Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    MI, USA
    Posts
    327

    Thumbs up A SIMPLE HARD DRIVE SELECTOR:



    1.) The ideal place for the DPDT switch(in my situation) is somewhere in the back of the case where I can easily reach it but not my kids...

    2.) Just make sure that the PC is NOT RUNNING when flipping the switch...In other words, LOG OFF and SHUTDOWN the PC before switching from the current hardrive to the other...

    3.) Don't forget to set the BOOT-UP ORDER in the BIOS.. I placed the TWO MAIN HDDs as 1 & 2 in the boot-up order....

    4.) I'm using both SATA and IDE HDDs- so far no problem for the last 2 weeks..

    5.) My main reason for sharing the idea is that I know A LOT of us are tired of MULTIBOOTING using a single drive/ and getting the Windows installation messed up.. Well, with this setup the 2 OS HDDs are totally independent of each other.. Another advantage is that- only the HDD in use is getting powered...

    6.) UP for sticky..lol ..nah.. just wanna share my ideas...

    Q6600 "GO" @ 3.6 GHz |TR Ultra-120 Extreme | GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L | G.SKILL 4GB DDR2 800 | WD 750GB SATA | WD 500GB SATA | WD 320GB SATA | WD 320GB IDE | OPTIARC 18x DVDRW | LIAN-LI PC65B Case | ENERMAX 550W PSU


    My HEATWARE

  2. #2
    Member SavageBasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Northeast PA
    Posts
    2,311
    and the disadvantage is that you have no way of accessing the other drive. I'll stick with my single os computer with 4 drives.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    MI, USA
    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by SavageBasher
    and the disadvantage is that you have no way of accessing the other drive. I'll stick with my single os computer with 4 drives.
    i believe i posted my reason for making the 2 OS drives totally independent of each other..maybe you should read it again...

    and yes- you can reconfigure and be able to let DAD's OS drive access JUNIOR's drive by using the switch only on DAD's drive and by connecting JUNIOR's drive directly in the power connector from the PSU.. Make DAD's drive as # 1 in boot order and JUNIOR's as #2... JUNIOR will never be able to access DAD's drive unless he is able to access the BIOS and change the bootup order..

    and yes-you can also make your other slave drives turn on together (and only) with the "switched" drive by splicing their power wires directly into the wires of the "switched drive".. USE your imagination.. it can be useful at times..
    Last edited by Jojo1971; 07-23-06 at 08:31 PM.

    Q6600 "GO" @ 3.6 GHz |TR Ultra-120 Extreme | GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L | G.SKILL 4GB DDR2 800 | WD 750GB SATA | WD 500GB SATA | WD 320GB SATA | WD 320GB IDE | OPTIARC 18x DVDRW | LIAN-LI PC65B Case | ENERMAX 550W PSU


    My HEATWARE

  4. #4
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    ummmmm why... i mean its a cool idea... but most mobos now adays have the ability to select which hd or cdrom to boot from first... HECK my discontinued IC7-G has the ability to do that.... and if you mess ur windows install up by installing another os to a different partition then ur just a nub... if you skrew up ur windows install by trying to install a different OS to the same partition well then ur just plain retarded.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  5. #5
    Member Max0r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    941
    Have you been able to design a similar switch for hdd interface, sata and/or pata?

  6. #6
    Member Vipersfate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,045
    Heatware Profile
    I've been looking for this kind of thing for a while. Vote for Sticky! Thanks for sharing the information!
    The Rig: : AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ Stock : Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H : 16GB DDR3 1333 Mushkin : Asus EAH5750-1GB :
    Big Daddy Server : Under Construction :
    The Lappy : Intel Centrino 1.6Ghz : HP DV1217US : 2GB DDR : Intel Extreme Graphics 2 :
    The Server : Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 1MB : Optiplex 280: 1GB DDR2 800 : ATi 3650HD :

  7. #7
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    its a freakin switch that you can pick up and solder up it doesnt take a genius to figure it out and it really has no purpose... sorry to say but its quite lame.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    MI, USA
    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2
    its a freakin switch that you can pick up and solder up it doesnt take a genius to figure it out and it really has no purpose... sorry to say but its quite lame.

    looking at your rig, it looks like you got nothing and you got nothing to lose.. i got alot of important files in my big drives... i have to find a way to protect them while sharing my main PC...

    you may not benefit from it but some other members will... your post doesn't benefit anyone in our forum....pls stop wasting the bandwidth with your LAME comments...

    Q6600 "GO" @ 3.6 GHz |TR Ultra-120 Extreme | GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L | G.SKILL 4GB DDR2 800 | WD 750GB SATA | WD 500GB SATA | WD 320GB SATA | WD 320GB IDE | OPTIARC 18x DVDRW | LIAN-LI PC65B Case | ENERMAX 550W PSU


    My HEATWARE

  9. #9
    Low Profile Senior bing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    3,652
    Heatware Profile
    -

    If Dad's rig is quite powerful, other "soft" approach is using virtualisation such as VMware or MS Virtual PC (fyi, it is totally free as beer now).

    So even Junior's OS or system got screwed, or heavily infected by viruses, spywares or worst zapped the SYSTEM32 folder by accident , just cry out loud and Dad just need to restore the fresh virtualisation image again and again, a lot faster than any OS install or drive image restoration.

    This "at least" to prevent that curious Junior to tinker with that switch while the puter is on since he/she knows that by peeking when Dad did that, and dad didn't aware that they're "innocently" sitting at those corner pretending playing the toys at the floor !

    Never underestimate the power of "curiousity" ! Power spikes during the switching could kills Dad's rig and including the mobo and the Dad's drives too !

    my 2 cents
    Last edited by bing; 07-26-06 at 08:09 AM.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    MI, USA
    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by Max0r
    Have you been able to design a similar switch for hdd interface, sata and/or pata?
    No,but I've seen and owned an PATA selector before though. It was made by ROMTEC (discontinued later)... I've experienced glitches with it (most likely due to poor contacts within the multi-pole relay inside it)... I had to get rid of it when I started using SATA drives ...

    ROMTEC= switches the PATA interfaces; PC has to be turned off before
    switching...

    my idea=switches the power connectors; PC has to be turned
    off before switching...
    Last edited by Jojo1971; 07-26-06 at 08:49 AM.

    Q6600 "GO" @ 3.6 GHz |TR Ultra-120 Extreme | GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L | G.SKILL 4GB DDR2 800 | WD 750GB SATA | WD 500GB SATA | WD 320GB SATA | WD 320GB IDE | OPTIARC 18x DVDRW | LIAN-LI PC65B Case | ENERMAX 550W PSU


    My HEATWARE

  11. #11
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    but i mean its not all that hard to select a hd from the bios and boot from it and make sure ur not gonna write to it but w/e i just see it as a lame idea... oh and BTW i have about 50gb of important business files on my storage hd thats partition with an install of linux...
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  12. #12
    Member SavageBasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Northeast PA
    Posts
    2,311
    If you don't want to kill any other drive, then disconnect them while installing... although unless you manually tell linux to format another drive I don't see how it would touch them. Then once installed it shouldn't touch the other drives unless you tell it to.

  13. #13
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    Quote Originally Posted by SavageBasher
    If you don't want to kill any other drive, then disconnect them while installing... although unless you manually tell linux to format another drive I don't see how it would touch them. Then once installed it shouldn't touch the other drives unless you tell it to.
    ZACTLY!!! thank you savage.

    and if you have 2 ppl using the computer and have 2 different windows installs... why not just get another system to save the hasle.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  14. #14
    Member Max0r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    941
    Quote Originally Posted by Jojo1971
    your post doesn't benefit anyone in our forum....pls stop wasting the bandwidth with your LAME comments...
    TRU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lol.

    Basically the switch is a quick convenient way to do something that will be done MANY TIMES OVER, instead of having to **** with the damn case. It is best to NOT power on the drive for 2 reasons. A) more run time = more wear time, ESPECIALLY IF IT RUNS HOT. B) When the kid uses the comp, who knows what sort of crazy **** they might do that could affect a powered drive EVEN IF THEY CANT ACCESS THE DATA.

    When I was little, I always tinkered with everything via the DOS operating system ever since I learned to read and I ****ED EVERYTHING UP atleast a few times! My dad and his friend have had whole days spent recovering the system because of my antics

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    MI, USA
    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2
    ZACTLY!!! thank you savage.

    and if you have 2 ppl using the computer and have 2 different windows installs... why not just get another system to save the hasle.
    what hassle??... i find using the switch more convenient and less expensive than the suggestions you have given... you're making things complicated and you're also suggesting unnecessary expense...

    WHY MAKE SIMPLE THINGS COMPLICATED? Were you over-educated or UNDER-educated? You have a loose screw somewhere...

    Q6600 "GO" @ 3.6 GHz |TR Ultra-120 Extreme | GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L | G.SKILL 4GB DDR2 800 | WD 750GB SATA | WD 500GB SATA | WD 320GB SATA | WD 320GB IDE | OPTIARC 18x DVDRW | LIAN-LI PC65B Case | ENERMAX 550W PSU


    My HEATWARE

  16. #16
    Inactive Pokémon Moderator JigPu's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    6,576
    OK people, let's all take a deep breath before I have to whip out the Moderator Toolkit™.

    While this probably won't be of use to 90% of the people here, that does not negate it's usefulness to the other 10%. Changing the boot order, manually swapping molex connections, and virtualizing a whole PC all have their own place -- just as this switch does. Don't be discounting it's usefulness just because your situation does not merit it's use

    JigPu
    .... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
    .... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
    2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
    .... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
    .... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
    .... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
    .... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


    "In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
    "GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.

  17. #17
    Member Max0r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    941
    Thank you jiggypoo That avatar of yours masks your true deadliness ... or underscores it

  18. #18
    Disabled flamerail's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Im out of bed, I made it to the keyboard. What more do you want!
    Posts
    1,311
    Quote Originally Posted by JigPu
    OK people, let's all take a deep breath before I have to whip out the Moderator Toolkit™.

    While this probably won't be of use to 90% of the people here, that does not negate it's usefulness to the other 10%. Changing the boot order, manually swapping molex connections, and virtualizing a whole PC all have their own place -- just as this switch does. Don't be discounting it's usefulness just because your situation does not merit it's use

    JigPu

    Well said. Great idea while it may not benifit everyone. Now! FIGURE OUT HOW TO MAKE IT WORK WHILE THE PC IS ON!

  19. #19
    Inactive Pokémon Moderator JigPu's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    6,576
    If it wasn't for the OS drive, it probably wouldn't be too hard SATA supposedly supports hot-plugging, so there shouldn't be a hardware problem with it. XP caching writes would be the biggest obstacle, unless you want to go through the added step of "safely removing" the drive first (ugggg).

    JigPu
    .... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
    .... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
    2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
    .... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
    .... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
    .... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
    .... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


    "In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
    "GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.

  20. #20
    Senior Something Moto7451's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    LA, CA
    Posts
    3,972
    Heres another idea I saw on The Screensavers. Make a circuit that just selects which drive is master and which one is slave by using a switch. That way you can use all your drives and it doesn't have any real effect on the system if you switch it during operation.

    Its essentially a switchable jumper. If you wanted to keep it really simple, just have two DPDTs per HD and configure the jumpers that way.
    Intel C2D e6400 @ 375MHz x8 = 3Ghz 1.328v, Gigabyte EP43-UD3L, 3GB DDR2, GeForce 9600GT, 73GB 15K SCSI HD/Adaptec 29160 SCSI Card, 750GB SATA Drive, 320GB ATA Drive, HDTV Tuner

    D5 Pump • Bonneville w/ AC Heater Core • Gemeni Cooling Maze 4 Style Water Block

    Sager 8690: Core i7 940XM Exreme 2.13GHz (3.2GHz Turbo), 4GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 285M 1GB, 15.6" 1080 LCD, 320GB 7200RPM HD

    Difference Between D5 Revisions + flow mod Difference between NPSM & G1/4

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •