Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member mista ting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York City

    Question How do i block Limewire via router? [WRT54GL]

    What type of service is Limewire? i want to make it so my router block any thing to do with limewire



    could any of these settings work?

    Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
    Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
    G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
    HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
    1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
    Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
    Antec 300 Black ATX Case

  2. #2
    Member WeezleXX89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Earth
    So Let me get this straight, You dont want to use limewire's service? Im not getting what your saying?
    Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
    ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
    OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
    XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257

  3. #3
    Member mista ting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York City
    because i keep telling my sister to stop ****ing leaving limewire on 24/7 consuming my entire bandwidth but she still use it thats why i want to try and block it

    Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
    Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
    G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
    HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
    1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
    Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
    Antec 300 Black ATX Case

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Xanadu
    Afaik Limewire/Gnutella uses port 80 for its traffic which means you can't catch it with a port block. You need to do L7 filtering

  5. #5
    Member WeezleXX89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Oh ok. Dont you just go to internet options, security , restricted sites and type www.limewire.com. Is this your computer a sharing computer. If its yours put a password on your accounts and block limewire.
    Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
    ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
    OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
    XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257

  6. #6
    http://www.limewire.com/english/content/firewalls.shtml

    do almost like there but put an other port

    "# Within LimeWire, go to: Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> Firewall Config
    # Make a note of the Listening Port located in the box next to "Listen on Port"
    and change it to something you can block in your router

  7. #7
    Folding Team Content Editor
    Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member
    deadlysyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Stealing your megahurtz at night
    Author Profile
    As far as I know all P2P programs use TCP and UDP ports. Just open up the program in question (Limewire) and go into tools and then options, find the ports and manually block them in your router. Any P2P program that would use port 80 I would think is too insecure to be using, and apparently poorly written.
    Water and Air Cooling Lead Senior
    Folding for Team 32 as 8thDeadlySyn Folding in the memory of pscout
    I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, Q9550@3.5, 4 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066, Corsair Force F60, 300 GB Maxtor SATAII, EVGA GTX460 v2
    Laing D5 Vario, D-Tek Fuzion V1, Swiftech MCW60, Swiftech MCRES V2, HWLabs BIX3, 3 Panaflo FBA12G12U's on Rheobus, Primochill LRT black, Antec 900

    Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P, Athlon II X3 445, TRU120, 4 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, 8800GTS 320MB, 320 GB Maxtor Sata, SB Audigy SE
    HEAT - My Folding Stats
    Would you like to see your writing on the front page? Ask me how!

    Last edited by m0r7if3r on 1-23-2011 at 12:45 PM. Reason: I haz uber 1337 h4x0rz 5k1llz

  8. #8
    Senior Punk Kendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Dark side of hell
    Just throw some 3rd party firmware on the router and then restrict her bandwidth
    Hello:sn:

  9. #9
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Computer--Unplug from router.

    Honestly...technical solutions for societal problems don't tend to work very well.

    I would tell her to stay the heck off except for peak times. Failing that, you can block outbound the port she uses for Limewire and block inbound all.
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  10. #10
    Senior Punk Kendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Dark side of hell
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Newbie
    Computer--Unplug from router.

    Honestly...technical solutions for societal problems don't tend to work very well.

    I would tell her to stay the heck off except for peak times. Failing that, you can block outbound the port she uses for Limewire and block inbound all.
    He has a router that can be used with third party firmware which he can use to restrict the amount of bandwidth she is able to use. Which as long as he is fair about it is the next best thing to settling it by communication.
    Hello:sn:

  11. #11
    Member mista ting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York City
    thanks for the input i found out how to make it work now all i had to do was put my mac address in highest priority in the qos thing now i dont lag when some one else has limewire on

    Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
    Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
    G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
    HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
    1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
    Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
    Antec 300 Black ATX Case

  12. #12
    Member Como's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine
    Ah, so you diddnt /really/ want to block her, you just diddnt want her taking up YOUR bandwidth.

    glad you got it figured out. My solution was to give her linux she'd never find that gnutella or whatever its called.
    This space is for rent.*


    *I'm Lying

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •