Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yay Area
    Posts
    222

    How much voltage is too much? - Patriot XBLK's

    Hey all, I have Patriot XBLK (2x512 mb) and I was wondering how much voltage is too much. I currently have it at 2.8 and was wondering if I could up the voltage to increase my OC without damaging the RAM.

    Does anyone know how much I can bump it up to?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member avalanche83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ft. Myers, Florida
    Posts
    1,248
    Most people can go up to 3.0v with TCCD before they start getting errors in Memtest. If you have a spare fan laying around I would throw that on there to rule out any overheating.
    Lenovo G575

  3. #3
    Member <<Spider>>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    860
    Some RAM is able to handle more voltage than others, it's hard to tell. I usually look at the suggested RAM votage ratings and go a 0.2V to 0.3V over that. Mine is default at 2.5V so I only use 2.7V to 2.8V.

    There are different version of the Patriot XBLK (2X512) so look at the suggested default RAm and add 0.3V to this. You should use this as your MAX.

  4. #4
    Member ochungry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    2,109
    Quote Originally Posted by pookyman
    Hey all, I have Patriot XBLK (2x512 mb) and I was wondering how much voltage is too much. I currently have it at 2.8 and was wondering if I could up the voltage to increase my OC without damaging the RAM.

    Does anyone know how much I can bump it up to?

    Thanks
    2.90 should be enough. right around 300mhz might need 2.95. but absolutely not over 3.v. there are cases that after constand usage and burn-in, might need up to 3.05v. but that would indicate near death.
    if can keep it at around 2.95v w/ fan blowing on them, you should be able get the most out of them and not kill them. I have found those rams need to be in 2T from 260mhz and up. If using 2T, you might not need to increase voltage that much. 2.85v and 2T should get you to DDR600.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    In front of the monitor
    Posts
    109
    superpi32m,memtest... stable DDR600- 300mhz... priming to test stability...
    Timings 2.5-4-3-7 @ 2.8v

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yay Area
    Posts
    222
    Allright thanks guys, was also wondering if the memtest in windows was as reliable as the memtest you use as a boot disk.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •