Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered RevelatorHarmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Somewhere between a temporal singularity and eternity

    been lurking a while (and gone too) but I have a new idea...

    Ok, this may sound crazy, but has anyone ever tried building a completely wireless system, and by completely wireless I mean hard drives, media drives, power supply, etc.

    I don't necessarily mean broadcast, but I wonder how hard it would be to use a circuit board and etch the power grid onto it, then solder connectors on that grid where the devices connect, forming a power distribution grid on a single board that handled all of the power for the system.

    I'll try to draw up some concept images soon, wanted to throw the idea out there, anyone ever thought of doing this?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    I can see walmart, 44906
    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=415432

    not exactly the same, but closest i know of anything like it.
    Student of Electronic Engineering as of September 20, 2010

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB, Canada
    Sounds Interesting Idea, I have myself never seen it done, but I suppose with alot of know how..

    The only thing is, It's somewhat impossible to have it fully wireless since every piece will need power...
    So you will need power running to all of these..
    I suppose batteries would be a possibility, but that would not be very useful or practical...
    The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
    - Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Member Knacko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Not here
    With a single power suppy, it wouldn't be much of a grid and with everything being soldered, changing something out would be more difficult. It may work better with multiple servers and multiple power sources where uptime must be 100%.

    Also, running all the signal connections wirelessly would give much lower transfer rates as well as the extra energy needs.
    [Gigabyte DS3 MB]
    [
    Intel e6420 @ 3.52GHz]
    [
    2GB Mushkin XP2-8500]
    [
    eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 711/1037]
    [
    WD 36GB Raptor]
    [
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB x 2]
    [
    Corsair HX-520 PSU]
    [
    Mounted inside a bookcase
    ]

  5. #5
    Registered RevelatorHarmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Somewhere between a temporal singularity and eternity
    I think some misunderstood what I meant, maybe I wasn't clear enough, here is a pic



    you see, I mean to replace the wires with PCB, I think I know a place I can get it printed and drilled at (guess I could do it myself) and I would have to make a custom case, has anyone ever tried this before?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    I can see walmart, 44906
    far as i can tell you'd be a first.

    you CAN make pcbs bend 90* like, ifyou make a slot in one for the other to fit into, and have the solder pads lined up right, just put a bit of solder there to hold it. or use pin headers and it would be more sturdy.
    Student of Electronic Engineering as of September 20, 2010

  7. #7
    Registered RevelatorHarmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Somewhere between a temporal singularity and eternity
    First hugh? well, guess I'm off to find enough PCB and method of printing/drilling, I'll keep updated.

  8. #8
    Member Knacko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Not here
    Full details of printing/etching:

    http://www.robotroom.com/PCB.html
    [Gigabyte DS3 MB]
    [
    Intel e6420 @ 3.52GHz]
    [
    2GB Mushkin XP2-8500]
    [
    eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 711/1037]
    [
    WD 36GB Raptor]
    [
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB x 2]
    [
    Corsair HX-520 PSU]
    [
    Mounted inside a bookcase
    ]

  9. #9
    Member Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Deadford OR
    you know if you could make the power wireless too you could make a ton of money
    Phenom II "X6 1605T" @ 3.00Ghz
    Sythe Yasa 6 Pipe Cooler
    Biostar TA890FXE
    16Gig G.SKILL Ripjaws 9-9-9-25 2T 667Mhz
    MSI R7870 TwinFrozr 2GD5/OC
    Seagate 320Gig 7200.11
    Seagate 1024Gig 7200.14
    OCZ Stealth X Stream 600
    LG LightScribe DVD Burner

  10. #10
    Member cyberey66's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VA, USA
    Quote Originally Posted by Niku-Sama
    you know if you could make the power wireless too you could make a ton of money
    Well, google em induction and maybe Tesla and his ionasphere (spelling), technically its possible, and it's going on in your PSU right now in the transformers. Technically he could get power 'wirelessly' through having inductors on both boards, but you'd have to go to AC, and back to DC, and thats not what he wants anyways, but it would be cool. Someone made a wireless batteryless mouse using this idea, a giant induction in his mouse pad, and one in the mouse.

    You're idea seems possible, and probably a good idea for small purpose built computers. I haven't seen it done before, but the complexity is something someone could do on their own and have the boards made for not to much money. My only concern would be interference with data lines. Cool idea.

    University of Virginia Engineering - Go HOOS!

    Desktop: Asus M3N78-pro - Phenom II x4 @ 3.6GHz - 8 GB OCZ HPC - Dell 2408WFP
    Mobile: ThinkPad W500 w/ WUXGA screen
    all running Debian :-)

  11. #11
    Registered RevelatorHarmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Somewhere between a temporal singularity and eternity
    Yea, I'm not doing this to make money, I mod for the same reason George Mallory climbed Everest, "because it's there"

    I don't want to use broadcast for the power supply, I am too worried about EM interference with the hard drives and dvd drives and video cards and processors and... you get the idea. the only way I see to do that would be to build a faraday cage around the entire setup, and you would have to have all of the components outside of the cage to even utilize it.

    I am planning at the moment for the circuit board design, actually heading out to regal plastics in a few minutes to take a look at their cutoff pile and get some case design parts. found some places on the internet that will print and drill my board for me if I supply a CAD program, and it is looking like it will only cost about $30 to get this done, next step is going to synergy datacom and hoping they have the connectors I need, otherwise I will be forced to de-solder them from other MOBO's, and friend, that don't sound fun.

    hehe, well, off to the stores, guess if I am going to do this I need to start designing that board, I'll need to know which mobo and parts I'll use because they are all different, and I need to start a project log, so much to do, and I can only move so fast! Arg, my kingdom for an extra set of hands!!




    sorry, I'm fine now...

  12. #12
    Member cyberey66's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VA, USA
    Quote Originally Posted by RevelatorHarmon
    Yea, I'm not doing this to make money, I mod for the same reason George Mallory climbed Everest, "because it's there"

    I don't want to use broadcast for the power supply, I am too worried about EM interference with the hard drives and dvd drives and video cards and processors and... you get the idea. the only way I see to do that would be to build a faraday cage around the entire setup, and you would have to have all of the components outside of the cage to even utilize it.

    I am planning at the moment for the circuit board design, actually heading out to regal plastics in a few minutes to take a look at their cutoff pile and get some case design parts. found some places on the internet that will print and drill my board for me if I supply a CAD program, and it is looking like it will only cost about $30 to get this done, next step is going to synergy datacom and hoping they have the connectors I need, otherwise I will be forced to de-solder them from other MOBO's, and friend, that don't sound fun.

    hehe, well, off to the stores, guess if I am going to do this I need to start designing that board, I'll need to know which mobo and parts I'll use because they are all different, and I need to start a project log, so much to do, and I can only move so fast! Arg, my kingdom for an extra set of hands!!




    sorry, I'm fine now...
    For parts, check out www.digikey.com, www.jameco.com, and this last site is a stretch as they have random parts, but they are dirt cheap, www.goldmine-elec.com.

    University of Virginia Engineering - Go HOOS!

    Desktop: Asus M3N78-pro - Phenom II x4 @ 3.6GHz - 8 GB OCZ HPC - Dell 2408WFP
    Mobile: ThinkPad W500 w/ WUXGA screen
    all running Debian :-)

  13. #13
    Helpful Senior Member Captain Slug's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Asteroid B-612
    www.mouser.com also has 80% of the connectors you need.I have a full part inventory list for my circuitboard so if you need to find a certain PC type connector I can give you the part number for it.

    My circuit board is ready to be made, but i want to finish making the case first. I don't specifically see the point in replacing something variable with something rigid and unadaptable but good luck.
    ||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||

  14. #14
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Author Profile Heatware Profile
    Airflow outta be interesting in that case.

    Interference wouldnt be much of an issue.


    Theoretically you could achieve the maximum possible throughput though.
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  15. #15
    Registered RevelatorHarmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Somewhere between a temporal singularity and eternity
    Whew! What started out as a minor glitch escalated into a system debilitating problem that, through a series of blunders on my part (stupid .NET framework) took my main system down for a week, everything is back up and running now, I hate drivers in win XP, without SP2 installed none of my systems drivers would install, and once I got that burned onto a disk and installed it my network card would not take it's driver, I spent TWO days trying to get the stupid thing to work, then I call up my buddy Daniel, first thing out of his mouth "did you try swapping out the network card with one you knew worked?" at that point I nearly dropped the phone I had busted out laughing at my own short sightedness, popped in new card, XP installed it in seconds, I was online, got to windows update to finish updating windows, and lo-and-behold I had been trying to install THE WRONG DRIVER for my network card for TWO DAYS!!! Thatís what I get for trusting the Mobo manufactures website to list the correct drivers for download... I felt really stupid after that... but I'm okay now.

    so, back to the project.


    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Slug
    www.mouser.com also has 80% of the connectors you need.I have a full part inventory list for my circuitboard so if you need to find a certain PC type connector I can give you the part number for it.

    My circuit board is ready to be made, but i want to finish making the case first. I don't specifically see the point in replacing something variable with something rigid and unadaptable but good luck.

    Well, it is more of the challenge and experimental value than it is for the mobility, if you don't mind, could you point me to the thread with the circuit board you mentioned? I would very much like to see any preliminarily designs you have (I have always admired your work).

    The part numbers I need I quickly realized that I could not get off of the motherboard; the motherboard doesn't have the right connectors, heh.
    What I am searching for is:
    40pin female IDE HDD through board mount connectors
    34pin female floppy drive through board mount connectors
    (Both of these the connectors on the ribbon cables, but made to solder onto a board)
    I have the current mouser catalog and have found the power connectors that I need with the exception of the female board mount power connector for an ATX power supply
    Any help you could give in this area would be most appreciated.


    Quote Originally Posted by Adragontattoo
    Airflow outta be interesting in that case.

    Interference wouldnt be much of an issue.


    Theoretically you could achieve the maximum possible throughput though.

    yes, that is what I am going for, performance gain was one of the biggest perks of this idea for me, of course airflow was a nice gain as well completely unrestricted air flow...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •