Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    tricknasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles

    Exclamation Maximum Safe temperature for AMD Opteron 180?

    My computer is in my sig, i run it 24/7 and my room gets pretty damn hot with summer around the corner. idle sticks at around 54C. when im playing bf2 it hits 60-61.

    I just used SP2004 and ran 2 at the same time, because of my dual core. my temps rocketed to 65, then hit 66 and thats when i shut the programs down. I had a ton of fans going on it and tried to keep it as cool as i could. I plan on keeping this cpu for hopefully 2 years.
    Am i going to pwn this processor by running 66 C full load or more?
    i7 970 IFX-14 hsf
    Lian-Li PC-7077B/EVGA 3X Classified
    6gb OCZ/120gb OCZ SSD/ HD 6970
    30" Dell /1250W Coolermaster PSU/Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers

  2. #2
    Member dropadrop's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Finland
    There is an application which will tell you the thermal limit of your cpu (as set by AMD). It varies from one processor to the next. Personally I'm not comfortable with temps going alot over 60 when I run two instances of Prime95 (affinity set per core).

  3. #3
    Member ]-[itman's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    That would be way too hot for me. I personally set my goals at 50C or preferably less, though many will be comfortable with mid 50's. I don't think very many at all would be comfortable with those temps though. If you need help getting temps down, plenty of ppl around to help.
    Hungry college student, will fold for food!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Yes, I agree with ]-[itman. 60 degrees in a dual core CPU is very high and at the price of a 180 I would not be risking it. Even my 144, which can handle higher temps, is set in my bios to shut down at 60 degrees.

  5. #5
    Member dropadrop's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Finland
    I don't think this is really a matter of taste. As far as I've understood, the max case temp for opterons is generally 69-70C. I'm fairly sure AMD won't release specifics like this if there is a possibility it will kill the processor...

    The key is ofcourse generating so much heat while testing, that you know temps will NEVER go higher.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    In the first place, the maximum case temp on a 180 is 65 degrees. Secondly, it is not a good idea to operate a CPU for an extended time near that temp. See AMD for documentaion of max temps here.
    http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/opte...n=OSA180DAA6CD

  7. #7
    Member dropadrop's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Finland
    But the question is not about operating it for a long time near that frequency. The way I have done (which people find scary...) is to generate as much heat as possiible (dual prime for me as I don't game, otherwise I'd add 3dmark on top of the primes), and see how high the temps go.

    In my case temps reach 60 under full load (9*250 with 1.2vcore). Ofcourse normally I don't have any load, and my processor is at 4*250 (with 1.1vcore if I remember correctly).

    The point being, I know how hot my rig goes, and it will never pass the guide value set by Amd.

    Ofcourse the guy who started this thread has had a differant approach, as he has just tested with some game. I find that to be very hazardous, as he is probably still up to 10C lower then the max temp his system could reach.

    So my advice would be to run two instances of prime95 and 3dmark for a while and see how high temps go. I would also advice backing down on your overclock BEFORE starting the test since temps will probably rise higher then you had them before. Make sure there is no way to pass the highest specified temp for your processor (65C in this case) and leave it at that.

    I would love to run my processor higher then 2.25GHZ (it hit's 2.6 at stock vcore), but I have to make a choice between loud cooling or slow speeds.

  8. #8
    Member InfiniteThought's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Davis, CA
    60C seems way hot to me. What temperature is your ambient?

    I suspect something is either wrong with your cooling or wrong with the temperature sensor.

    My CPU never goes above 42C.

  9. #9
    Member perithimus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Lynnwood, wa
    what voltage are you running it at? I see you got a big typhoon. That thing should be cooling your chip pretty well.
    Intel i5 2500k cooled by a Corsair H80i
    MSI z77a-G45
    8gb gskill rippers DDR3 1600
    PNY GTX670 2gb
    60gb ocx vertex 2 ssd
    640gb wd sata
    Auzentech Xi fi forte sound card
    Corsair AX850 PSU

    Heat...http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=30929

  10. #10
    Member dropadrop's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Finland
    I still don't find it strange at all.. I have a big typhoon and my processor runs hot... (though I have a silent computer)

  11. #11
    tricknasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    yea i turned my cpu clock down to 2.5 ghz and i still get temps that hit 60+ under load. I think im gonna water cool it or try to find a good looking chiller, i want to have it clocked high, but the big typhoon just wont do it.
    i7 970 IFX-14 hsf
    Lian-Li PC-7077B/EVGA 3X Classified
    6gb OCZ/120gb OCZ SSD/ HD 6970
    30" Dell /1250W Coolermaster PSU/Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers

  12. #12
    Member vixro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Heatware Profile
    It's possible you just didn't seat the heatsink very well or apply the thermalpaste correctly.
    Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
    G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
    ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
    Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
    Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
    - Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
    Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
    heatware

  13. #13
    Member bobthemoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    wow. you need a new heatsink and fan, bigtime. dont mean to rub it in, but i managed to get 25C with my 4000 with the fx-60 im on atm it idles at 52C and gets to like 55C at load
    E6850
    2GB DDR2 Crucial RAM
    Maxtor 200GB HD x2, Samsung 80GB HD
    PNY 8800GTS 640Mb
    Seasonic S-12 600w PSU


    And my baby (Macbook)

  14. #14
    Member ziggo0's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    La Porte, Indiana
    Quote Originally Posted by vixro
    It's possible you just didn't seat the heatsink very well or apply the thermalpaste correctly.
    You should definitly try to reseat this HSF. I don't think its on there, even for a stock heatsink that is extremely high.

  15. #15
    Member bldegle2's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Floyd, VA
    agreed, proper heatsink attachment is paramount with the Big Typhoon.....

    when you elevate the case to upright, the force of the heatsink weight w/fannage, if not properly attached flat and very snug, will cause slight improper contact and higher temps.

    reattach the heatsink, double check the thermal compound, and pay particular attention to have equal tension on both screwdowns.

    i think you will find a dramatic drop in temps when done right.

    i am using one now, idling @23/24*c, it climbs to around 30*c when it gets into the heat of the day......

    baldy
    smoke and mirrors, but of course.

    AsRock 970 Extreme4, 1090T BE @4.31gig, 16gig Gskill Ripjaws X DDR3 1866, 2 x 4770's xfire, pelt chilled water setup...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •