Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    California

    Home Network Difficulties

    Right now I have a home network with 2 computers connected wirelessly and then my personal computer wired to the router. All computer's currently have an internet connection. The problem is that only 1 of my wireless computers refuses to be seen in my network places on both of the other computers. The computer that cannot be seen on the other hand, can see and interact with my other 2 computers. I have tired turning off all firewalls and still this issue persists even after running the network setup wizard multiple times. The only time I can see that the computer is there is when I view workgroup computers, but when I click on the computer I tells me I do not have access to the computer . Is there another way to configure my network without using the network setup wizard, or is there someway I can get this computer to be seen? Any help would be greatly appreiciated.

  2. #2
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Go to Start > Run > Type services.msc and hit ok. Make sure the Computer Browser and Server service is running. Make sure every PC has these 2 services turned on. Also, if you don't have something shared, the other computers wont see the computer. If you do have something shared and you get a username/password prompt, that means you need to enter the username/password of someone who has access to that share.
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    California
    Those services are running on all computers, and I never get a password prompt, instead I get a access denied message.

  4. #4
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Quote Originally Posted by babygrinder
    Those services are running on all computers, and I never get a password prompt, instead I get a access denied message.
    Then your shares are configured incorrectly. Try setting the share permissions as full control to everyone and then lock down security permissions. Security (ntfs) permissions always take precedence over share permissions which is why it's easier to just make share permissioins full control and then locking it down in the security tab. To access the security permissions (the way win2k was), you have to disable simple file sharing by going to a folder > tools > folder options > scroll all the way to the bottom and disabling simple file sharing. This will bring back the security tab. From the security tab, grant access to the username of the username who is going to be connecting. Typically, you want the same username's on all machine's in the workgroup. If you don't want to do it like that, you don't have to. You'll just be prompted for a username of someone who has access to that share instead.

    Good luck. Let us know what happens.
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    California
    So I tried reseting the share settings(not sure if I did it correctly) but still nothing is working. My computer and the one other computer can interact flawlessly, yet the problem computer can see my other 2 computers but gets invalid network path messages. So I'm pretty sure the problem lies with only this one computer. All computers are running win xp w/ sp2. The problem computer did have a nasty spywear/malwear infection previously which I think may have caused the problem. This is really an issue because I have all my backed-up files on this computer.

  6. #6
    Member WeaponX6X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UT
    bump, I have the same problem. I have two computers...one running Windows XP SP2, another running Windows XP x64. I also have an Xbox with XBMC. The x64 computer can see the Xbox and XP computer but no one can see the x64 computer.

    I've already checked all the basics...

    Anyone have any ideas for us?
    Acer Ferrari 4006WLMi
    15.4" WSXGA+
    2.2GHz Turion 64
    1024 MB RAM
    120GB HD
    Radeon Mobility X700
    Carbon Fiber Chassis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •