Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member Anjow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UKbiquitous
    Posts
    1,112

    Girlfriend's sound has ceased to work

    She's on XP Pro SP1 on a:

    Asus A7V8X
    Sempron 2400+
    256MB DDR333
    FX5200

    The sound is onboard Realtek AC97, I installed the drivers for it before the summer and it worked fine, it was then not used for around 4 months whilst we were home from uni. Now we're back, she's tried plugging her speakers (working fine - tried connecting to TV and no probs) and no sound seems to come from the machine. I've looked in volume control and nothing's muted, I've tried more than one sound-producing application and I am out of ideas. I've looked in device manager and there are no yellow (!) anywhere.

    Sound isn't my area so I'm not sure what else I should try. Could anyone help please?
    A64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR800
    Sapphire 2900XT (after 4 8800GTXs died on me)
    3x 22" LG TFTs, Vista Ultimate
    Blaming violence on games is like blaming obesity on spoons
    Down with DRM, stop punishing the legitimate consumer

  2. #2
    Member DvBoard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    511
    Double check that they are plugged into the correct port is where i would start with this. I know it sounds kinda stupid, but we need to eliminate possibilities...

    btw when i read the title i thought you where calling your computer your gf .
    *Dead* CPU:Intel Pentium 4 (Northwood) 2400MHz with the 533MHz Bus Speed.; Mobo:First International Computer, Inc. (FIC) Motherboard, model: VI13, Chipset: Sis645DX, BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD version 6.00PG; GPU:ATi Radeon 9000Pro (128MB) Video card (4x AGP); RAM:1 stick 512MB PC2700 (166MHz) Xerox RAM; 1 stick 512MB PC3200 (200MHz) Corsair RAM; HD's:WD 250 Gig HD (x2); Optical:Lite-On DVD+/-RW, DVD-Rom; PSU:Antec SL400; OS:Windows XP

    *Current Rig* CPU:E6600; Mobo:Asus P5B Deluxe; GPU:ATi Radeon HD 4870 w/1GB GDDR5 (PCI Express); RAM: (2 x 1GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400PRO & (2 x 1GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400; HD's:(2x 320GB) Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA Drive & (2x 500GB) Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATA Drive & (2x 250GB) WD IDE Drive; Optical: Lite-on SATA DVD +/- RW & Lite-on IDE DVD +/- RW; PSU:Corsair 520HX; OS:XP; Case:Thermaltake Armor;

  3. #3
    Member Anjow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UKbiquitous
    Posts
    1,112
    I have plugged them into all available ports there, none of which do anything.
    A64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR800
    Sapphire 2900XT (after 4 8800GTXs died on me)
    3x 22" LG TFTs, Vista Ultimate
    Blaming violence on games is like blaming obesity on spoons
    Down with DRM, stop punishing the legitimate consumer

  4. #4
    Member Dreamstalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Brookline, MA
    Posts
    856
    I would try updating the Realtek drivers.

    FTR, I'm having the same problem with my A8V and have not hit upon a solution yet (other than to just get a new soundcard)
    "allright, i am declaring myself a sovereign nation...." --orionlion82
    "I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed, or numbered! My life is my own." --The Prisoner
    My Heatware
    Navi 2.0 under construction

  5. #5
    Member schnikies79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    941
    try using the restore feature from a time that it you know it worked. fixed the same problem with my sister's computer.
    Gave up messing with computers for a bit. It's just my Macbook and my iPhone. :)

    Poop!

  6. #6
    Member R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,868
    along the lines of what Dreamstalker suggested, you can also try reinstalling the sound drivers and software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •