Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Member crofty83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North West, UK
    Posts
    185

    How to run OS X on an XP machine?

    Does anyone know how to run OS X on a Windows XP machine. I did a google search and found a few sites telling me to use a emulation program called PearPC but these articles were written in 05. Are there any more up to date methods of doing this.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member Gnufsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    June Lake, California
    Posts
    5,662
    Doing so would violate the EULA for OSX.
    Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
    Forum Policies
    Sig Rules

    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
    -Sir Winston Churchill

  3. #3
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Posts
    4,933
    Very funny.

    Doing so requires you to engineer around the fact that OS X requires a Trusted Platform Module (which you don't have), and (right or wrong), circumvention of such a protection is illegal under the DMCA.

    An interesting project would be an implementation of Apple's API for 32- and 64-bit x86 Linux, which, while it would take longer, would be much appreciated.
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  4. #4
    Member smokie mcpott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    2,529
    osx on amd64 has been done

  5. #5
    Member crofty83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North West, UK
    Posts
    185
    I dont know much about this but I was under the impression that OSX wouldnt run on a windows machine because they used different CPU architecture. However now that Apple are now using Intel CPU's doesn't this make the task easier.

    Although I could be wrong

  6. #6
    Folding/SETI/Rosetta Team Member benbaked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    4,480
    Quote Originally Posted by smokie mcpott
    osx on amd64 has been done
    Not legally.
    HEATWARE (22-0) | Folding/SETI/Rosetta (crunching BOINC as the ben.World.order)

    ASUS Maximus Hero VI | i7-4770K | EVGA 680GTX FTW | G-Skill Trident X 2x8GB DDR3 | Crucial M500 480GB
    ASUS Maximus Formula SE | QX6700 | Gigabyte 4350 | OCZ Gold 2x4GB DDR2 | Intel X25-M 80GB
    PS4 | Wii U | Xbox 360 (Zephyr) w/ WD3200BEVT 320GB | PS3 CECHG01 w/ WD1600BEVT 160GB


    The Chronicles of OCF Rosetta

    StaTek is my hero.

    R.I.P. Adak, OldSkool, pscout

  7. #7
    Member Sir. BOBSONATOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    In Da Oc
    Posts
    960
    Oh, so that t0rr3nt thats floating around isnt one of apple's products?
    ||DFI-NF4 ULTRA-D||POWERCOLOR X1950PRO 512mb PCI-E||AMD64 3200+ Venice@(250 x 10)@1.45v CIPW W/Scythe Ninja||Corsair Value Select 1GB(2x512)@216 2.5/3/3/7-1T||Antec SP 2.0 500W Dual 12vRails||XP PRO SVP 2||SONY DVD-RW||Lian-Li PC-7BII|WD SATA 80GIG 7200RPM||
    Toothpaste + Vasaline=Thermal Paste Adventures!
    Ghetto Ventilation!!!!

  8. #8
    Member smokie mcpott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    2,529
    i never stated it was legal...i just said its been done, i have run it on one of my machines before, and it was nice, but it felt so .... wrong... no, dirty is the word im lookin for


    MODS is it ok to point people in the right direction, just in order to educate themselves?

  9. #9
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Posts
    4,933
    Quote Originally Posted by smokie mcpott
    i never stated it was legal...i just said its been done, i have run it on one of my machines before, and it was nice, but it felt so .... wrong... no, dirty is the word im lookin for


    MODS is it ok to point people in the right direction, just in order to educate themselves?
    While you'll get an official response fairly soon, the answer will almost certainly be no.
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  10. #10
    Software Jedi snafumaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    South of Boston
    Posts
    375
    Don't ask questions about stuff that is illegal in the forums. Just hit your favorite search engine. There is tons of info out there on this subject and others like it.
    I was going to edit my list of computers...but at this point it would look more like a spreadsheet. Let's just say; I've got one of those too.
    [HEATWARE]

    I must have a problem with all of my Windows machines...they never seem to crash.

  11. #11
    Member Asr940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    292
    I was under the impression that apple was going to be making there next version usable on windows machines. Is that not so?

    Note: legally usable

  12. #12
    Member smokie mcpott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    2,529
    Quote Originally Posted by Asr940
    I was under the impression that apple was going to be making there next version usable on windows machines. Is that not so?

    Note: legally usable

    THAT would be sweet, i would totally jump on the OSXwagon then

  13. #13
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Posts
    4,933
    You do realize that 25% of the reason why OS X is so stable is that Apple maintains control of the platform, right?
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  14. #14
    Software Jedi snafumaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    South of Boston
    Posts
    375
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Newbie
    You do realize that 25% of the reason why OS X is so stable is that Apple maintains control of the platform, right?
    I agree with that completely...well about it being the reason...not so much about the blanket statement that it is stable. Apples freeze and crash as much as Windows in my experience. But try to go to download.com et al and grab a free tool that will asist a novice to fix the issue.
    I was going to edit my list of computers...but at this point it would look more like a spreadsheet. Let's just say; I've got one of those too.
    [HEATWARE]

    I must have a problem with all of my Windows machines...they never seem to crash.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    1,725
    Quote Originally Posted by Asr940
    I was under the impression that apple was going to be making there next version usable on windows machines. Is that not so?

    Note: legally usable
    I don't think so at this point. Although I think it would benefit end users to have two x86 OSes to choose from, that were fairly compatible. Apple would see a huge boost in sales I'd think, and MS would be scrambling to make something with quality to keep it's customers.

    Antec P180B | Seasonic S12-500 | ASUS P5B Deluxe | E6600 C2D | ATI HD5770 | OCZ Reaper PC6400 2x2GB | 2TB total storage | 2x HP 23" LCD | Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers | Logitech G15 and G5 DELUXE

    My HEAT


  16. #16
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Posts
    4,933
    Quote Originally Posted by snafumaster
    I agree with that completely...well about it being the reason...not so much about the blanket statement that it is stable. Apples freeze and crash as much as Windows in my experience. But try to go to download.com et al and grab a free tool that will asist a novice to fix the issue.
    The other 50% has to do with the fact that Apple is a smaller ship and so can turn tighter...and the remaining 25% has to do with the fact that OS X is based upon a *nix, which actually enforces proper permissions, separation of processes, etc.
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Xanadu
    Posts
    3,538
    Apple is a HARDWARE company. They make their profits from HARDWARE.

    You will never see an OSX running on generic (Dell)PCs. If they made that possible, two things would happen: their hardware sales go to almost zero, bankrupting them. And if that's not enough, MS would crush them utterly just to make sure there is no competitor to Windows/Office

  18. #18
    Member Cheator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    5,371
    Quote Originally Posted by crofty83
    I dont know much about this but I was under the impression that OSX wouldnt run on a windows machine because they used different CPU architecture. However now that Apple are now using Intel CPU's doesn't this make the task easier.

    Although I could be wrong
    They do now use x86 and it is done all the time. It isn't impossible, its quite simple really, but its a matter of legallity and cannot be discussed here
    Optimus (Main): Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB G.Skill PC8000, ATI 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TrueControl II
    Teletraan I (htpc): Asus M2N-E, X2 4400+, 2 GB DDR2, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 1.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w
    Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 4200+ X2, 2GB DDR2, ATI 2900xt, Seasonic 500w
    Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, Nvidia 8600m GT, 250gb hdd
    Gears: Asus Eee PC 701, 1 GB DDR, Win XP

    My Heatware!
    "Duct tape is like The Force. It has a light side, a dark side and it holds the universe together." - Malpine Walis

  19. #19
    Software Jedi snafumaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    South of Boston
    Posts
    375
    Quote Originally Posted by Cheator
    They do now use x86 and it is done all the time. It isn't impossible, its quite simple really, but its a matter of legallity and cannot be discussed here
    Seconded. I have a pdf with lots of info and have seen many screen-caps that show it. I'd rather not discuss that more here. You can IM me if you are interested in more facts on that.
    I was going to edit my list of computers...but at this point it would look more like a spreadsheet. Let's just say; I've got one of those too.
    [HEATWARE]

    I must have a problem with all of my Windows machines...they never seem to crash.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •