Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2006

    May not water cool now

    I was reading this forum for quite sometime trying to decide to WC. I did decide then went out and bought the following items.


    ClearFLEX 60 Tubing 1/2" ID / 5/8" OD 12 ft
    Swiftech Apogee Extreme water block
    Black Ice Pro II Dual 120mm Radiator - Black
    Barb Size: 1/2" Chrome Fittings
    Zerex Racing Super Coolant - 4oz Bottle
    Dangerden Fillport - Silver
    didn't buy a pump

    The Apogee won't work on my Socket A and I don't want to spend more $$$ on a Socket 939 64 system jusy to accomadate that Block.
    I know this pic is of an 8rda+, but my A7N8X is the same layout, same problem.

    anyone interested in these items email me, or I might trade the Apogee for a nice looking black and silver mcw6000 for socket A
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by opsed121; 02-02-06 at 05:13 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    why dony you try and jerry rig something up to use it on your soket A? or maybe just buy a difrent block? i dunno jsut seems like kinda a waste. im prety sure if you tried you could make something work, like maybe get the mounting stuff for the 6000 and use them in some jerry riged way to make it clamp on the soket A bracket? im jsut throughing out ideas for you i would buy the block for my opty but im thinking im going to go either quiet air or phase change. well at any rate i hope you get what you want for the stuff and good luck
    3vil

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK (London)
    Bet you don't llive in the UK?
    Rig1:
    AMD64 3000+ Winnie (0457) OC'd to 2502Mhz @1.52v| XP120 HSF | DFI LP NF4 SLi DR | OCZ 3200 Plat LE (bh6)@3.4v 2.2.2.5@250Mhz | XFX 6600GT SLi| Seasonic SS12 500w
    Rig2:
    AMD64 3200+ Venice LBBLE 0516GPMW OC'd to 2700Mhz(300x9)@1.52v | water cooled | DFI LP NF4 D Ultra | Corsair 3200XL Pro 4x512@245 2.5-3-3-7@2.6v| BFG7800GTXOC @ stock|Seasonic SS12 500w


  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    No UK Sorry
    Ski Country USA

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Actually all I need to do is put it to a bench grinder and grind away the fin that is hitting the caps, and I know I could do it about 3 minutes, after the clearance to to caps is good I'll use the motherboard bolt on method,but the thought of doing that to a nice shiny silver piece of equipment doesn't seem right, and believe me I love to mod or improve everything.
    Last edited by opsed121; 02-02-06 at 05:25 PM.

  6. #6
    Member AZNBoiOnFIYA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    i had to rig something up to fit an mcw6002 to my mobo. it took 1 day to make a bracket for the hold down clips and an extra day to make a backplate after i found out i had 4 mounting holes on the mobo and decided to go with that. it really should be that hard to make a bracket as long as you have a dremel, some aluminum and some nuts and bolts.
    3400+ Venice @2.75GHZ 1.55V Air
    1GB Teamgroup Xtreme BH5
    ECS KN1 Lite
    7600GT @ 600/800 Air
    Coolmax CTG-850 Quad Rail PSU :D

    Heat

  7. #7
    MVC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hell's Kitchen, NYC
    Quote Originally Posted by opsed121
    Actually all I need to do is put it to a bench grinder and grind away the fin that is hitting the caps, and I know I could do it about 3 minutes, after the clearance to to caps is good I'll use the motherboard bolt on method,but the thought of doing that to a nice shiny silver piece of equipment doesn't seem right, and believe me I love to mod or improve everything.
    Go for it!!! Half of the fun of this forum, and half (if not more) of the idea behind this forum, is to make "stuff" do what you want it to do, not what it's manufacturer wanted it to do. The manufacturer may never have even thought of what you want/need. So, just make it work. Take your time, do as a professional a job as possible, but don't be afraid to modify! In this case, grind away

  8. #8
    $30 a phone d94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    48302
    dude, just cut off the excess
    Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
    1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
    3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

    Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
    stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

    MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

    heatware

  9. #9
    Member Aidenswarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    circumcise that *****!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Instead of calling the quits.. I think a good solution would be this:

    - Get a 1/2" piece or whatever thickness piece you need for clearance of plexi
    - Cut it to the dimensions to fit in between the block and top mounting plate
    - Get longer 6-32 screws
    - Screw the block in

    Seems like a really easy solution actually.. and you should still maintain plenty good enough contact, as long as whatever you use as a wedge is somewhat flat.

    IMO this would look MUCH nicer than cutting away at the plate too..

    edit: you dont even have to use plexi really.. just about any solid material would work just fine. (ie. wood) either shouldnt take longer than 30 minutes from beginning to end to mount the block.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •