Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27
  1. #1
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

    My Backup HDD Failed After 3 Weeks...

    ok i purchased a seagate barracuda 400gb hdd + usb enclosure for backup of all my files and did a fresh format of all my drives.

    well last night the damn thing decided it wasnt gonna boot after just working 5 minutes earlier.

    for some stupid freaking reason it will act like its spinning up and than stop and start to try to spin up again.

    im really ****ed off because i no longer have any of the files from the past 2 years... including almost 30,000 personal pictures and files. Not to mention all my business contacts.

    well i turned off the drive for the night, threw it in the freezer trick, that didnt work still doing the same thing. Threw it in another pc, same thing. also tried it in my own pc, same thing. The damn thing gets extremely hot while tryin to boot up.

    akldfjaskdjfasl;kfjasl;djfkl;djfal;skdjfasjfa

    i think im gonna cry cause i dont know wtf to do.
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

  2. #2
    Member Flip-Mode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    Sorry to hear that....
    Well I guess you are done with Seagate...
    Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]

  3. #3
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)
    its just not freaking fair..... i mean ive never had a major peice of hardware die EVER! and now the most important peice of hardware i have just decides after 5 minutes of not being booted it wants to flip **** and die.
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

  4. #4
    Member thegreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Heatware Profile
    This really sucks, this is why I always use at least 2 types of storage media - hard drives and dvd's. Maybe now you can start looking into RAID1 or RAID5.

    I don't know what I'll do if I lost all of my things either, it really sucks man.
    I always tell the truth even when I lie. - scarface
    I know it sounds like I'm in denial, but I'm not. - unknown

  5. #5
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)
    Quote Originally Posted by thegreek
    This really sucks, this is why I always use at least 2 types of storage media - hard drives and dvd's. Maybe now you can start looking into RAID1 or RAID5.

    I don't know what I'll do if I lost all of my things either, it really sucks man.
    im about to start a lawsuit for everyone who has been screwed by faulty hardware... hmm a national lawsuit against seagate sounds like fuN?
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

  6. #6
    Disabled apu318's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Welland: Most drug use per capita in Canada.
    Get them to transplant the platters... that works, doesnt it? It might cost you though.

  7. #7
    Member Quick69GTO's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Try removing the drive from the enclosure and installing it in your PC.
    I would bet it's the USB controller in the enclosure.

  8. #8
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)
    Quote Originally Posted by Quick69GTO
    Try removing the drive from the enclosure and installing it in your PC.
    I would bet it's the USB controller in the enclosure.
    hence why i wrote...

    "THREW IT INTO ANOTHER PC" meaning i did that.
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

  9. #9
    By any chance did the enclosure have some form of active cooling?

    I notice my Seagates get HOT (hotter than Raptor...), so I do not put them in anything but enclosures with active cooling. Maybe yours burnt up?
    [HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(

  10. #10
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)
    Quote Originally Posted by neonblingbling
    By any chance did the enclosure have some form of active cooling?

    I notice my Seagates get HOT (hotter than Raptor...), so I do not put them in anything but enclosures with active cooling. Maybe yours burnt up?
    lol a small 40mm fan... maybe 60mm cant be sure... drive is working grabbing the files now and than rma.
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

  11. #11
    Senior Punk Kendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Dark side of hell
    First thing is you probably killed it and killed any chance of getting any data off of it by putting it in the freezer!


    That is for the very very very last chance at recovering data and has to be done in a certain way.


    Your best bet is to put it in a computer and boot a knoppix disk. If you can see the data then mount a different drive in that computer writable and copy the data you want to save. (Knoppix mounts drives read only by default) Good luck


    Now my question to you is did you turn it off or unplug it without using the safely remove hardware icon in your system tray?
    Hello:sn:

  12. #12
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kendan
    First thing is you probably killed it and killed any chance of getting any data off of it by putting it in the freezer!

    That is for the very very very last chance at recovering data and has to be done in a certain way.

    Your best bet is to put it in a computer and boot a knoppix disk. If you can see the data then mount a different drive in that computer writable and copy the data you want to save. (Knoppix mounts drives read only by default) Good luck

    Now my question to you is did you turn it off or unplug it without using the safely remove hardware icon in your system tray?
    you didnt read my last post did you? all data is fine, the drive is running like it did when it was brand new and im recovering all data as we speak.. and its not longer overheating either.
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

  13. #13
    I know it is a tender subject right now, I thought the idea of a true backup is to have two copies of important data, so if one fails (which can happen it anytime, even when new) you have the other.
    Personally I hate the idea of wasting space on duplicates, yet for piece of mind it must be done.
    Intel Core i7-4930K @ 4.2GHz ' Asus P9X79 ' Corsair 32GB DDR3-1600 CL9 ' 2x Gigabyte GTX 660 Ti ' Dell U3014

  14. #14
    Member Sjaak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Quote Originally Posted by microfire
    I know it is a tender subject right now, I thought the idea of a true backup is to have two copies of important data, so if one fails (which can happen it anytime, even when new) you have the other.
    Personally I hate the idea of wasting space on duplicates, yet for piece of mind it must be done.

    Exactly...keep the original AND the backup...if possible not in the same system nor in the same room.
    'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'

  15. #15
    Member Flip-Mode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    So a fan fixed it?
    Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]

  16. #16
    Senior Punk Kendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Dark side of hell
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr3@k3r
    you didnt read my last post did you? all data is fine, the drive is running like it did when it was brand new and im recovering all data as we speak.. and its not longer overheating either.
    My info is still very relevant.
    Hello:sn:

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Kendan
    First thing is you probably killed it and killed any chance of getting any data off of it by putting it in the freezer!


    That is for the very very very last chance at recovering data and has to be done in a certain way.


    Your best bet is to put it in a computer and boot a knoppix disk. If you can see the data then mount a different drive in that computer writable and copy the data you want to save. (Knoppix mounts drives read only by default) Good luck


    Now my question to you is did you turn it off or unplug it without using the safely remove hardware icon in your system tray?
    thanks for the post, i just burned an .iso of the full version of ubcd 3.4, does this have a utility to do this? i looked at the program list but i can't make any sense of it. also, i haven't used the cd yet. i was doing a search on hdd wiping and it came up. i d/l'd--->burned it just for safe keeping.
    they call me "babycakes"
    My Heatware
    nforce2 for life
    socket a or die(literally - i killed my nf7-s v2 volt modding it and recently an xp-m 2600 :( )
    i'm also known as "VIPER Juan" :rolleyes:

    VOTE GHETTOCOMP FOR NEW HTPC SECTION MODERATOR

  18. #18
    Senior Punk Kendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Dark side of hell
    Quote Originally Posted by Beginner
    thanks for the post, i just burned an .iso of the full version of ubcd 3.4, does this have a utility to do this? i looked at the program list but i can't make any sense of it. also, i haven't used the cd yet. i was doing a search on hdd wiping and it came up. i d/l'd--->burned it just for safe keeping.

    UBCD is very useful but it is not a linux boot disk like knoppix.

    For those that do not know of UBCD check out: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

    For knoppix check out: http://www.knoppix.com
    Hello:sn:

  19. #19
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr3@k3r
    ok i purchased a seagate barracuda 400gb hdd + usb enclosure for backup of all my files and did a fresh format of all my drives.

    well last night the damn thing decided it wasnt gonna boot after just working 5 minutes earlier.

    for some stupid freaking reason it will act like its spinning up and than stop and start to try to spin up again.

    im really ****ed off because i no longer have any of the files from the past 2 years... including almost 30,000 personal pictures and files. Not to mention all my business contacts.

    well i turned off the drive for the night, threw it in the freezer trick, that didnt work still doing the same thing. Threw it in another pc, same thing. also tried it in my own pc, same thing. The damn thing gets extremely hot while tryin to boot up.

    akldfjaskdjfasl;kfjasl;djfkl;djfal;skdjfasjfa

    i think im gonna cry cause i dont know wtf to do.
    I had bad luck with Seagate, too, but not 3 strikes for Seagate yet.

    The problem wasn't as bad as the problem you have.

    I purchased a Seagate Barracuda 80 GB UDMA 100 PATA HDD on May 14, 2005.

    It was emitting squeaks when there's a lot of seeking. Not only that, in late May, 2005 or early June, 2005, ActiveSMART, which is a SMART monitoring utility, projected HDD failure as early as June, 2005!

    Thus I returned the HDD on June 2, 2005!

    I'm not gonna tolerate a new HDD with a bad SMART status!

    Luckly, there wasn't any bad sectors when Windows 2000 Pro was installed on it. Also, Windows 2000 Pro didn't have any disk errors.

    The model is ST380013A.

    That HDD's the one I'm p***** about in my sig.
    Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 03-21-06 at 04:22 PM.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  20. #20
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kendan
    My info is still very relevant.
    yeah sorry bout that just a little edgy..


    anyways

    all my files are recovered and contacting seagate for rma as we speak.
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •