• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ubuntu noob questions.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

InThrees

Ok, so I have limited experience with FreeBSD (enough to install onto a slicked system, install and configure samba, php, apache, etc using reference material to double check myself.)

I installed Ubuntu onto my laptop, and decided to seriously give it a go since it's the first *nix OS that just plain worked with my odd screen size. (nvidia gfGO with 1400x1050 pixel lcd).

So, I use the package manager to install apache, php, mysql, and in the course of rooting around and declaring a share, the OS prompts me to install samba to effect the sharing.

Great, outstanding.

However... HOW THE HELL DO I CONFIGURE THIS STUFF? I can't find any entries or areas to configure these things, short of hitting a different tty and doing it the old fashioned way. Is there any GUI support for this? I couldn't actually access the share from my desktop machine because I wasn't able to find any way to add a samba user/pw.

I want to do a little php developing on the box, but that's not going to work either unless I can add a mysql account and get that running correctly.

Also, I was able to figure out how to mount an external enclosure 200gb drive with UFS2 after I installed a 2.6.x kernel, but... this drive has a lot of tv eps like sealab and athf on it, and ubuntu's default media player (totem?) doesn't have the codecs needed to play them. How do I get proper codec support for 'internet standard' mpeg and avi? Divx, etc.

A lot of questions, I know. :confused:

go to ubuntuforums.com and do a search, guarentee its there. They is the ultimate repository for info on ubuntu. They are very friendly and will answer almost any question.