Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Member WeezleXX89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,260

    Red face Is Zone Alarm Pro worth Buying?

    I have zone alarm basic firewall and i love it it tells me who's looking at my computer or bad behavior from hackers. I thought of buying Zone alarm pro because of the triple defense firewall and its not too expensive too. Give me you idea. All opinions are excepted
    Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
    ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
    OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
    XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257

  2. #2
    Member InThrees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Southeast US
    Posts
    1,267
    If you're going to actually SPEND MONEY on a firewall, please please make it a hardware firewall.

    Use something like tiny personal firewall (or if you must, zone alarm free) to see what programs try to send outbound traffic, but for a firewall-firewall that you depend on, don't use software. They're intrinsically insecure on windows machines.

  3. #3
    jcw122's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,707
    No, not even Zone ALarm personal is worth it. It is run by a company out of Israel and ZA has been known to send custom .dll's back to their servers in Israel....it's very suspicious.

    I myself use Filseclab firewall now.
    "YES! I AM INVINCIBLE!!!"
    Folding for Team 32!
    Gaming Nick: new_Faction64 or CharminULTRA
    CPU-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2.0Ghz@2.2Ghz (was 2.4) Socket 754, VENICE
    Memory-Crucial Ballistix 2x512MB @ 220mhz 2.5-2-2-5
    Motherboard-No Idea My DFI Died
    Video Card-MSI ATI 9800XT---412/390(was 424/395)---w00t! Flashed
    PSU-Forton Blue Storm 500w

    Currently Air Cooled w/ Scythe Ninja and AC VGA Silencer
    R.I.P. Project: Humidity
    Heatware

  4. #4
    Member WeezleXX89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,260
    Filseclab firewal does it tell when intruders enter your computer or any websites?
    Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
    ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
    OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
    XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257

  5. #5
    jcw122's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,707
    Quote Originally Posted by WeezleXX89
    Filseclab firewal does it tell when intruders enter your computer or any websites?
    Nah it's a more advanced firewall, but that's more or less why I like it. But it is free, and like I said, more advanced so it's easy to customize and see EXACTLY what is going in and out of your computer, from what IP, and port, etc. You can set rules for all programs, all kinds of options for those rules, etc. It's a very slim program too, unlike many firewalls.
    "YES! I AM INVINCIBLE!!!"
    Folding for Team 32!
    Gaming Nick: new_Faction64 or CharminULTRA
    CPU-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2.0Ghz@2.2Ghz (was 2.4) Socket 754, VENICE
    Memory-Crucial Ballistix 2x512MB @ 220mhz 2.5-2-2-5
    Motherboard-No Idea My DFI Died
    Video Card-MSI ATI 9800XT---412/390(was 424/395)---w00t! Flashed
    PSU-Forton Blue Storm 500w

    Currently Air Cooled w/ Scythe Ninja and AC VGA Silencer
    R.I.P. Project: Humidity
    Heatware

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    191
    Sygate Personal Firewall is what I use. Zone Alarm was crap for me.

  7. #7
    Senior Crypto Caretaker

    ZL1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3,499
    Quote Originally Posted by InThrees
    If you're going to actually SPEND MONEY on a firewall, please please make it a hardware firewall.

    Use something like tiny personal firewall (or if you must, zone alarm free) to see what programs try to send outbound traffic, but for a firewall-firewall that you depend on, don't use software. They're intrinsically insecure on windows machines.


    a hardware firewall will be a lot more secure and a good one can tell you a lot more than a soft fw (but it does require a certain level of know-how)
    they're cheap too these days, you can get a pretty good one from netgear in form of router/fw

    D
    What is The Bitcoin? Want The Bitcoin?
    1ZL1ucArGfCFc9RRn7uch65or7UgR1sWW
    LZL1LnJXmWsntfjzwTHeLUQziL1hcmTPsj

  8. #8
    Lancelot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    2,056
    smoothwall.org is what all my systems are behind...

    You can build a 'hardware' firewall from old computer parts for cheap!
    :: Xeon E3-1220v2 @3745 on Asus P8H77-V with 8GB Corsair DDR3 @1712

    Folding User Stats

  9. #9
    Member Route44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Southern New Jersey
    Posts
    480

    Arrow

    I've had ZoneAlarm Pro firewall versions 4.0, 5.0, and 6.0 and as soon as my 6.0 subscription was up I ditched it. It will slow your computer down in many ways, interfere with net surfing, and takes some serious memory usgae to run. I'm not the only one who has experienced this.

    If you want further reviews of firewalls go to the Wilders Security Forums and scroll down to their Other Firewalls forum. Very, very informative.
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H > i5 3570K
    Crucial Ballistix Sport (8 gigs)
    Sapphire 6950 > Samsung 830 SSD > Seagate 1TB
    Corsair TX 750 > Asus DVD drive
    Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
    Windows 7 64

  10. #10
    Member WeezleXX89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,260
    so your saying GET RID OF ZONE ALARM? Ill try that advanced one
    Thanks guys. lol
    Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
    ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
    OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
    XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257

  11. #11
    Member WeezleXX89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,260
    Is the Filseclab personal firewall professional edition Free?
    Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
    ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
    OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
    XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257

  12. #12
    Premium Member #24
    hafa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    A tiny dot in the middle of the Pacific
    Posts
    3,224
    Quote Originally Posted by WeezleXX89
    so your saying GET RID OF ZONE ALARM? Ill try that advanced one
    Thanks guys. lol
    The main proviso most have pointed out is that you should not depend on ANY software firewall, as a hardware firewall is vastly superior, readily available and may even cost less than what you would have paid for ZA Pro.
    .
    HTPC: Core i3 540/8GB/300GB Raptor/GTS450-1GB/W7P-64 ~|~ File Server: (Green) AMD 4850E/4GB/6TB RAID/Windows Server 2008 ~|~ Notebook/Workstation: M780 Toshiba Convertible Tablet/i7 M620/8GB/128GB Crucial M4 SSD /7200RPM 750GB/W8 Pro


  13. #13
    Member fabulouscoops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,657
    I agree, stay away from internet protection software and buy a cheap router with a hardware firewall.
    i5 2500K@4.5; Asus P8P67 deluxe; 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 1600; Mushkin 120 GB SSD; 2T WD caviar, 500 GB WD caviar; HD7950
    E8500 @3.6 GHz; Asus P5Q Pro Turbo; 4 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066;
    i5 2550; P8P67 deluxe, 8 GB OCZ DDR2 800; 60 Agility SSD; 2x500 GB RAID 0; 250 GB Caviar; HD6950
    E4400 @3 GHz, Abit AB9 pro, Gigabyte 7300 GT silent; 2GB Supertalent PC5400; 3x36 Raptors RAID 0:5

  14. #14
    Member WeezleXX89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,260
    when you install Filseclab fire wall. Profession edition. when you first connected to the internet, do you get alot of thing popping up like allow or chioce? so far its cool. I know nothing about do you think you could tell me hints or how to run it. lol
    Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
    ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
    OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
    XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •