Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member Same's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maryland, US

    AMD Athlon 64 3800+ advice

    Hi let me start off by giving you my system specs:

    AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (Venice Core)
    DFI Infinity NF4 SLi mobo
    1 x GeForce 7900GT
    4 x 512MB DDR400 PC-3200 RAM
    Vigor Monsoon TEC CPU Active Cooling System (Thermodynamics)


    my CPU starts at 2.4GHZ, i recently overclocked it to 2.7GHZ
    however, although it passes CPU Stability Tests i want to make sure with you guys who know what your doing that it wont break like next week



    Unoverclocked:
    CPU Temps Idle: 24-25C
    CPU Temps Full Load: 29-30C
    200MHz x 12 multiplier = 2.4GHZ
    CPU Voltage: 1.42

    Overclocked:
    CPU Temps Idle: 25-27C
    CPU Temps Full Load: 35-39
    225MHz x 12 multiplier = 2.7GHZ
    CPU Voltage: 1.59

    i just wanted to make sure everything here is ok as ive never overclocked anything before LoL. Thanx for any help or warnings.

  2. #2
    Member hitbyaprkedcar7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Barnegat, NJ
    Looks good Temps are great, try not to go above 50c on load.

    Oh and btw, to the forums !!
    [:::::CPU::::\\//:::::: AMD64 4800+X2 @2.9ghz::::::\\//::]
    [::::MOBO:::\\//::::::ASUS A8N32 SLI DELUXE::::::::\\//::]
    [:::::GPU::::\\//:::::: Dual BFG 7900GTX's SLI ::::::\\//:::]
    [:::SOUND:::\\//::Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeMusic::\\//:::]
    [:::::RAM::::\\//:::::2gb OCZ Platinum 2-3-2-5::::::\\//:::]
    [:::::HDD::::\\//::4x37gb WD Raptors RAID 0+1:::::\\//:::]
    [:::::PSU::::\\//::::::OCZ 520watt ModStream:::::::\\//:::]
    [::::COOL:::\\//:::: D5:TDX:2xMAZE4:120.3BIP2::::\\//:::]

    <QUOTE> [[benbaked]] - I've heard those words before, she was complaining about me not listening to her or something, I dunno exactly what I wasn't really paying attention.</QUOTE>


    :mad: :mad: Oh the HEAT:mad: :mad:

  3. #3
    Member PWatterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    First off, to the OCForums! We are glad to have you here!

    You overclock looks great so far. The only thing that I could see possibly being an issue is the voltage. Can you back it down a little? Or does it need that much to be stable? Also, read the stickies in this section if you have not already. They contain some great information.

    And no, you CPU will not break next week.
    Personal: Intel E3110 - Biostar TPower I45 - 2x2Gb Mushkin Redline - eVGA GTX260 Core 216 - WD VelociRaptor 74Gb RAID 0 - Seasonic S12II Bronze 520w - Antec Twelve Hundred
    Spare: AMD Opteron 165 (2601 MHz @ 1.325v x 110%) - DFI nF4 Lanparty SLI-DR - 2x1Gb OCZ Platinum - eVGA 7800gt SLI - WD 120Gb - Enermax 350w
    Gov't Issued Desktop: Intel E8400 - Dell Motherboard- 4Gb DDR2 - ATI Radeon HD4670 512 Mb - 320Gb Seagate
    Gov't Issued Netbook: Intel Atom Z520 - 1GB DDR2 - 40Gb PATA

  4. #4
    Member hitbyaprkedcar7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Barnegat, NJ
    Ohh yeah i forgot to edit my post about the voltage. I saw that after i posted, lol. I wouldnt run it much more than that if i were you... Although, i ran mine at 1.6 for a while
    [:::::CPU::::\\//:::::: AMD64 4800+X2 @2.9ghz::::::\\//::]
    [::::MOBO:::\\//::::::ASUS A8N32 SLI DELUXE::::::::\\//::]
    [:::::GPU::::\\//:::::: Dual BFG 7900GTX's SLI ::::::\\//:::]
    [:::SOUND:::\\//::Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeMusic::\\//:::]
    [:::::RAM::::\\//:::::2gb OCZ Platinum 2-3-2-5::::::\\//:::]
    [:::::HDD::::\\//::4x37gb WD Raptors RAID 0+1:::::\\//:::]
    [:::::PSU::::\\//::::::OCZ 520watt ModStream:::::::\\//:::]
    [::::COOL:::\\//:::: D5:TDX:2xMAZE4:120.3BIP2::::\\//:::]

    <QUOTE> [[benbaked]] - I've heard those words before, she was complaining about me not listening to her or something, I dunno exactly what I wasn't really paying attention.</QUOTE>


    :mad: :mad: Oh the HEAT:mad: :mad:

  5. #5
    Member Same's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Hi guys, thanks for the info and welcome

    Also, i tried on lower voltage(1.475-1.550), and this is the least i could do to be stable, wil that be fine?

  6. #6

    You can probably get that proc to run on 1.45 at 225. You may find that you only need to raise the voltage when you pass 240.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  7. #7
    Member Same's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maryland, US
    i tried on 1.475-1.550 before tho, and programs crashed / windows restarted usually

    everything seems to be working well when CPU Voltage Control is set to 1.575 (CPU uses 1.59 voltage), but if i left the voltage on this high setting of 1.59 could it cause any problems in the future?

  8. #8
    Member Same's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maryland, US
    i decided to change stuff around

    Now it only runs at 2640MHz (2.64GHz)

    but im running it on default/stock VCore (1.42)

    so the only thing that is overclocked / changed is my speed is now from 200 to 220, vcore, etc are the same.

  9. #9
    OK my bad I though that was the X2, I can see where you would need to go to at least 1.50 to 1.525 to stabling it. Getting about 2.7 on a number of chips is tough. I've seen 2.7 on my Sandy but it takes a little wiggling to get it there.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  10. #10
    Member hitbyaprkedcar7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Barnegat, NJ
    ^^^

    Oh but the new ones are oc'ing like crazy!

    Nice clock all together Lets see some benches
    [:::::CPU::::\\//:::::: AMD64 4800+X2 @2.9ghz::::::\\//::]
    [::::MOBO:::\\//::::::ASUS A8N32 SLI DELUXE::::::::\\//::]
    [:::::GPU::::\\//:::::: Dual BFG 7900GTX's SLI ::::::\\//:::]
    [:::SOUND:::\\//::Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeMusic::\\//:::]
    [:::::RAM::::\\//:::::2gb OCZ Platinum 2-3-2-5::::::\\//:::]
    [:::::HDD::::\\//::4x37gb WD Raptors RAID 0+1:::::\\//:::]
    [:::::PSU::::\\//::::::OCZ 520watt ModStream:::::::\\//:::]
    [::::COOL:::\\//:::: D5:TDX:2xMAZE4:120.3BIP2::::\\//:::]

    <QUOTE> [[benbaked]] - I've heard those words before, she was complaining about me not listening to her or something, I dunno exactly what I wasn't really paying attention.</QUOTE>


    :mad: :mad: Oh the HEAT:mad: :mad:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •