Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Boot at 1mhz?

  1. #1
    Member hitbyaprkedcar7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Barnegat, NJ
    Posts
    1,479

    Boot at 1mhz?

    I was just wondering... Has anyone, if its possible, tried booting there pc up at 1 mhz? Or some other redicilously low speed? Would it hurt the cpu or other hardware? Just a thought.. Would be funny to see a super pi 32m or 1m in it, lol.
    [:::::CPU::::\\//:::::: AMD64 4800+X2 @2.9ghz::::::\\//::]
    [::::MOBO:::\\//::::::ASUS A8N32 SLI DELUXE::::::::\\//::]
    [:::::GPU::::\\//:::::: Dual BFG 7900GTX's SLI ::::::\\//:::]
    [:::SOUND:::\\//::Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeMusic::\\//:::]
    [:::::RAM::::\\//:::::2gb OCZ Platinum 2-3-2-5::::::\\//:::]
    [:::::HDD::::\\//::4x37gb WD Raptors RAID 0+1:::::\\//:::]
    [:::::PSU::::\\//::::::OCZ 520watt ModStream:::::::\\//:::]
    [::::COOL:::\\//:::: D5:TDX:2xMAZE4:120.3BIP2::::\\//:::]

    <QUOTE> [[benbaked]] - I've heard those words before, she was complaining about me not listening to her or something, I dunno exactly what I wasn't really paying attention.</QUOTE>


    :mad: :mad: Oh the HEAT:mad: :mad:

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    829
    i seen 19mhz cpuz screens lol

  3. #3
    Folding/SETI/Rosetta Team Member benbaked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    4,480
    Quote Originally Posted by fireandice
    i seen 19mhz cpuz screens lol
    lol i feel old. i remember wanting a 20mhz 286 because my 12mhz 286 was sluggish playing wing commander II.

    you could try using a program like mo'slo to start up at a very low speed. i'm not certain but will dos work at 1mhz or does it require 4.77 (how could it know)?
    HEATWARE (22-0) | Folding/SETI/Rosetta (crunching BOINC as the ben.World.order)

    ASUS Maximus Hero VI | i7-4770K | EVGA 680GTX FTW | G-Skill Trident X 2x8GB DDR3 | Crucial M500 480GB
    ASUS Maximus Formula SE | QX6700 | Gigabyte 4350 | OCZ Gold 2x4GB DDR2 | Intel X25-M 80GB
    PS4 | Wii U | Xbox 360 (Zephyr) w/ WD3200BEVT 320GB | PS3 CECHG01 w/ WD1600BEVT 160GB


    The Chronicles of OCF Rosetta

    StaTek is my hero.

    R.I.P. Adak, OldSkool, pscout

  4. #4
    Member tenchi86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Smoky Mountains, NC
    Posts
    3,633
    Yeah, Apple II was a 1Mhz CPU. Then a more popular one the Macintosh was I believe less then 10Mhz, and the Apple III being around 2-4Mhz.
    "Millions saw the apple fall, but Newton was the one who asked why." -Bernard Mannes Baruch

    Mobo: MSI Neo2-V
    CPU: 2.8a Prescott @ 3.2
    PSU: Blue Storm 500 Watt
    GPU: Geforce 6600GT
    HS: Zalman 7000
    Ram: Kingston HyperX 1024mb 3200

  5. #5
    georgelogy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    480
    I had a nice IBM XT at 8Mhz. That's with Turbo on! That thing was a beast way back when
    Core i7 2600k @ 4.5 1.33v
    ASUS P8Z77-V Pro
    EVGA GTX Titan SC
    2x8GB G.Skill 1866 9-9-9-24
    Corsair H100i
    Corsair HX 850W

  6. #6
    Member Mr. $T$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    2,603
    15Mhz Mac in my closet right now. Everything too, keyboard, mouse, and monitor. I wonder what it's worth? How about a Commodore Plus/4? 1.7Mhz MOS Technology 7501. I also have one of those mint in box.

  7. #7
    Senior Spellcheck greenmaji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,458
    I think the OP was asking about heavy underclocking rather then old pc's guys.
    I have seen some underclocking done here on A64 but dont remember the results.
    $300 for your CPU
    $500 for your GFX card
    $100 for your memory
    $200 for your motherboard
    $9.99 for your PSU

    Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.

  8. #8
    UnseenModerator UnseenMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    5,433
    im pretty certain that most current Operating Systems would not boot on 1mhz as such the best you could actually hope for would be a post screen.

    Not that it would be desirable
    one M15x is never enough

  9. #9
    Senior Member Gnufsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    June Lake, California
    Posts
    5,662
    Most modern CPUs/Boards would be hard. I think I can only go down to a 5x multi/100MHz FSB.
    Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
    Forum Policies
    Sig Rules

    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
    -Sir Winston Churchill

  10. #10
    Member hitbyaprkedcar7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Barnegat, NJ
    Posts
    1,479
    Yeah i was talking about more modern cpus lol

    Yeah.. i just remembered most boards can only get down to a certain multi/fsb/htt . Wasnt thinking all the way at 2am
    [:::::CPU::::\\//:::::: AMD64 4800+X2 @2.9ghz::::::\\//::]
    [::::MOBO:::\\//::::::ASUS A8N32 SLI DELUXE::::::::\\//::]
    [:::::GPU::::\\//:::::: Dual BFG 7900GTX's SLI ::::::\\//:::]
    [:::SOUND:::\\//::Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeMusic::\\//:::]
    [:::::RAM::::\\//:::::2gb OCZ Platinum 2-3-2-5::::::\\//:::]
    [:::::HDD::::\\//::4x37gb WD Raptors RAID 0+1:::::\\//:::]
    [:::::PSU::::\\//::::::OCZ 520watt ModStream:::::::\\//:::]
    [::::COOL:::\\//:::: D5:TDX:2xMAZE4:120.3BIP2::::\\//:::]

    <QUOTE> [[benbaked]] - I've heard those words before, she was complaining about me not listening to her or something, I dunno exactly what I wasn't really paying attention.</QUOTE>


    :mad: :mad: Oh the HEAT:mad: :mad:

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    206
    IIRC the minimum frequency of A64's is 800MHZ, can't tell for sure tough.

  12. #12
    Senior Benchmark Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    10,656
    I've run at 400 before on an A64. 4x100 IIRC, but lost the screenshot with my old ISP.
    El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •