Page 99 of 100 FirstFirst ... 49 89 98 99 100 LastLast
Results 1,961 to 1,980 of 1987
  1. #1961
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by fritzman View Post
    Hiya bud.

    Having run a few different types of Matrix Raid now, and also run Windows Home Server... I would recommend having a bit of a read about the latter.

    I know nothing about Linux and didn't really find the sort of 'file-serving' function in any of the XP/Vista/W7 builds I did, so looked at WHS, and now recommend it for both backing up and media serving in a home network environment. As an aside... it actually makes a lot of sense in some small business situations as you can do bare-metal rebuilds from the backups on the WHS.

    In short... it will take any drives you give it and simply bundle them all up together as a storage drive. Within that, you can tell it to store everything in two places, so that if a drive fails, it's still safe in another place. You can also do that with the media that you have in place to share across the network.

    I've been running one for several months now and really like it. I'm still learning the 'best' way to have everything, but it is pretty straightforward. I still have backed up individual users data to their own folders, but in reality, it could all simply be on their main PC's and backed up in the usual WHS manner... I just wanted a good start-point of having all the data saved in one central place.

    On the other hand... if you do want to set things up using another O/S in a matrix array... I'd be seriously thinking about running a Raid5/Raid5 setup, as O/S speed will not be an issue for what you are doing. That way, if a drive drops its breakfast, the others simply carry on until you replace the stuffed drive, rebuild the new one when introduced (automatically) and carry on. Raid0/Raid5 on the other hand will simply not work when a drive does that, and rebuilding your Raid0 part will potentially give you a bit of grief, and leave your system down until the drive gets replaced and the Raid0 part rebuilt.

    If you still want the questions you've listed answered... come back with them again, but in short...
    1. If your Raid5 drops a drive, simply replacing the troubled drive as I said, is really simple... the O/S takes care of it all by itself.
    2. You want the O/S part slightly larger than you need, as changing it later could cause you some grief (another advantage of WHS... it just takes whatever it needs).
    3. O/S... I believe WHS to be the simplest and best for the role you've described, and haven't found other MS O/S's to do the job as well.
    4. This is where you do need to experiment a bit with the Matrix... in general, defaults work jst fine, but for those using mainly large files (so not MP3's or the like) then larger sizes can provide a slight advantage in speed.

    Hope that helps put you on the right path... "Which pill will you choose?" comes to mind.
    Hey mate thanks for getting back to me.

    I've definately thought about WHS, though I probably need to do a little more research.

    Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe WHS works via software raid?

    I guess the main reason I was thinking Matrix Raid is because I'm planning this build to be quite portable, so I can take it with me when I have a Lan with mates etc.. and I can get really quick read/write speeds when sharing movies etc..

    So could I still set up a matrix raid then use WHS as my OS or will this not work?

    Cheers

    Sam
    Gaming Rig: EVGA GTX260 SC core216 55nm @ 750/1500/1200, E8400 @4.0 with OCZ Vendetta 2, P5Q Pro, 2x2gb Corsair 800Mhz, 150gb Vraptor, Corsair HX620, Thermaltake Armor MX+

  2. #1962
    Member fritzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Tauranga - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,849
    No worries Sam.

    Re this...

    Quote Originally Posted by swan14 View Post
    Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe WHS works via software raid?

    So could I still set up a matrix raid then use WHS as my OS or will this not work?
    WHS used it's own type of software kinda raid, so NO... you can't use Raid+WHS.

    I guess another advantage of WHS is (if you have a problem) you can still read the data off the drives in another machine if you have to Vs Raid5 where you cannot.

    As for speed of access... not sure, but definitely worth checking/researching.
    Office Rig : Asrock Extreme 6, 4790k @ 4.7Ghz/1.225v, H100, 4 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, Samsung XP941 512Gb M.2, Win8.1 Pro 64-bit, NZXT case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
    WHS : Norco 20-bay case, HX1000, Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Intel 120Gb mSata running Win8.1 Pro, 2 x LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6 and a bunch or random drives.

  3. #1963
    Member MoreGooder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO USA
    Posts
    996
    I'm interested in short stroking two Samsung F3's
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152185
    for a Raid 0 boot partition. Searching OCF didn't yield any results. Has anyone tried this yet?
    Sometimes I feel like 2/3'rds Rice Krispies. Past "Snap" and "Crackle" but just shy of "Pop"!

    DFI LANParty LT X38-T2R, E6750 at 3.6 GHz +Swifty Apogee GTX, EVGA 260 216 FTW + Swifty MCW60
    8Gb G.Skill PC2 8500 @2.1V, Vista 64, SILVERSTONE ST85F ATX12V / EPS12V 850W Power Supply,
    Lian-Li 343B case :up: with Single watercooling loop:
    Thermochill 120.3 to cool CPU and NB
    Thermochill 120.2 to cool GPU
    DDR3.2 + Petras top for above pumps.
    NEC 20WMGX2 Widescreen LCD <--- roxors!

  4. #1964
    Member fritzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Tauranga - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,849
    Quote Originally Posted by MoreGooder View Post
    I'm interested in short stroking two Samsung F3's
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152185
    for a Raid 0 boot partition. Searching OCF didn't yield any results. Has anyone tried this yet?
    This http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...ht=shortstroke might be about as close as you get... 2 in raid0, but no shortstroking.

    Be sure to post your results please.
    Office Rig : Asrock Extreme 6, 4790k @ 4.7Ghz/1.225v, H100, 4 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, Samsung XP941 512Gb M.2, Win8.1 Pro 64-bit, NZXT case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
    WHS : Norco 20-bay case, HX1000, Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Intel 120Gb mSata running Win8.1 Pro, 2 x LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6 and a bunch or random drives.

  5. #1965
    Vesuvius Senior Ocer The Doors's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    2,000
    Sorry guys,
    could someone help me to figure out why I'm not able to resize a Raid Matrix setup where I deleted the Raid0 part? I'm using IRSP and is avalable that options, but I'm getting an unknon error when I try to perform that operation...

    Thanx,
    Adriano
    i7-920 @ 3.57Ghz 1.28v
    Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4 F10
    6Gb Walton Chaintech 1600Mhz 7-7-7-18-1T
    Noctua NH-U12P Push/Pull
    Radeon HD4850 512Mb @ 700/1150Mhz MUSASHI cooled
    2 Intel X25-V 40Gb in Raid0
    2 Barracuda 500Gb in Raid1 + Maxtor 320Gb
    SilverStone OP-1KW
    U2-UFO Case cooled by ~750Cfm!
    W7 Ultimate 64Bit

  6. #1966
    Member fritzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Tauranga - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,849
    Quote Originally Posted by The Doors View Post
    Sorry guys,
    could someone help me to figure out why I'm not able to resize a Raid Matrix setup where I deleted the Raid0 part? I'm using IRSP and is avalable that options, but I'm getting an unknon error when I try to perform that operation...

    Thanx,
    Adriano
    Adriano...

    Sorry man... I've been flat out doing work for a while.

    Did you get this sorted?

    If not... can you explain a bit more please what happened and what you are trying to do / recreate?

    Thanks
    Office Rig : Asrock Extreme 6, 4790k @ 4.7Ghz/1.225v, H100, 4 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, Samsung XP941 512Gb M.2, Win8.1 Pro 64-bit, NZXT case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
    WHS : Norco 20-bay case, HX1000, Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Intel 120Gb mSata running Win8.1 Pro, 2 x LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6 and a bunch or random drives.

  7. #1967
    Vesuvius Senior Ocer The Doors's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    2,000
    No probs at all mate, and many thanks for you reply

    I was able to delete then recreate the Raid1 Volume using the Raid Config Utility at startup, where the Intel Rapid Storage Technology (IRST) inside W7 was failing, but I forgot to update the topic, my bad, sorry

    Still many thanks & Respect,
    Adriano
    i7-920 @ 3.57Ghz 1.28v
    Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4 F10
    6Gb Walton Chaintech 1600Mhz 7-7-7-18-1T
    Noctua NH-U12P Push/Pull
    Radeon HD4850 512Mb @ 700/1150Mhz MUSASHI cooled
    2 Intel X25-V 40Gb in Raid0
    2 Barracuda 500Gb in Raid1 + Maxtor 320Gb
    SilverStone OP-1KW
    U2-UFO Case cooled by ~750Cfm!
    W7 Ultimate 64Bit

  8. #1968
    Member fritzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Tauranga - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,849
    Quote Originally Posted by The Doors View Post
    No probs at all mate, and many thanks for you reply

    I was able to delete then recreate the Raid1 Volume using the Raid Config Utility at startup, where the Intel Rapid Storage Technology (IRST) inside W7 was failing, but I forgot to update the topic, my bad, sorry

    Still many thanks & Respect,
    Adriano
    Awesome... that was going to be my advice. Any time I have to any changing or re-creating, I virtually always do it in there.

    B
    Office Rig : Asrock Extreme 6, 4790k @ 4.7Ghz/1.225v, H100, 4 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, Samsung XP941 512Gb M.2, Win8.1 Pro 64-bit, NZXT case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
    WHS : Norco 20-bay case, HX1000, Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Intel 120Gb mSata running Win8.1 Pro, 2 x LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6 and a bunch or random drives.

  9. #1969
    Member catkicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    300
    At one time or another I have read quite a bit of this thread.
    I needed some info/help on a new install. I installed windows 7 64bit. I have 4 250GB seagates. I setup a raid 10 array on the 4 HD's size 80gig. I can create a 2nd volume
    but I'm not sure if I need to go back in to bios to setup the 2nd volume or if I can use the storage manger.
    My thought wast to setup the 2nd volume as a raid 10 also and use it for storage and applications. That would keep the 80gig volume for OS and games.
    I'm not sure of the best way to go about this.

  10. #1970
    Member fritzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Tauranga - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,849
    Quote Originally Posted by catkicker View Post
    At one time or another I have read quite a bit of this thread.
    I needed some info/help on a new install. I installed windows 7 64bit. I have 4 250GB seagates. I setup a raid 10 array on the 4 HD's size 80gig. I can create a 2nd volume
    but I'm not sure if I need to go back in to bios to setup the 2nd volume or if I can use the storage manger.
    My thought wast to setup the 2nd volume as a raid 10 also and use it for storage and applications. That would keep the 80gig volume for OS and games.
    I'm not sure of the best way to go about this.
    You can use either route... just go ahead and create an additional Raid10 array from the free space - probably easier in Windows if you like.. very 'paint by numbers' approach.
    Office Rig : Asrock Extreme 6, 4790k @ 4.7Ghz/1.225v, H100, 4 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, Samsung XP941 512Gb M.2, Win8.1 Pro 64-bit, NZXT case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
    WHS : Norco 20-bay case, HX1000, Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Intel 120Gb mSata running Win8.1 Pro, 2 x LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6 and a bunch or random drives.

  11. #1971
    Member catkicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    300
    Thanks fritzman. Here is what I got with the new rebuild
    specs.
    DFI LP UT P35T2R
    X6800 Conroe
    8800GTX
    GSkill 2GB PC8500
    4xSeagate7200.10 ST3250820A 250GB
    Intel Matrix Raid 10 80GB.

    Last edited by catkicker; 05-10-10 at 10:48 AM.

  12. #1972
    Member fritzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Tauranga - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,849
    That looks fine... the new 2nd R10 drive is performing about the same as the 1st one, but it looks like the 1st one had a bit going on in the background when you benched it.

    I bet they both feel pretty snappy and smooth to use. I still remember the feel of the 6 x drive R10 setups I ran... they were awesome like that.

    I'm still holding out for a special on Intel G2 SSDs so I can get back into some multi-drive action. Amazing how we oh so quickly get used to speed and feel.
    Office Rig : Asrock Extreme 6, 4790k @ 4.7Ghz/1.225v, H100, 4 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, Samsung XP941 512Gb M.2, Win8.1 Pro 64-bit, NZXT case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
    WHS : Norco 20-bay case, HX1000, Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Intel 120Gb mSata running Win8.1 Pro, 2 x LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6 and a bunch or random drives.

  13. #1973
    Super Moderator
    Audioaficionado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Medford, Orygun
    Posts
    11,000
    Quote Originally Posted by fritzman View Post
    I'm still holding out for a special on Intel G2 SSDs so I can get back into some multi-drive action. Amazing how we oh so quickly get used to speed and feel.
    Ditto

    If I had something that was super fast as a single drive, I wouldn't need to futz around with RAID 0 and I could work on a huge redundant array that was also pretty fast.

    Unless you are going to build a light speed xTB RAID 10 or 5 array with those SSDs.
    .....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
    .......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
    Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
    Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
    Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
    Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
    Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

    You have over 101 signatures and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
    Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!

  14. #1974
    Member catkicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    300
    Quote Originally Posted by fritzman View Post
    That looks fine... the new 2nd R10 drive is performing about the same as the 1st one, but it looks like the 1st one had a bit going on in the background when you benched it.

    I bet they both feel pretty snappy and smooth to use. I still remember the feel of the 6 x drive R10 setups I ran... they were awesome like that.
    Feels great, very snappy. Boot times are pretty quick. I setup the second Raid 10 volume using matrix software. LOL simple, simple, stuff.
    Can't remember if i can use windows to do a partition on that 2 raid 10 volume. I would basically have
    C: my 80GB raid 10
    D: my secondary raid 10
    Put a partition on D: and then I would have E: Storage

    one thing that has been messing with me and I've narrowed down to the Matrix software/ raid array is a Kernel-power Critical error, that pretty much renders the computer unresponsive. No hard crash or BSOD. I still have to do a hard restart, then I end up with the array's being fubared and the arrays have to repair themselves.

  15. #1975
    Member fritzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Tauranga - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,849
    Quote Originally Posted by catkicker View Post
    Feels great, very snappy. Boot times are pretty quick. I setup the second Raid 10 volume using matrix software. LOL simple, simple, stuff.
    Can't remember if i can use windows to do a partition on that 2 raid 10 volume. I would basically have
    C: my 80GB raid 10
    D: my secondary raid 10
    Put a partition on D: and then I would have E: Storage

    one thing that has been messing with me and I've narrowed down to the Matrix software/ raid array is a Kernel-power Critical error, that pretty much renders the computer unresponsive. No hard crash or BSOD. I still have to do a hard restart, then I end up with the array's being fubared and the arrays have to repair themselves.
    Good skills...

    That error... I have never seen one like that... does sound like it's happening deep in the bowels of your array though (I hate the word "kernel" in relation to anything to do with computers!)

    I take it you've googled it?

    Failing that... I would give Intel themselves a call, and test their support... they may have improved from the early (Matrix) days, and have some tech support available now.
    Office Rig : Asrock Extreme 6, 4790k @ 4.7Ghz/1.225v, H100, 4 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, Samsung XP941 512Gb M.2, Win8.1 Pro 64-bit, NZXT case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
    WHS : Norco 20-bay case, HX1000, Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Intel 120Gb mSata running Win8.1 Pro, 2 x LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6 and a bunch or random drives.

  16. #1976
    Member catkicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    300
    I went so far as to uninstall matrix software. that's when the critical error stopped
    I've reinstalled it now, and went in to services and set it to manual. see if that solves the problem. I really don't think I need matrix software running 24-7. if I need it I'll open it myself. May just contact intel support and see if they have had any similar instances of the Kernel - Power error.

  17. #1977
    Senior Fold-a-holic
    harlam357's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    @Home... Folding@Home
    Posts
    8,024
    Ok... here I am again, two years later. Here's where I left off.

    I do have the 4xWD6400AAKS setup running. Been running almost since I made that post... and yep, once again I'm running out of space. In fact this array has been hosted on a P35 platform and it may be time to just make a full upgrade to the rig. SO... with all that said. Where do I go now with my RAID setup?

    I'm a fan of WD drives... they've always done well by me. I almost feel that 1TB drives aren't going to be enough of an upgrade in another 4x setup. I'd only be gaining a little over 1TB of usable space vs. my current 4x640GB setup. So I'm thinking I've gotta go w/at least 1.5TB drives.

    Looking at the EVDS vs. EARS. Can anyone shed any real world light on the difference besides cache?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136495

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136513

    ...then there's the Black.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136592

    Heat generation and power consumption is definitely an issue for me as I'm an avid Folding@Home contributor (Audio can vouch for me). So although the black looks nice... I'm not sure it's the best fit. Looks (based on Egg reviews) that most folks are going for the Green line (probably based on price), but they also probably aren't RAID'ing them either.

  18. #1978
    Member fritzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Tauranga - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,849
    Quote Originally Posted by harlam357 View Post
    Ok... here I am again, two years later. Here's where I left off.

    I do have the 4xWD6400AAKS setup running. Been running almost since I made that post... and yep, once again I'm running out of space. In fact this array has been hosted on a P35 platform and it may be time to just make a full upgrade to the rig. SO... with all that said. Where do I go now with my RAID setup?

    I'm a fan of WD drives... they've always done well by me. I almost feel that 1TB drives aren't going to be enough of an upgrade in another 4x setup. I'd only be gaining a little over 1TB of usable space vs. my current 4x640GB setup. So I'm thinking I've gotta go w/at least 1.5TB drives.

    Looking at the EVDS vs. EARS. Can anyone shed any real world light on the difference besides cache?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136495

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136513

    ...then there's the Black.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136592

    Heat generation and power consumption is definitely an issue for me as I'm an avid Folding@Home contributor (Audio can vouch for me). So although the black looks nice... I'm not sure it's the best fit. Looks (based on Egg reviews) that most folks are going for the Green line (probably based on price), but they also probably aren't RAID'ing them either.
    Hey... Welcome Back!

    I don't personally have any experience with those two drives so can't speak for the differences...

    I do understand however, that the Blacks should be kept away from Matrix arrays... iirc, I think it's to do with TLER.

    Given the reliability you're used to and the length of time you are keeping the drives... why not go to Raid Edition drives? I think the W/D ones have 64Mb cache and also have the two read heads like the Blacks, just designed for the purpose.

    Just my 2c

    Hope it helps.
    Office Rig : Asrock Extreme 6, 4790k @ 4.7Ghz/1.225v, H100, 4 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, Samsung XP941 512Gb M.2, Win8.1 Pro 64-bit, NZXT case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
    WHS : Norco 20-bay case, HX1000, Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Intel 120Gb mSata running Win8.1 Pro, 2 x LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6 and a bunch or random drives.

  19. #1979
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Posts
    10,061
    Quote Originally Posted by fritzman View Post
    Hey... Welcome Back!

    I don't personally have any experience with those two drives so can't speak for the differences...

    I do understand however, that the Blacks should be kept away from Matrix arrays... iirc, I think it's to do with TLER.

    Given the reliability you're used to and the length of time you are keeping the drives... why not go to Raid Edition drives? I think the W/D ones have 64Mb cache and also have the two read heads like the Blacks, just designed for the purpose.

    Just my 2c

    Hope it helps.
    I've had two blacks in matrix for almost two years now and haven't had any problems...

    On another note though: I'm eventually going to switch to another motherboard. Is this going to have any effect on my RAID array? Or should it still function as normal?
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  20. #1980
    Member fritzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Tauranga - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,849
    Quote Originally Posted by rainless View Post
    I've had two blacks in matrix for almost two years now and haven't had any problems...

    On another note though: I'm eventually going to switch to another motherboard. Is this going to have any effect on my RAID array? Or should it still function as normal?
    Yeah... I actually ran 4 of them in Raid5 or Raid10 for a similar timeframe and only ever had problems when I was overclocking the hell out of the system., but as I say... they apparently are not recommended.

    Maybe someone who has done the transfer more recently than I can assist, but I'm pretty sure that as the information about the array is actually held on the drive itself... you should be fine.
    Office Rig : Asrock Extreme 6, 4790k @ 4.7Ghz/1.225v, H100, 4 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, Samsung XP941 512Gb M.2, Win8.1 Pro 64-bit, NZXT case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
    WHS : Norco 20-bay case, HX1000, Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Intel 120Gb mSata running Win8.1 Pro, 2 x LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6 and a bunch or random drives.

Page 99 of 100 FirstFirst ... 49 89 98 99 100 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •