Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005

    Where to find a PSU type plug for my pump

    Just bought a pump and it doesnt have a plug on the end. I would like to find something like this:
    http://www.dangerdenstore.com/produc...&cat=51&page=1
    but without all the pump relay crap because I want my pump to run 24-7. So anyone know where i can find just the plug without the relay stuff??

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austin, TX
    I've never seen a premade one without a relay. You could probably rig something yourself with parts from a hardware store; install a socket for an EIA plug in the back of your case or one for something small on a card slot cover. Or just make a hole for the cable to go through and knot it behind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/ty10corfifi.html

    What about one of these. They look interesting but i am not sure what an RFI filter is and the purpose of this thing. If it wasn't an RFI filter thing then this would look like something that would work.

  4. #4
    Member scott d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    I would just run the plug out one of the pci slots, you can probably find a plug at the hardware store, or just cannibalize an extension cord. Since you're never going to turn it off, just plug it directly into your wall or a power strip and leave it.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    I took apart an old dell psu and i was looking at its plug. it has all kinds of capacitors and such but if i took those off and use it you think it would work?

  6. #6
    Member scott d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    wait a sec, do you have an AC or a DC pump? your sig says you have a D4, so you just need to connect it to a molex on your PSU and it'll be on whenever your computer is on. If you want to have it be on when your computer is off, you'll have to get a DC inverter and permanently wire it to that. That's really way too much trouble though, just connect it to a molex and be done with it.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    This is for my new system. I bought a iwaki MD-20RZ, Thermochill 120.3, Storm Rev2.

  8. #8
    Member scott d's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    ok, just wire it up to run off an external plug then. the point of a relay is to turn the pump on w/ the computer, and if you don't want to turn the pump off, then just plug it into the wall.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    I dont want to just run a wire out of my case. I want to make it look clean and have the ability to unplug my pump by pulling the cord out of the back of my computer. Ideally i want to setup some LEDs that tell me when there is power to the pump or not just incase it accidentally gets unpluged. Just an extra safty measure.

  10. #10
    Member tomoracle290's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Isle of Man, uk
    yeh i would not wire out of you case, if you turned ur computer on and forgot to turn the pump that would not be good, and i would say don't use the LEDs use an lcd screen they look cool and you can display what you want on them, just a thaught and they are only about $10

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    As long as you use thermal shut-down forgetting to turn the pump on soulnd't break a thing. Not that I recommend doing it.

  12. #12
    Member SolidxSnake's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by UmHelp
    I dont want to just run a wire out of my case. I want to make it look clean and have the ability to unplug my pump by pulling the cord out of the back of my computer. Ideally i want to setup some LEDs that tell me when there is power to the pump or not just incase it accidentally gets unpluged. Just an extra safty measure.

    Buy a male->pin 3-prong jack (or take out one from an old PSU), drill a hole in your case, mount the jack. Then, cut the male plug from the pump, and solder that to the jack. Get a standard power cable, and plug that into the wall/strip. Plug that into your case whenever. Only way to do it. I believe mouser should have those jacks.

    BTW, I'm getting the impression that you want to just plug it straight into the PSU for some reason. That pump NEEDS to be plugged into a 120VAC jack, it can't run off a computer's 12v line.
    When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
    i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
    Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
    Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224


  13. #13
    Skulltrail Junkie Sneaky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Lian Li PC-75B Corsair Professional Series AX850
    2x Intel Xeon E5420 @ 3.0GHz (400x7.5) Intel D5400XS Skulltrail
    8GB (4x2GB) A-Data DDR2-800 FB-DIMM ECC (1:1 @ 400MHz)
    MSI Radeon HD4870 1GB Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
    2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB (RAID 0) + 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB
    2x EK Supreme HF CPU EK S-MAX NB EK VGA Supreme GPU Blastflow Tidal SB
    Thermochill PA120.3 Swiftech MCRes-Micro Laing D5 w/ Bitspower Top

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Heatware http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=34593

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    No, I dont want to connect the pump directly to the PSU i want to cut a hole right above my psu with the same type of plug. It would look like there are two power plugs going into the computer.

    #J2 looks exactly like what I want. I was just going to use the plug from an old PSU (I mean cut it out of the PSU maybe thats where some of hte confusion was) but there are all kinds of capacitors and resistors soldered on and it would be a bit of work getting them all off so i might just grab one from that site.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    I just got unlazy and chopped up my old PSU and cut out the female connector.

    PIC HERE

  16. #16
    Member SolidxSnake's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by UmHelp
    I just got unlazy and chopped up my old PSU and cut out the female connector.

    PIC HERE

    There ya go!
    When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
    i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
    Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
    Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •