Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered Slawek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006

    Overclocking a BFG 7800 GT OC

    I have a BFG 7800 GT OC. I just overclocked my cpu to 4ghz so I figure why not do the video card too.

    I enable cool bits, and i hit detect optimal settings. It picks 490 mhz and 1.18ghz for the memory. So after trying these settings I See artifacting, so I drop it down to 475 & 1.15.

    Do you guys think this is a safe overclock? Can it be possible that I'm causing worse performance by doing this? I have the stock cooler and stuff... at these speeds 3dmark06 gives me SM2.0 of 1728, and HDR/SM3.0 of 1701.

    Card specs:
    BFG GeForce™ 7800 GT OC™ 256MB
    >> PCI Express™
    >> Memory 256MB GDDR3
    >> Core Clock 425MHz (vs. 400MHz standard)
    >> Memory Clock 1050MHz (vs. 1000MHz standard)
    >> RAMDAC Dual 400MHz
    >> Microsoft® DirectX® 9.0 and lower, OpenGL 2.0 and lower for
    Microsoft® Windows®
    >> Connectors: Dual DVI-I, HDTV, VIVO
    >> 850 million vertices/sec.
    >> 33.6GB/second memory bandwidth

    Last edited by Slawek; 06-22-06 at 10:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Member jivetrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lake Village, IN 46349
    I'd say that if at 475 & 1.15 it's giving better performance that stock..then why not? And yes, you can decrease performance if you OC too much. It'll run, but it runs at lower speed to make up for errors caused by OC.

    What I like to do is to run ATITools artifact checker dealie. use Coolbits and autodetect. And then check with ATI tool again. You can just tell fromt he 3D screen if you are OCing too high because the FPS will drop. In my case they went from like a 650 average down to around 300.
    So I'd find the highest OC that I can do without it slowing down the FPS there and then do an articat test (I only ran it for like 5 minutes, the cards heat up pretty quick, so they'll get to the max temp within a minute)
    PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

    2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

    [--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

    "With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/

  3. #3
    Registered Slawek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Yeah but I have an nVidia card

  4. #4
    Member kbtat2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    The artifact detector in ATI Tool works for Nvidia cards as well.
    CPU: i7 930 @ 4.05 Ghz
    MB: Gigabyte X58-USB3
    Ram: GSkill DDR3-1333 3 x 2 Gb
    Video: MSI Cyclone GTX 460
    Sound: Audigy X-Fi Extreme Music
    Cooling: Modded MCP350, Swiftech Apogee GT CPU Block,
    MCR220 Rad, 2 x Panaflo 120mm High CFM fan
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750

    HEAT

  5. #5
    Member jivetrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lake Village, IN 46349
    Quote Originally Posted by Slawek
    Yeah but I have an nVidia card
    So do I 2 actually. You can still use ATI Tools artifact tester...just cannot use the overclocking stuff.
    PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

    2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

    [--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

    "With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •