• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

MX1000, looking for a shine, but love the stock color

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

@md0Cer

I did some searching and found tons of people who have completely repainted their Logitech mice and other mice, but I am wondering about making the stock paint nice and glossy.

I am not very experienced with painting at all, so what would I use? Would it be as simple as just putting some clear coat on top of the stock paint? Unlike some of the other mice, the MX1000's paint isn't very glossy at all.

ilikepie said:
The newer version of the mx1000 has a glossy coat

Mine looks like this except a little greyer a little more dull and with smaller battery LED's:

4782.jpg

So does anyone have any tips or know of any good beginners guides on this whole process? I don't think I have ever painted anything in my entire life short of painting the interior of my house, which is far far far from glossy. :p

well i would tape of the wheel and all the black on the sides.

then buy a spray paint of ur choice and a finishing gloss.

paynt the color then let is dry for a day or 2, then apply the finishing gloss

u should be able to get the gloss at a homedepot.

i was thinking of doing this my self as i have the same one u do and the

logitech logo is faiding from wear.

I guess you could get some of that automotive paint, that stuff finishes off with a really nice glossy shine. I cant think of the name but it spraypaint that u can find at any car parts store.

Don't mask anything off, you should be able to disassemble thatthing, and be able to seperate the painted part from the sides and whatnot.

Rub it down with either mineral spirits, or rubbing alcohol to clean it, and then you should just be able to use a Krylon or Dupli-Color(same company) clear coat on it.