Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Win XP F4 error

  1. #1
    Member Flip-Mode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beer Sheva, Israel

    Win XP F4 error

    I'm getting a BSOD with STOP F4 error code on my dads machine, its not constant.
    If I boot into safe mode and then reboot it works fine, sometimes it will boot in regular mode straight in.
    I tried to switch memory and it didn't help.
    Any advice?
    Last edited by Flip-Mode; 04-27-06 at 02:53 PM.
    Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]

  2. #2
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    As in STOP 0xF4? Blue screen?
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | ATP, EMB-120, EMB-145, EMB-170/-190, M-202/-404
    On indefinite hiatus from OCF; I am reachable via AIM most of the time, though.
    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Mac Mini (much computrons), MacBook Air (slightly less computrons), Embraer EMB-175 (such thrust, wow)

  3. #3
    Member Flip-Mode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Newbie
    As in STOP 0xF4? Blue screen?
    Yeah, sorry I thought it was obvious. I'll edit the first post.
    Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    The following MSKB article may or may not apply to your Dad's situation...

    Connecting a hard disk drive in slave only mode leads to system halt during resume from standby
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;330100

    ... and you may also want to check out Captain Newbie's Stop Error sticky at the top of this forum:

    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...highlight=0xf4

  5. #5
    Member Flip-Mode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    Quote Originally Posted by redduc900
    The following MSKB article may or may not apply to your Dad's situation...

    Connecting a hard disk drive in slave only mode leads to system halt during resume from standby
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;330100

    ... and you may also want to check out Captain Newbie's Stop Error sticky at the top of this forum:

    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...highlight=0xf4
    Thanks, I'll check the HD.
    Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •