Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Member thaclassikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    289

    Should i get A+ Certified?

    I've been studying lately to take the A+ core hardware/os exam. I want to ask those of you that have experience with it, if its worth getting? Basically i want the A+ certification so i can be qualified for better paying jobs. Please keep in mind that i am still in college so i don't want to waste my money getting the A+ certification, and if i fail the test thats even worst...

  2. #2
    Member stang8118's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Philly, PA
    Posts
    2,334
    This question comes up often here. If you do a search i am sure you'll find plenty of explinations of yes or no.

    Personally i feel if you got the time + extra $$ i'd say sure go for it. I personally don't have one, but from what i hear its on pretty outdated hardware technoligy that most companies don't even use... though i am sure it'll look a little better on your resume.
    Intel i5 4570 - Asus Z87C - G Skill 2x4gb
    Corsair 750w Modular - Antec 300 - ATI HD7850OC

    Retired 3dmark Captain
    Heatware 110-0-0

  3. #3
    Member Lionsault_100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    509
    You won't fail the test if you have remote knowlege about computers..

    It's not worth the paper its printed on save your money for parts or books
    Anyone need meat?

  4. #4
    Senior Toilet Scrubber Ebola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Rosemount, MN
    Posts
    2,511
    If you have a college degree most certs don't matter unless your going into a very specialized field. Ex. CCNP or CISSP. For your first job out of college it may help you get in the door.

    Put it this way. We have 10 Sysadmins in my group. Only one has a MCSE.

  5. #5
    Member Jod's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    1,195
    I'm taking this on Friday as employer pays if I pass. I ended up grabbing the Passport book by Mike Meyers. It's really surprising to see some of this crazy old stuff in there. Where are the "Which of the following are dual card graphics technologies?" questions?

    a. SLI
    b. CrossSLI
    c. Fire
    d. Crossfire

    Heatware: Jodiuh

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    829
    b crossSLI lmfao. wow now i can work for microsoft. better move to india now.

  7. #7
    Member Jod's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    1,195
    That is correct! A CrossSLI platform consists of a 440BX chipset in which one can insert 2 3dfx cards and join them together with a cable for twice the performance of a single cirrus logic 1MB chip.
    Heatware: Jodiuh

  8. #8
    Member Jod's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    1,195
    Well, I passed. So now I can certifiably say, "The A+ test is archaic." It asked me how to get to this place or that place...in NT! Yuck!
    Heatware: Jodiuh

  9. #9
    Member snvpa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,601
    ^^^ yeah the A+ is pretty archaic, it does supplement experience and depending on where you work some employers require you have it. It will not get you a job but along with experience it might make you a more desirable canidate. Really no reason not to get it if you have the time and $$$$. One thing to remember about certs is they won't always help but they will never hurt.

  10. #10
    Senior Member pcgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    557
    I got the A+ Certification back in April of this year, and yes some of the stuff is pretty outdated. However, there's plenty of old equipment still in use out there today and you never know when you may encounter it on the job. So, it definitely can't hurt to have a bit of knowledge on older technology.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,401
    Quote Originally Posted by pcgirl
    However, there's plenty of old equipment still in use out there today and you never know when you may encounter it on the job.
    Bingo there is still tons of old equipment out there, if not at businesses especially at peoples homes attempting to get it fixed when the repair costs more then the value of it lol. A+ Cert has a handful of older questions, but its good to know just in case.
    My Heatware
    i7 920@4Ghz/CM Cosmos 1000
    ASUS P6T Deluxe V2/Enermax DXX 1KW
    OCZ Platinum 3x2GB
    Crucial M4 128GB SSD x2/WD Green 1TB x3
    Hanns-G 28in/HIS Radeon 6950
    Auzentech X-Fi Forte/Logitech Z-5500

  12. #12
    Member wing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    337
    If you want to do work in the IT field...yes you should. Many places look for that.

  13. #13
    Registered ranc1d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Under your bed
    Posts
    13
    I got my A+ before I went for my CCNA...now I'm just getting a basic BSIT degree...A+ helped out with my first Networking job. Which got me into my ASP / JAVAscript coding job im in now....which is funny because that has nothing to do with my Cisco Cert....but will look damn good on my resume 8)

  14. #14
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Posts
    15,547
    Moved to GD.
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  15. #15
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    I had NO certs when I started doing IT work, now I have a Certificate in Network Security and Information Assurance, 2 certs in HP Desktop and Mobile Repair and Troubleshooting and at one point I was a Dell Certified System Engineer.

    A+ is good if you are just starting but MOST Companies have gotten out of the A+ REQUIRED mentality and look for real world experience instead.
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Gone Racing
    Posts
    7,229
    It is my experience that A+ is good for entry level. If you want a good paying career you should have a BA and some of these certs, MCSE, MCSA, MCSP, Security +, Cisco and even RedHat Enterprise. A+ alone isn't worth much unless you are JUST getting started.

  17. #17
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    True Fudge but alot of companies are going back to the req. that you have experience instead of mandatory A+, MCSE etc..

    The CISSP is not really geared towards either an entry level position OR a helpdesk oriented position. Network security is NOT Helpdesk work, they are two TOTALLY seperate job types.
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    1,725
    Quote Originally Posted by pcgirl
    However, there's plenty of old equipment still in use out there today and you never know when you may encounter it on the job.
    Prime example. Earlier this year when I still did register pepair for Sears, the register software they used on the older registers was updated and I had to upgrade the system RAM for it to run... from 4mb to a whopping 8mb. So even huge companies can still be running ancient junk.

    I say get the cert if you have the cash, the more credentials you have the better.

    Antec P180B | Seasonic S12-500 | ASUS P5B Deluxe | E6600 C2D | ATI HD5770 | OCZ Reaper PC6400 2x2GB | 2TB total storage | 2x HP 23" LCD | Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers | Logitech G15 and G5 DELUXE

    My HEAT


  19. #19
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    Quote Originally Posted by damarble
    Prime example. Earlier this year when I still did register pepair for Sears, the register software they used on the older registers was updated and I had to upgrade the system RAM for it to run... from 4mb to a whopping 8mb. So even huge companies can still be running ancient junk.

    I say get the cert if you have the cash, the more credentials you have the better.
    It is a smart business practice to use what you have without upgrading constantly (assuming you dont have a fixed budget that has to be used or it is reduced).

    The register fulfills its duties perfectly at 8mb of EDO ram (most likely). The ones in BB are at best P3 IIRC, but they also browse the intranet.
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  20. #20
    Member fordsierra4x4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Axbridge, Somerset
    Posts
    748
    I thought about doing the A+, then i realised that for the money, i'd get very little return on my outlay, so i put it on my CV anyway. Yes, thats right folks, i lied on my CV, it's not like they're going to catch me out, i've been doing hardware since i was old enough to mod my ZX Spectrum

    Besides, employers here dont ask you for paper copies as proof, so it makes no difference what i put down

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •