Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL

    Gskill Extreme 2GB DDR 500 Not ocing for nothing(need help)

    Hello i have tried so many things with this ram and im starting to get mad.i run them at 2.6-2.7v .i tested 250mhz out with memtest and it passed 5 tests of test 5 & 8 .i ran 32m pi and it passed as well.now when i bump it to 260 mhz it all goes to hell and gets errors on the 1st test of everything ,and fails 32m pi.im trying to find my max ram freq using 1:1 .and i know my CPU can do 2.9Ghz maybe more but that was with 2x512 DDR 500 ballistix . any ideas on what i can do ? oh and im using the orange slots by the way .thanx
    System Specs
    Motherboard - EVGA X58 E770 Classified
    Processor - Intel Core i7 950
    Cooler - Corsair H50 Push/Pull
    RAM - Corsair Dominator 12GB 3x4GB DDR 2000 GT
    Video Card - EVGA GTX 590
    PSU - Corsair HX1000w
    OS - Windows 7 x64 Ultimate SP1
    HDD - 2x Corsair F60's in Raid 0
    HDD - WD 1TB Black
    CD Drive - Sony Optiarc 24X DVD/RW DL
    Case - Corsair D800

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    ok i got it to pass 260 mhz now ,i set bank idle timer to 256 and Trc to 14 .any other ideas on what i should adjust ?
    System Specs
    Motherboard - EVGA X58 E770 Classified
    Processor - Intel Core i7 950
    Cooler - Corsair H50 Push/Pull
    RAM - Corsair Dominator 12GB 3x4GB DDR 2000 GT
    Video Card - EVGA GTX 590
    PSU - Corsair HX1000w
    OS - Windows 7 x64 Ultimate SP1
    HDD - 2x Corsair F60's in Raid 0
    HDD - WD 1TB Black
    CD Drive - Sony Optiarc 24X DVD/RW DL
    Case - Corsair D800

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Palmdale CA
    If you want to go higher, set the command to 2T.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    2T shouldnt be neccesary with this ram though.
    System Specs
    Motherboard - EVGA X58 E770 Classified
    Processor - Intel Core i7 950
    Cooler - Corsair H50 Push/Pull
    RAM - Corsair Dominator 12GB 3x4GB DDR 2000 GT
    Video Card - EVGA GTX 590
    PSU - Corsair HX1000w
    OS - Windows 7 x64 Ultimate SP1
    HDD - 2x Corsair F60's in Raid 0
    HDD - WD 1TB Black
    CD Drive - Sony Optiarc 24X DVD/RW DL
    Case - Corsair D800

  5. #5
    Member Bios24's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Sounds like you got the same batch I did. Mine will do 250mhz easy, but won't do 260mhz. I've combed through all the Bios specs and what-not, but haven't found anything that helps. I think it's just a batch that won't o/c.
    Antec P180 - Corsair HX520W - Dell 2005fpw
    Opteron 165 <Currently 280x9 1.35v>
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D - 2gb G.Skill 3-4-4-8@250mhz
    320gb+200gb Seagate - XFX 6800GS 500/1.2ghz
    Sound Blaster X-Fi - BA7900 5.1 Surround
    Thermalright XP-90C - <The Quiet Overclock>
    [ HEATWARE ]

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    yea bios ,it seams that way with mine ,im not sure what to do now.i tried everything ,spent days on so many different configurations ,and nothing happens.now im not sure on what ram to get.
    System Specs
    Motherboard - EVGA X58 E770 Classified
    Processor - Intel Core i7 950
    Cooler - Corsair H50 Push/Pull
    RAM - Corsair Dominator 12GB 3x4GB DDR 2000 GT
    Video Card - EVGA GTX 590
    PSU - Corsair HX1000w
    OS - Windows 7 x64 Ultimate SP1
    HDD - 2x Corsair F60's in Raid 0
    HDD - WD 1TB Black
    CD Drive - Sony Optiarc 24X DVD/RW DL
    Case - Corsair D800

  7. #7
    Member Xtreme Barton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Omaha,NE
    what are you looking to get out of them ?? and are you talking getting new ram ? is it really worth the minimal performance your gonna see, or are you a benchy ?

    why not just stick it out for AM2, and get some ddr2 1000 or 1066

  8. #8
    Member dawei213's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    PA
    Yeah, I got mine to be good around 269mhz when running 1:1 but won't go higher than that.
    Intel i7-2600k
    Gigabyte Mobo
    G.Skills Ares 4x4GB
    XFX Double D 6870 1GB
    Seasonic X750
    Antec P280
    Samsung 256GB 830 SSD
    2 x 23" Asus 238H
    Dvd player!!!!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Palmdale CA
    My set pass memtest86 to 275 MHz with 2.6v. If you are having errors, you may need to add some volts to your CPU to get it stable at the frequency you want. I suggest you use memtest86 and try lowering your multiplier to 7 to rule out CPU (make sure you have enough vCore to keep it stable) and retest your memory with memtest86. This way you know what is the highest frequency your memory can take.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    I got this ram because I was fedup rma'ing my crucial ballistix and I noticed that when I installed on my asus a8n32 motherboard it would not post so I reset cmos and it posted into bios had to manually set timings to 3,4,4,8 idle 256, 16 and 7 bypass and set to normal dram strength and I uped voltage to 2.75 and I could not get stable 270 on 1:1. then all I did was to decrease voltage to 2.6 and whoalla stable. It seems that this ram likes low voltage. Anyways I could not get it stable up to 280 so I used 183 divider for my overclock and perfectly stable.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •