsung 80gb SATA

    Heatware

  10. #10
    Member CCUABIDExORxDIE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Keystone Lightville, MA
    Posts
    2,744
    maybe just get some screws that are the same size/thread but maybe a 1/4 inch longer. any ace hardware/Home Depot will have em. and they will cost all over what? 35 cents.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD
    Posts
    329
    Yea but the backplate doesnt hav an adhesive on it so it falls out of alignment during mounting so then the entire board has to be removed to fix it.
    DFI LanParty NF4 Ultra-D 6/23 -3
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBWE 0547TPMW 312x9 1.475v
    eVGA 7800GTX
    2x1gb G.Skill PC4000
    OCZ PowerStream 520w
    SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-680's, Sennheiser HD555
    WD 200gb SATA & Samsung 80gb SATA

    Heatware

  12. #12
    Member CCUABIDExORxDIE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Keystone Lightville, MA
    Posts
    2,744
    ehh, not when i put in and take out my XP120 retention bracket and put in the A64 bracket, just put the case on its side. then it wont move.

  13. #13
    Disabled tsuehpsyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Western PA, USA
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by Seanohue
    Yea but the backplate doesnt hav an adhesive on it so it falls out of alignment during mounting so then the entire board has to be removed to fix it.
    I've never had that problem. Hell, I've mounted my block in my case while it was on a 45 degree tilt instead of being flat (easier to work on). Now that it's lidless I have to do it flat, but I've yet to have the backplate go willy nilly on me.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Charlestown, IN
    Posts
    359
    My backplate would fall between the board and mobo tray on my DFI until I used the screws from the bottom. I ran a tiny little nylon nut down to the board to hold it all in place so I can remove it without worry. The nylon is also non-conductive so there's no issue with shorts.
    FoxConn P45A-S
    Q9550/Xigma 1283S
    8GB GSkill DDR2 1000
    PowerColor HD4870PCS+
    BFG EX 1000
    CoolerMaster C590

  15. #15
    Member Slayer2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Northeastern MA
    Posts
    656
    I had this same problem when putting my 6002 on my 775....found out, it has to be installed in a certain direction. Instructions didn't tell me this, and I had to flip it 180*.

    Fits fine now.
    :|: i5 2500 - ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z/GEN3 - Vengance 8GB 1600 kit - EVGA 760 GTX Superclocked 2GB :|:
    :|: Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD - WD Black 1TB x4 :|:
    :|: D-TEK Fuzion v.2 - QP320 - Liang DDC :|:
    :|: Dell U2713HM - Logitech Z-5500 :|:
    :|: Heat :|:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •