Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005

    Overclocked A64 3500 venice... Not that impressive?

    Well... after a LOT of trouble, I finally got my new motherboard/processor combo up and running. Although, on games (WoW) it seems SLOWER than my old combo?

    Old Combo:

    Athalon XP OC'd to 2.2ghz.
    1 gig mixed ram (old 256 + older 256 + new kinsgston DDR400)
    ATI X1600 pro
    7400rpm Hard Drive

    New Combo

    A64 Venice 3500 OC'd slightly (wouldn't take anymore) @ 2.3ghz
    512 mem (kingston DDR400)
    Ati X1600 pro
    7400rpm Hard Drive

    When loading windows, it loads a LOT faster, other than that.... NOt impressive? In fact, since I can't use the extra ram, it plays WoW WORSE (it constantly stutters during game play).

    I've updated all the devices with new drivers. Did a clean install of windows XP SP2, and defragged my HD.

    Am I missing something?

    Oh... the old setup 3DMark05'd at 4200. New setup is at 4700.

    Jason

  2. #2

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    well i think you know whats wrong you need more ram .
    2.3ghz on a vennice 3500+ isnt that stock 2.2ghz? for sure even with no voltage jump we can get the oc up what settings and what hardware are you running
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  3. #3
    Member inkfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    The ram is definately holding you back in WoW. World of Warcraft loves huge amounts of memory and the more the better. What motherboard are you using? Like Console said, you should be able to push more out of that system than 2.3Ghz. What sort of cooling are you using and what kind of temps are you getting?

    | Dell Studio17 Laptop |

    | T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |

  4. #4
    Member hitbyaprkedcar7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Barnegat, NJ
    Try to push it to at least 2.5, and definatly invest in a 2 gig kit for WoW. I dont personaly play it (not my type of game) But my friend trys with 512mb of ram, and its horribly stuttery and laggy. I brought over a 512 stick one day, popped it in, and it ran so much smoother. Amazing what another 512 can do...

    Get atleast a gig, but id recomend 2 gigs
    [:::::CPU::::\\//:::::: AMD64 4800+X2 @2.9ghz::::::\\//::]
    [::::MOBO:::\\//::::::ASUS A8N32 SLI DELUXE::::::::\\//::]
    [:::::GPU::::\\//:::::: Dual BFG 7900GTX's SLI ::::::\\//:::]
    [:::SOUND:::\\//::Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeMusic::\\//:::]
    [:::::RAM::::\\//:::::2gb OCZ Platinum 2-3-2-5::::::\\//:::]
    [:::::HDD::::\\//::4x37gb WD Raptors RAID 0+1:::::\\//:::]
    [:::::PSU::::\\//::::::OCZ 520watt ModStream:::::::\\//:::]
    [::::COOL:::\\//:::: D5:TDX:2xMAZE4:120.3BIP2::::\\//:::]

    <QUOTE> [[benbaked]] - I've heard those words before, she was complaining about me not listening to her or something, I dunno exactly what I wasn't really paying attention.</QUOTE>


    :mad: :mad: Oh the HEAT:mad: :mad:

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by ||Console||
    2.3ghz on a vennice 3500+ isnt that stock 2.2ghz? for sure even with no voltage jump we can get the oc up what settings and what hardware are you running
    The motherboard is a ECS KV2 Lite.

    I followed the instructions on the sticky here to find the limits of my memory, HTT, FSB, and processor.

    My memory didn't like anything over 210mhz.
    HTT maxed out at 210x5
    FSB went to 240mhz
    Processor didn't like anything above 235x10.
    All at 1.55v



    Temps are still low. Under full load it gets to ~36c, and it Idle I've seen 28c.

  6. #6

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Quote Originally Posted by NorCalJason
    The motherboard is a ECS KV2 Lite.

    I followed the instructions on the sticky here to find the limits of my memory, HTT, FSB, and processor.

    My memory didn't like anything over 210mhz.
    HTT maxed out at 210x5
    FSB went to 240mhz
    Processor didn't like anything above 235x10.
    All at 1.55v



    Temps are still low. Under full load it gets to ~36c, and it Idle I've seen 28c.

    well try it again to find the max htt again @like 7multy but @stock V not 1.5
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  7. #7
    Member Celada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Reduce the multi for the htt, use a diveder for the ram and you are god to go

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Celada
    Reduce the multi for the htt, use a diveder for the ram and you are god to go
    Been there...done that.

    Reduced HTT to 600 (3x), Ran memory divider at 133htz, put multi to 5x.

    That's how I got the FSB to 240. At 245, it refused to boot.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by ||Console||
    well try it again to find the max htt again @like 7multy but @stock V not 1.5
    I'll give this a try to see what happens. Why at stock voltage?

  10. #10

    Member
    freeagent's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg!
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by NorCalJason
    I'll give this a try to see what happens. Why at stock voltage?
    because not every cpu needs alot of voltage to oc.. some actually oc better at low volts.
    Intel Xeon x5690 E.S. @ 4209mhz, 1.32v/4800mhz, 1.55v
    Corsair H100/2x 38x120 Panaflo @ 60%
    Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200/3608/3608
    3x2GB STT Chrome @ 1600mhz 6-6-6-20 1T, 1.65v
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1100 1.1v
    Intel 520/WD Black
    Auzentech Prelude
    Thermaltake SP850M
    Fractal Design Define R4

  11. #11

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Quote Originally Posted by NorCalJason
    I'll give this a try to see what happens. Why at stock voltage?
    because @ that voltage you will be putting out more heat than needed , since you are going to be running way below stock speeds @ a 7 multi you wont need the high voltage/heat to boot @ those low speeds . I just cant see a venice only overclocking 100mhz , Since your ram doesnt seem to oc and it has high timmings defently use dividers and you will oc much farther
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    **update**

    Flashed new bios. Disabled the 'AMD cooling' feature in the BIOS.

    Got it up to 270mhz x 8, once. Couldn't get it near that again (wierd?)

    Right now it's running 240x11. or 2.64ghz.


  13. #13
    glad u got that figured out

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by exactopposite
    glad u got that figured out
    Yeah me too. And btw... this thing freaking screams! The difference between 2200htz and 2640htz is amazing!

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    just curious, how many volts are you putting in to get 2640? I'm putting 1.55 through my 3500+ to get 2600 stable.

  16. #16

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Quote Originally Posted by NorCalJason
    Yeah me too. And btw... this thing freaking screams! The difference between 2200htz and 2640htz is amazing!
    Yea there is a big jump =) I told ya we could get that overclock up higher with a lil bit of work =) Now the only thing you have to watch out for is ....
    Overclocking is adictive =) have fun
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by JOW!
    just curious, how many volts are you putting in to get 2640? I'm putting 1.55 through my 3500+ to get 2600 stable.
    I'm at 1.55 also.


  18. #18
    Member IWasHungry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Nice work. But I still think you need >512MB of RAM there silly. <3

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by IWasHungry
    Nice work. But I still think you need >512MB of RAM there silly. <3
    I completely agree. I'm trying to decide if I add 512k or try to stretch another gig or two... AND... what speed I need.

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by IWasHungry
    Nice work. But I still think you need >512MB of RAM there silly. <3
    ***Update***

    Added 1gb patriot kit of DDR400 ram. I now have a stability issue I"m trying to figure out, but on WoW this rig screams!

    Jason

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •