Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    545

    HELP: i cant log in, i get logged off instantly

    Windows XP pro SP2

    i just installed this system today, it worked fine, i installed drivers and a my usual programs, rebooted several times and everything was fine. Then, i installed more software and on the next reboot i was unable to log in: i get the log in screen, which i had not seen before since i only set one user, and as soon as i log in i see my desktop background but no icons nor task bar, and i see the logging off . . . screen and get kicked back to log in screen. On the last boot that worked i got a message saying that some system files had been changed by a program and asking for the install CD, i chose to keep the new files since i thought one of the programs i had installed changed some system stuff. was that a bad call? Ok here's what i already tried:

    -i tried the administrator account to no effect.
    -i can boot into safe mode, i created a new user, no go
    -i booted into safe mode with network functions, it took like 5 minutes to load my user profile. i disabled both LAN cards in the device manager and now it loads up fast, but only in safe mode. this leads me to think it is a network issue.
    -i had already installed antivirus, Adaware, Spybot S&D, and Zonealaram before setting up the internet connection, so i doubt it is a virus. Plus i used all my old installers from my HDD, that i used many times before with no problems.
    -i tried the search function on the forums: the only solution i found is to use automatic system recory from the install CD

    i guess that's all. please gurus help me!

    emilio
    TO DO LIST
    1 - Think
    2 - Post
    3 - Do not mess with the order of to-do list!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Know Nuttin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7,898
    Make sure under

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

    Make sure the value "Userinit", is set to the following:

    C:\Windows\System32\Userinit.exe,
    AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
    Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,747
    Try running the System Restore tool from "Safe Mode with Command Prompt", which is accessible from the Advanced Options menu (in order to access the menu, press the F8 key just before Windows begins to load/directly after POST), and restore your system to a point prior to the installation of the software that apparently caused the problem. You'll need to log on as the administrator, or a user that has administrative rights. At the command prompt, type...

    %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe ...and then press ENTER.

    ...then just follow the instructions on the screen. You could also try running the System File Checker tool from the Run box in Safe Mode... type sfc /scannow, and click OK.

  4. #4
    Blank Senior Member El<(')>Maxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,035
    Hey Redduc, doesn't System File Checker overwrite patches & update files back to the Service Pack level of the OS?
    rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    545
    since the key was present, I replaced userinit.exe with a freshly expanded version. i was able to log in, only to find everything else wrecked. Turns out my problem was 900+ .EXE files infected with win32/Gaelicum.A, apparently a variant of Tenga. Off to reinstall again.

    How could this have happened in one day? in the morning the disk wasnt even formatted, by the afternoon 900 files are infected! AVG antivirus didn't detect the intrusion even though it detects the virus on a full scan. crap-tastic. all my installers are on a separate HDD, and are not infected, i just checked them from a clean computer . . .

    emilio
    TO DO LIST
    1 - Think
    2 - Post
    3 - Do not mess with the order of to-do list!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,747
    Quote Originally Posted by El<(')>Maxi
    Hey Redduc, doesn't System File Checker overwrite patches & update files back to the Service Pack level of the OS?
    No, it won't overwrite updated signed drivers or system patches... as long as they were properly installed. However when running sfc /scannow on a W2K pre-SP4 system, apparently the hotfixes don't register themselves in a way that SFC recognizes... so hotfixes can be overwritten.

  7. #7
    Blank Senior Member El<(')>Maxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,035
    Quote Originally Posted by Tazon
    How could this have happened in one day? in the morning the disk wasnt even formatted, by the afternoon 900 files are infected! AVG antivirus didn't detect the intrusion even though it detects the virus on a full scan.
    It's a good example of why free scanners are not really the best. Mcafee, Symantec & Norton are not favorites with alot of people but they're developers are quick to release definitions when a new virus or exploit is hitting, thats important as well as a good firewall (No ZoneAlarm or Norton).
    rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    545
    Could you recommend a better antivirus/firewall combo than my current setup (AVG and Zonealarm)
    TO DO LIST
    1 - Think
    2 - Post
    3 - Do not mess with the order of to-do list!

  9. #9
    Blank Senior Member El<(')>Maxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,035
    Personally I'd go with Norton AV (AV only, Internet Tools has a crap firewall), and Windows built in Firewall.
    rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •