Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

    E6400 520x7 3.6 Ghz anyone?

    ...And counting. I think I'll do 325 and stop
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by rainless; 09-23-06 at 08:02 PM.
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Thats incredible result

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    MA, USA
    Heatware Profile
    come dude, if you want a large E-Penis, go for the allusive 4.0 Retail Club. How are your temps?

  4. #4
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by dicecca112
    come dude, if you want a large E-Penis, go for the allusive 4.0 Retail Club. How are your temps?

    Idle temps were only 52-54c. At this point 520 DDR2 (1040mhz!) Is as high as my ram can go. I'm absolutely certain that is the uppermost limits. And it was hot enough at that.

    3.6ghz however is NOT the highest my CPU can go at 7x. If I had 1000mhz ram then I would easily be able to do 600FSB. I'm almost CERTAIN of that.

    F-what you heard... This is the DREAM week 24 chip!
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    MA, USA
    Heatware Profile
    I mean 520 DDR and 3.6 is nothing to sneeze at, I hope when I get all my birthday money that I can get my 6400 to those clocks. Congrats to you sir

  6. #6
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by dicecca112
    I mean 520 DDR and 3.6 is nothing to sneeze at, I hope when I get all my birthday money that I can get my 6400 to those clocks. Congrats to you sir
    Thanks
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  7. #7
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    I can pretty much run 520x7 whenever I want. But there's no going beyond that. Even 525 doesn't work. I think when the time comes to upgrade my ram I'll get 2 1gb 1000mhz chips.
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  8. #8
    Member Stupidpenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Virginia Coast
    dual prime stable?

  9. #9
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by Stupidpenguin
    dual prime stable?
    I'm guesssssing... No.

    I could GET IT dual prime stable. Once I upgrade my water cooling. (Once I fall assbackwards into 100 bucks) but at the moment you might notice the black box on one of the icons where a picture should be. I think that's either my ram or my video card giving out on me. So I wouldn't try running it 24.7 til I get a new case with more room for fans.
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  10. #10
    Member OCS911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    United States
    I think your SuperPI 1M is little slow @3.6, I got 15.583s @3.2 for 975X chipset

  11. #11
    Senior Benchmark Addict
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Allendales are much slower than Conroes in SuperPI 1M. (2-3 sec)
    El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway

  12. #12
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by Gautam
    Allendales are much slower than Conroes in SuperPI 1M. (2-3 sec)
    Yeah if you got a Conroe then it's the cache. But also I have CAS5 ram AND i was running it at 5-5-5-15. It's rated at 5-5-5-12, what I'm running at now, but I just ran it at 5-5-5-15 to be on the safe side. Never really attempted to do much with my ram timings as I only try to hit high overclocks when I'm bored or absolutely need to get off my computer and LEAVE MY APARTMENT. Then I'll just throw it up to 500 or 600ghz at which point it shuts down and I go out and look for attractive older women
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  13. #13
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Your chipset might be limiting you going higher. Was reading some articles that if you drop your multi you are actually putting the northbridge on a divider to run faster.

    For instance my memory runs faster running at 400Mhz rather then 442.5Mhz by 200MB/s. My NB registers at 450Mhz which it should be 400 but im using the 8x mutli which from a base of 9x would make that difference.

    With yours running at 520Mhz your NB is running ~595Mhz which might be its limit. Try either pumping more voltage into the northbridge if you haven't maxed it out or raise the multi again and go for more. Since I dought you'll use it for long term with those high temps.

    Oh ya those times do seem slow compared to mine but thats in the range. I get roughly those SuperPI speeds at 3.2Ghz using either the 9x or 8x multi with ram anywhere between 800-1000Mhz.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    MA, USA
    Heatware Profile
    most likely saw that at XS, there was a huge discussion by Tony of OCZ about those results on the P5B

  15. #15
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by deathman20
    Your chipset might be limiting you going higher. Was reading some articles that if you drop your multi you are actually putting the northbridge on a divider to run faster.

    For instance my memory runs faster running at 400Mhz rather then 442.5Mhz by 200MB/s. My NB registers at 450Mhz which it should be 400 but im using the 8x mutli which from a base of 9x would make that difference.

    With yours running at 520Mhz your NB is running ~595Mhz which might be its limit. Try either pumping more voltage into the northbridge if you haven't maxed it out or raise the multi again and go for more. Since I dought you'll use it for long term with those high temps.

    Oh ya those times do seem slow compared to mine but thats in the range. I get roughly those SuperPI speeds at 3.2Ghz using either the 9x or 8x multi with ram anywhere between 800-1000Mhz.
    Actually you've got 4-4-4-12 Gskills and I've got 5-5-5-12 corsair. I'd say THAT's why your timing is faster.

    And what high temps are you talking about? Oh... I get it. Just upping the FSB and doing a suicide run. Sure. Why not.
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  16. #16
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by dicecca112
    most likely saw that at XS, there was a huge discussion by Tony of OCZ about those results on the P5B
    Yup I saw that. Thats why I was bringing it up if it affects his board or not, but I noticed slightly better results on tests so far with it doing the way hes doing it but not that significant expecially with a chip like that his limiting factor would be FSB.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  17. #17
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by rainless
    Actually you've got 4-4-4-12 Gskills and I've got 5-5-5-12 corsair. I'd say THAT's why your timing is faster.

    And what high temps are you talking about? Oh... I get it. Just upping the FSB and doing a suicide run. Sure. Why not.
    Well your running faster speeds which should offset the timing on yours.

    If you feel safe doing a suicide run go for it but I'd suggest upping the multi back to 8 and do it so your not limiting your ram or chipset.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  18. #18
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by deathman20
    Well your running faster speeds which should offset the timing on yours.

    If you feel safe doing a suicide run go for it but I'd suggest upping the multi back to 8 and do it so your not limiting your ram or chipset.
    Hmm... Makes sense to me now that you explain it. I never actually tried to see what my highest clock at 8x is.
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  19. #19
    Member largon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Suomi Finland
    Rainless,
    3.6GHz at what voltage?

    My deceased E6400 was dual prime stable at 3.6GHz 1.5V.
    That chip died due to physical damage.
    You were not supposed to see this.
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

  20. #20
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by largon
    Rainless,
    3.6GHz at what voltage?

    My deceased E6400 was dual prime stable at 3.6GHz 1.5V.
    That chip died due to physical damage.
    What do you mean "physical damage?" I've heard you say that before, but what did you do? Drop an anvil on it or something?

    I hit 3.6ghz at 1.425 volts. Probably could have done it at less but there was no need to try. That's not my 24/7 dual prime clock. I currently run it at 3ghz 1.30 volts which is perfectly safe.
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •