Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Win XP F4 error

  1. #1
    Member Flip-Mode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    Posts
    3,727

    Win XP F4 error

    I'm getting a BSOD with STOP F4 error code on my dads machine, its not constant.
    If I boot into safe mode and then reboot it works fine, sometimes it will boot in regular mode straight in.
    I tried to switch memory and it didn't help.
    Any advice?
    Last edited by Flip-Mode; 04-27-06 at 02:53 PM.
    Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]

  2. #2
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Posts
    4,933
    As in STOP 0xF4? Blue screen?
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  3. #3
    Member Flip-Mode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    Posts
    3,727
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Newbie
    As in STOP 0xF4? Blue screen?
    Yeah, sorry I thought it was obvious. I'll edit the first post.
    Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,749
    The following MSKB article may or may not apply to your Dad's situation...

    Connecting a hard disk drive in slave only mode leads to system halt during resume from standby
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;330100

    ... and you may also want to check out Captain Newbie's Stop Error sticky at the top of this forum:

    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...highlight=0xf4

  5. #5
    Member Flip-Mode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    Posts
    3,727
    Quote Originally Posted by redduc900
    The following MSKB article may or may not apply to your Dad's situation...

    Connecting a hard disk drive in slave only mode leads to system halt during resume from standby
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;330100

    ... and you may also want to check out Captain Newbie's Stop Error sticky at the top of this forum:

    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...highlight=0xf4
    Thanks, I'll check the HD.
    Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •