Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31
  1. #1
    Member mgoode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The MotherShip
    Posts
    961

    T2500 Yonah socket 478 at the Egg

    Socket 478? This wont fit in my IC7max3 will it?
    what type of motherboard do i need?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111178
    Benching: 980X

    "Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
    ("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)



  2. #2
    Member Mr. $T$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    2,603
    Quote Originally Posted by mgoode
    Socket 478? This wont fit in my IC7max3 will it?
    what type of motherboard do i need?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111178

    Woah!! 478??? This could be an upgrade worth keeping my IS7 providing BIOS support....

    I would love to know this as well, maybe I keep this rig through another socket.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    1,725
    Yummy. Pop one of these in my old IC7-G and kick some butt,

    I'm wondering if the socket is based on the 479 laptop sockets??

    Antec P180B | Seasonic S12-500 | ASUS P5B Deluxe | E6600 C2D | ATI HD5770 | OCZ Reaper PC6400 2x2GB | 2TB total storage | 2x HP 23" LCD | Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers | Logitech G15 and G5 DELUXE

    My HEAT


  4. #4
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Posts
    5,914
    no the pin out and is different than your current 478 system. these are really socket 479, but they are not compatible with dothan based mobo (or ASUS adapter) that are socket 479 as the pin out is slightly diffrent. Yes it is really socket 478, but Intel renamed it 479 to avoid confusion. Newegg just list it 478, half of there stuff is 478 the other half is 479. I wish they would make up their mind. .
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  5. #5
    Member grumperfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,336
    There's another listed too: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111180 1.667Ghz for $253. There's also a 1.8ghz model... hmm..
    Desktop: i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ TR HR-02 + SD 120x38mm // Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P // MSI R9 280X 3GB
    16GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600mhz // Samsung 830 256GB // 6TB // Thermaltake Armor // Corsair TX750
    Server: Q6600 G0 // EP35-DS3R // 4GB DDR2 // 4850 512MB // 840Pro 128GB // 4.25TB // Corsair TX650
    Laptop: Latitude D630 // C2M T7300 // 4GB DDR2 // X3100 // Samsung 830 128GB
    Smoothwall: P4 2.4C // 1GB DDR // AOpen MX4GVR // 20GB // Corsair CX430
    I like HEAT

  6. #6
    Member mgoode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The MotherShip
    Posts
    961
    Yea they shouldn't list as a socket 478. Now thats confusing.
    Benching: 980X

    "Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
    ("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)



  7. #7
    Member Mr. $T$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    2,603
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelnutt2
    no the pin out and is different than your current 478 system. these are really socket 479, but they are not compatible with dothan based mobo (or ASUS adapter) that are socket 479 as the pin out is slightly diffrent. Yes it is really socket 478, but Intel renamed it 479 to avoid confusion. Newegg just list it 478, half of there stuff is 478 the other half is 479. I wish they would make up their mind. .

    You know part of me thought it was too good to be true. Dual core and low power for a 478, ya should have saw that myself..... Although I could always get a Dolthan and OC the hell out of it.

  8. #8
    Retired muddocktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New Iberia, LA
    Posts
    12,977
    Hopefully either Asus or Abit will come out with a new adapter to let us run them in a socket 478 desktop board. They would rock in my i865 or i875 boards and if Abit came out with an adapter I definitely would upgrade my IC7-G and IS7 systems to them.

  9. #9
    Member hawtrawkr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    galesburg illinois
    Posts
    2,172
    Quote Originally Posted by muddocktor
    Hopefully either Asus or Abit will come out with a new adapter to let us run them in a socket 478 desktop board. They would rock in my i865 or i875 boards and if Abit came out with an adapter I definitely would upgrade my IC7-G and IS7 systems to them.

    would the chipsets support them if the socket did though?

    saw these on the egg yesterday and thought one would be fun to play with but was unsure about mobo compatibility and all that yada. figured if anything the asus adapter might work with it but didnt think the chipset would work with dualcore cpu.

  10. #10
    z0n3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hoosier Land
    Posts
    1,828
    I don't see why the chipset wouldn't be able to support it if a BIOS update came out. Can't the 865 chipset use dual core CPUs?
    In other words, look for shiny books.-Frodo Baggins
    OK Oni...I've told ya about rubbing David before. Keep it private, eh?-LutaWicasa
    I just caught myself putting my credit card into the DVD drive of my computer ... -ghettocomp
    LOL if I was sapphire I would leave ruby on there and take her shirt off instead...-Rattle
    What do you most want to accomplish with your life? Ban SilverSinkSam-cw823
    Ooo. that 1 comes with a mouse!-WarriorII
    last friday I got back from annual training and downloaded my duffelbags to my house.-SuperFarStucker
    Thank goodness the downtime was not any longer I almost got myself a life-UnseenMenace
    I live in a steel reinforced cave/bunker so unless he is on my list of bad guys to kill, I don't pay too much attention to politics.-TommyHolly

  11. #11
    Member Mr. $T$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    2,603
    Quote Originally Posted by z0n3
    I don't see why the chipset wouldn't be able to support it if a BIOS update came out. Can't the 865 chipset use dual core CPUs?

    It can use HT, maybe there is a way to trick the BIOS into thinking that the second core is HT yet be the full power of a second processor. Maybe it's just a pipedream.

  12. #12
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Posts
    5,914
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. $T$
    It can use HT, maybe there is a way to trick the BIOS into thinking that the second core is HT yet be the full power of a second processor. Maybe it's just a pipedream.
    An 865PE chipset will run dual core presslers.
    Linky
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  13. #13
    Member mgoode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The MotherShip
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelnutt2
    An 865PE chipset will run dual core presslers.
    Linky
    Except it looks like you need a celeronD to boot it and the this poor guy cant change the FSB on a 930 with out the MB resetting. That would be a pain

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Custra...82E16813131574
    Benching: 980X

    "Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
    ("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)



  14. #14
    Member SolidxSnake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    5,849
    the pinout on the yonah looks like a normal 478 processor! The dothan has a different key than normal 478 processors, but the yonah looks the same. maybe they key is on the other side.
    When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
    i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
    Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
    Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224


  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,381
    the pinout on the yonah looks like a normal 478 processor! The dothan has a different key than normal 478 processors, but the yonah looks the same. maybe they key is on the other side.
    They may look the same but there not. Not even close. And besides its socket 480, even though there are 478 pins

  16. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The Cockpit
    Posts
    1,738
    They are different guys. There was a thread about this awhile back. I believe some of the in fo came from Anantech, and other info came from some of the guys who work with this stuff. Maybe Intel will be gracious, and supply a couple mobo makers with the pinout config and they can make some adapters.

  17. #17
    Retired muddocktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New Iberia, LA
    Posts
    12,977
    I'm sure the pinout is already available to the manufacturers, because they are making laptops using these procs and even Mac desktop machines. And since Asus is a laptop ODM, they should have ready access to this info already and they have already made the adapter for P-M. I'm hoping they can make some kind of adapter card for them.

  18. #18
    Member lowfat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    stoon, sask, can
    Posts
    1,187
    Quote Originally Posted by muddocktor
    Hopefully either Asus or Abit will come out with a new adapter to let us run them in a socket 478 desktop board. They would rock in my i865 or i875 boards and if Abit came out with an adapter I definitely would upgrade my IC7-G and IS7 systems to them.
    It need a minimum of a i915 chipset, i've heard.
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600.
    Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6.
    4GB Crucial PC2-8000.
    eVGA 8800GTS 320 Superclocked.
    Cooler Master Stacker 830.
    OCZ GameXStream 700W.
    DTek Fuzion + Weapon 302 Heatercore + AquaXtreme 50Z.
    JVC RX6042, Soundstage Center 5 + Surrounds, Athena A1-B1s.

    3D06-11115 3D05-19593 3D03-37303 3D01-61781

  19. #19
    Alpha_One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Cavite, Philippines
    Posts
    152
    But the 915 and 925 can't do dual cores, right?
    "That is what you get when you don't play nice!" -Freespace 2 Wingman

    "The Workhorse" : Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 3.21Ghz / 1.34VCore | Foxconn P9657AA-8KS2H | 2x1GB Kingston ValueRAM PC2-5300 @ 642 4-4-4-12 | Inno3D 6600

    "The Rebel: Intel Pentium 4 530J @ 3.6GHz | ECS G31T-M | 2x1GB Kingston ValueRAM PC2-6400 @ 960 5-5-5-15 | Intel GMA3100

    "The Scholar": Acer 5540 series | Intel Core Duo T2050 | 2GB Transcend PC2-5300 | Intel GMA950

    Folding for Team 32 under the name Triple_Ace

  20. #20
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    Quote Originally Posted by muddocktor
    I'm sure the pinout is already available to the manufacturers, because they are making laptops using these procs and even Mac desktop machines. And since Asus is a laptop ODM, they should have ready access to this info already and they have already made the adapter for P-M. I'm hoping they can make some kind of adapter card for them.
    The desktop macs are using a laptop mobo, i saw there was a link in here somewhere with it taken apart.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •