Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006

    Drive caugth fire and still working!!!!

    Hello there
    The strangest thing happen to one drive that ive just bought (second hand)Seagate SATA ST3120026A Barracuda 120GB, when I plug it in to the pc the computer dinted turn on at all after several tries it turn on but next minute when I look there was a little fire coming out from the bottom of the drive, ive turn the computer off and toke the drive out, then I notice a little tiny chip or what that was looked totaly toasted, I pick it out clean the drive on the spot where the chip was then guess what? ive plug it back and it was still working!!! I installed the OS in it and is still working fine!!!
    Did this ever happen to anyone?

  2. #2
    Senior Member KillrBuckeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Livonia, MI
    Oh yes, it's normal for drives to catch on fire the first time they are powered up. It has happened to me serveral times.

    In all seriousness, no I've never heard of this happening. Could you please post some pictures of the "toasted chip" on the bottom of the drive?
    KillrBuckeye

    Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

    Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

    http://www.killrbuckeye.com

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Im think is the one that ive marked with the red circle, I got this picture on the net, is the same model as the one that I got, later on at home I will make sure if that was the one that burn if not I will rectify and post it again.
    The real one that burn is in the bin already so no chance of taking picture there...

  4. #4
    Senior Member KillrBuckeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Livonia, MI
    The drive in the picture looks like a SATA drive to me. Your HDD is IDE interface, right?
    KillrBuckeye

    Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

    Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

    http://www.killrbuckeye.com

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by KillrBuckeye
    The drive in the picture looks like a SATA drive to me. Your HDD is IDE interface, right?
    Nope, its SATA got 2 of those!
    Ive put the worong model number not ST3120026A but ST3120026AS
    Last edited by Mangas; 08-10-06 at 11:33 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member KillrBuckeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Livonia, MI
    You didn't by chance connect both the SATA power connector and the regular 4-pin molex, did you? Only one should be hooked up.
    KillrBuckeye

    Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

    Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

    http://www.killrbuckeye.com

  7. #7
    Member jivetrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lake Village, IN 46349
    Quote Originally Posted by KillrBuckeye
    You didn't by chance connect both the SATA power connector and the regular 4-pin molex, did you? Only one should be hooked up.
    yep, that's what I was thinking
    PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

    2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

    [--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

    "With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/

  8. #8
    BossBorot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    SCU Santa Clara CA
    Heatware Profile
    Ive had a hdd pcb catch fire but not work again.... lucky b**tard

    edit: I only lost a 20 gb pata drive though.

  9. #9
    Member Nephewkp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Champaign, Illinois
    I had a 6.4GB hard drive catch on fire. It produced a ton of smoke too. Freaked me out since it was during the first run of a new build.

  10. #10
    Member CrackerD|ce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lilburn, GA
    No fire, but fried none the less. Screwed the board up, I was ****ed at the time it happened.

  11. #11
    Registered Havoc_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Fortuantely I have never set fire to anything in my computer .........yet. I did see a friends computer once that had the cpu itself hae a large bubble on it that formed when he said the computer was making a noise.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by KillrBuckeye
    You didn't by chance connect both the SATA power connector and the regular 4-pin molex, did you? Only one should be hooked up.
    Only SATA even if I wanted to connect a regular 4-pin molex, Its impossible it doesnt have a regular 4-pin molex!!
    Im installing everything, as soon ive got the web cam plug to it I will take a picture a posted for everyone see and tell me what the hell that was that bunt.

  13. #13
    Member Skeith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Looks to me like it might be a Diode or Zener Diode.
    Cant say for certain cause I cant read the markings on it.
    File Server:
    AMD Semperon 2500+ @ 2104.3MHz (10.5 x 200) 1.9v | ABIT NF7-Sv2 Mobo - Tai Pan Bios | WD 20GB IDE (System) - Seagate 320GB SATA (Storage)
    xfx NVIDIA Ge-force 5200 128MB 333Mhz/500Mhz (Vcore 1.70v/Vmem 3.00v) | 1024MB DDR Dual Channel (2x512 PC3200) UltraValue 2.5-2-2-7

    Web Server:
    Dual PIII 450/256/100/2.0 | 768MB PC100 SDRAM | 6.4GB Quantum Fireball (main) | 6.4GB WD Caviar (FTP Storage)

    Laptop: -Dell Inspiron 6400-
    Intel Core2Duo 1.66GHz | 2x512MB DDR2 667MHz RAM | 120GB SATA HDD 7200RPM | ATI x1400 Mobility 256MB PCIe Graphics | Creative Soundblaster HD MB


    I don't care about what it was designed to do. I care about what it CAN do!

  14. #14
    Hahaha, that's awesome! I wish I had the same luck with that VH6 years ago!

  15. #15
    Id totally return it though and get a newone.. or at least not use it in a system you have running 24/7 unless if you are after home insurance.

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  16. #16
    Member jivetrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lake Village, IN 46349
    Quote Originally Posted by Mangas
    Only SATA even if I wanted to connect a regular 4-pin molex, Its impossible it doesnt have a regular 4-pin molex!!
    Im installing everything, as soon ive got the web cam plug to it I will take a picture a posted for everyone see and tell me what the hell that was that bunt.
    Many SATA drive do/did come with both power connectors, that's why we asked.
    PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

    2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

    [--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

    "With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/

  17. #17
    Member dittohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    i had the same thing!!
    probably same hdd too
    120 or 160gb sata hdd

    caught on fire.. but i was on a sata card on a duron 1800
    didnt work afterwards

  18. #18
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    thats freaking amazing. hasn't happened to me though. i got a sata 160gig
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by jivetrky
    Many SATA drive do/did come with both power connectors, that's why we asked.
    didnt knew that, always learning

  20. #20
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Nice.. Suprised it is still working though.

    Then again I basically fried the ram in a computer once and it is still working 4 years later. But the board only lasted 1.5 years after that happened and a ram regulator bit the dust with a nice little flame for its fuenral.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Samsung UD590 28" 4k | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •