Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member Graphicism's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Jensen Beach

    1 TB (Terabyte) External hard drives

    I was looking for a decent sized hard drive for files, backup etc that sort of thing... I would like it to work externally with my laptop so wither an external unit or enclosed casing would be ideal.

    I was set on about 400GB however I came across a 1TB external drive at outpost for $650 with 2x500GB drives... my question is are they any good? Are they more reliable than single 400GB hard drives? Should one hard drive fail is the other still good? Can the hard drives be replaced?

    Lots of questions, if anyone has one of these let me know what you think of it!

    Thanks,

    - Dan
    CPU › E7200 @ 3.75GHz
    MOBO › ASUS P5Q P45
    RAM › G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066
    GPU › Sapphire HD4850
    HDD › WD 36GB Rapter / Seagate 160GB+320GB+1GB
    PSU › Antec Earthwatts 500w
    CASE › Antec 300
    LCD › Dell 2005FPW + Dell E207WFP"
    OS › Vista x64"

  2. #2
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    Since it has 2 drives, then it is using Raid0. So, if one drive fails, you lose the data on the whole thing. Not sure about replacing the drives. For security, I wouldnt trust an external raid setup, especially if you plan to move it around. Those drives would just be inviting failure running raid and being mobile. Drop it once, and a drive fails, losing all of the data.
    Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
    Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
    HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

    Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

    Heatware

  3. #3
    Member Lifthanger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Wφschbach LMAO
    I don't know anything about this specific device, but I would be surprised if it was Raid 0 only. Pretty sure it would support Raid1 or JBOD, too.

    Gentoo AMD64 - Fluxbox



  4. #4
    Member Graphicism's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Jensen Beach
    Hmm, I wouldn't think it is raid at all. The setup is is 2x500GB hard drives to give you 1TB, wouldn't 2x500GB Raid 0/1 only give you 500GB...

    I've had a 20GB lacie USB/Firewire portable for about 4 years now, dropped tens of times, been around the world with me, 10+ trans atlantic flights and it's still in perfect working order, perhaps they don't make them like they used too?
    CPU › E7200 @ 3.75GHz
    MOBO › ASUS P5Q P45
    RAM › G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066
    GPU › Sapphire HD4850
    HDD › WD 36GB Rapter / Seagate 160GB+320GB+1GB
    PSU › Antec Earthwatts 500w
    CASE › Antec 300
    LCD › Dell 2005FPW + Dell E207WFP"
    OS › Vista x64"

  5. #5
    Member Maviryk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
    Quote Originally Posted by Graphicism
    Hmm, I wouldn't think it is raid at all. The setup is is 2x500GB hard drives to give you 1TB, wouldn't 2x500GB Raid 0/1 only give you 500GB...

    I've had a 20GB lacie USB/Firewire portable for about 4 years now, dropped tens of times, been around the world with me, 10+ trans atlantic flights and it's still in perfect working order, perhaps they don't make them like they used too?
    Raid 0 would give you the full amount, 1Tb, Raid 1 would mirror and halve it to 500Gb.


    What makes you think that it is using raid? It could be a JBOD, or even 2 drives. KISS.
    Toshiba Satellite E105
    I'm packing Heat

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Get 250-320 GB hard drives cheapest per GB and great for storage...buy some cheap external enclosures from newegg and you are set, maybe a USB hub to give you somewhere to leave 4 drives plugged in for 500$ you could have 4 drives over a TB.

  7. #7
    Senior Spellcheck greenmaji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Depends on if you want the cheapest sollution or performance.. one of the fastest drives for single user applications is a 500gig drive. SATAe-II and these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...MP=OTC-Froogle

    http://www.storagereview.com/article...0KLA360_1.html

    would be fast... but a little more expensive for 1TB of data. $400 for the drives but only two external enclosures (cuts down on that cost)
    $300 for your CPU
    $500 for your GFX card
    $100 for your memory
    $200 for your motherboard
    $9.99 for your PSU

    Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.

  8. #8
    Member Mr. Roboto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Heatware Profile
    Yeah, i doubt it's raid. I would guess JBOD.
    Main Rig: e8400 l ASUS P5K Deluxe l G.Skill 4GB HZ's l GTX 280 l 2x320gb 7200.10 Raid 0 l X-FI Platinum l CM Stacker 830 l OCZ 700W GameXtreme l Logitech z-5500's l G5 l Saitek Eclipse II l 2 x 2407 WFP
    HTPC:P4 2.8 l 1.5GB ram l 7600GS l HVR-1600 l 400gb raid 0 l Audigy 1 l Coolermaster 280 l 37" Olevia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •