Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member vixro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    2,788
    Heatware Profile

    x1900xt showing checkerboard in games, distorted colors on desktop



    This is an example of the image. MY friend is having this issue and has yet to solve it.

    specs:
    Sapphire Radeon x1900xt
    Asus A8R-MVP motherboard
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.2GHz cpu
    Antec 500Watt SmartPower 2.0 psu
    2G ram
    250gig harddrive


    Somebody suggested a new PSU (even though that one is fine, I used the same build before upgrading and even did crossfired x1900's with it to some extent). So, she tried this PSU: thermaltake toughpower 700W ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V. Same issue of course, I do not think it is a power issue whatsoever.

    Anyway, the problem happens when drivers are on the computer. Windows Media Center edition, Catalyst 6.9. Used driver cleaner, installed everything needed and clean, but the problem still happens. When she disabled hardware acceleration, the discoloration goes away and it looks normal. When she disables the card in device manager, the problem goes away there also. DirectX was recently updated (today) with the latest versions of everything. The problem is still there.

    She put the card in her husbands computer and it worked fine.
    Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
    G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
    ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
    Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
    Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
    - Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
    Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
    heatware

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    94
    If you back down the clocks, does it still have the same issue?

  3. #3
    Blank Senior Member El<(')>Maxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,035
    Author Profile
    PSU if it's fine in another rig most likely. Rather than Driver Cleaner use ATI's Uninstall Utility located here.

    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\UninstallAll
    rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'

  4. #4
    Member vixro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    2,788
    Heatware Profile
    So it really is a PSU issue? What PSU would you recommend she uses then if the 500w Antec isnt good enough and neither is the quad rail $165 PSU? It's confusing for somebody to have a problem like this with such weird symptoms.

    She used her husbands x1800 all in wonder, and it worked fine without problems, it only happens when using the x1900xt (which works fine in his computer, but not hers).



    Edit: When he put the x1900xt in his computer, he was unable to install the drivers for it. He was getting an ATICM.dll type error when he tried, all he knows is that it looked normal without the drivers installed. But, when the drivers are not installed on her computer, it works fine. Does this help? (it works fine on her computer with no drivers installed too)


    She can also play CS with great FPS and it doesn't lag or anything, it's just discolored. Does not reboot.
    Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
    G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
    ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
    Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
    Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
    - Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
    Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
    heatware

  5. #5
    Member maxxoverclocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Vista, CA
    Posts
    1,051
    hmm well id do what posrx7 said and try backing down the clocks, if anything it sounds like the card is damaged or isn't seated correctly

  6. #6
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    4,200
    did you try the omega drivers yet? i doubt this is the problem though.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  7. #7
    Blank Senior Member El<(')>Maxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,035
    Author Profile
    If the drivers were not installed when it was in his rig then it probably needs to be returned.
    rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'

  8. #8
    Member vixro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    2,788
    Heatware Profile
    She decided to send the card in with the RMA today back to newegg for a replacement. I will let you know what happens when she gets the new one back.
    Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
    G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
    ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
    Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
    Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
    - Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
    Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
    heatware

  9. #9
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    699
    From the looks of that image, sounds like a RAM chip went bad.I know the card is RMA'd already, but was it like that out of the box? Did it ever work fine? I assume it was recently purchased.

    Ordinarily, I would assume that static must have zapped one of the RAM chips, but since the RAM is covered by heatsinks, that would reduce that possibility (but not eliminate) the chance of that happening. Only reason I'm mentioning that is, if it WAS zapped by static, then the exact same thing can happen to the new card if proper precautions are not taken. (meaning: no running around on carpet with an exposed card--if you MUST work on carpet, ground yourself and remain as stationary as possible).

    Hopefully it was simply DOA and the new one will be fine.

  10. #10
    Member squads's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,338
    I get an image like that when my memory clocks are too high. If you aren't overclocking the card then it seems you have a memory problem like Falkentyne said. You might need to RMA.
    Phoenix:

    Phenom II X4 940BE Stock | Core Contact Freezer | Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 | 4gb Patriot DDR2-800 4-4-4-12
    MSI 8800GT 512mb | 2x640gb WD AAKS (no RAID) | Corsair 520HX | Kingwin KT-436B-WM | XP Pro & Ubuntu 9.04


    HEAT!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •