Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006

    Is my E6600 a dud? - Runs Hot

    Just put together my new system with following specs...

    P5B dlx
    E6600 (SL9S8, batch L627A906, 08/30/06)
    Antec Trio 550 psu

    What I'm finding is even with very conservative overclocking the temps seems really high. I started off with the Big Typhoon + AS5 and then switched over to Intel stock cooling just to compare. Both resulted in around same temps (~1-2 degrees). When I removed the BT, the thermal grease seemed to be perfectly spread (used recommended grain of rice method). Intel HS is now using stock thermal material.

    Here are some results...

    FSB @ 300 (2.7005 cpu), mem mult 2 (600), Vcore set to AUTO

    Temps (Idle/Prime95 Load)

    38/57c Asus PC Probe

    45/63c CoreTemp

    mb 35c


    Stock Speeds (266/2.4ghz)

    31/52c PC Probe

    36/57c CoreTemp

    mb 34c

    After a couple of hours of heavy Prime95 testing at both speeds I didn't get any errors..but the temps just seem to hot to be safe. All of these readings are with my case cover off. They go up about 5 degrees with it closed. Am I crazy or do these seem really hot for such moderate overclocking? I'm tempted to try another aftermarket cooler, but after such poor results with the Big Typhoon I'm skeptical. Any ideas or suggestions appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Mitch

  2. #2
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Well first.... Welcome
    Second don't have the Vcore set to auto. Set it between 1.3-1.35V to be safe that the board is not jacking up the voltage when OCing. You should beable to hit 3Ghz easily within those voltage settings and even possibley 3.2Ghz and up.

    The temps on the OC seem high, but the chips can take the heat, IMO though I'd lower them before going higher for long term clocks. For at stock speed my setup got 28C IDLE and 35C Load, I can hit 3.0Ghz with 1.325V (Orthos stable) and hit 32C Idle and 42C Load. As soon as you start ramping up your OC your tempature will climb quickly. Seems that clock frequencey drives temps higher then a voltage increase in my cases.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Samsung UD590 28" 4k | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Ok, been running some more tests with P95 at higher speeds.

    Went up to 320fsb (2.88ghz) then tried 333fsb (3ghz) and noticed my temps remained at about the same level at idle and load as 300fsb (+- 1 degree). However, at 333 P95 would give me the following error on both instances after a few minutes..

    "FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4"

    I have my Vcore locked to 1.325v right now. Should I try bumping up to 1.35 and give it another go at 333fsb?

    Thanks,
    Mitch

  4. #4
    Member maxfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    GlassCity USA
    i would.your cpu is probably starved for voltage under load at that freq.

    I7 2600K-MSI Z68A GD65-MSI GTX 580
    4x4gb Corsair Vengeance-OCZ Agility3 120gb
    WD 320gb-Seasonic X1050,CM HAF-X

    DDC-2 w/Bitspower mini tank
    EK Supreme HF
    DD GTX580
    XSPC RX360

    HEAT

  5. #5
    Member Epox4life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Possibly a very concaved IHS, just sounds like a bad mount to me though, not enough pressure.
    i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz (24/7)

  6. #6
    Anyone who is not using Intel's new temperature thermal readouts is not getting realistic temperatures.

    With Intel's new "Thermal Analysis Tool" (TAT) you will get a real output. This is now a digital thermal sensor and the new Core2 cpu's do not give proper readings with the old monitor methods of algorithmic ratio.

    Download:

    http://users.skynet.be/fb127723/TAT.exe

    I have an E6400 @ 3.2GHz with 1.37V. With a Big Typhoon I get 43/42 Idle and 57/55 full load (Orthos).

    When I use Everest and other methods to test, they show different results. Everest is 25C, Speedfan is 28C, etc.

    The difference is due to the older softwares using a ratio algorithm to aproximate the thermals due to analogue sensors. The Core2 beasties have a Digital thermal sensor built into the core and which give real core temps. We have never had these readouts before so they might seem hotter or more extreme. They are not. Simply put, we were misinformed as to the true core temperatures before Conroe and are not anymore.

  7. #7
    Member maxfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    GlassCity USA
    Quote Originally Posted by Barkiss
    Anyone who is not using Intel's new temperature thermal readouts is not getting realistic temperatures.

    With Intel's new "Thermal Analysis Tool" (TAT) you will get a real output. This is now a digital thermal sensor and the new Core2 cpu's do not give proper readings with the old monitor methods of algorithmic ratio.

    Download:

    http://users.skynet.be/fb127723/TAT.exe

    I have an E6400 @ 3.2GHz with 1.37V. With a Big Typhoon I get 43/42 Idle and 57/55 full load (Orthos).

    When I use Everest and other methods to test, they show different results. Everest is 25C, Speedfan is 28C, etc.

    The difference is due to the older softwares using a ratio algorithm to aproximate the thermals due to analogue sensors. The Core2 beasties have a Digital thermal sensor built into the core and which give real core temps. We have never had these readouts before so they might seem hotter or more extreme. They are not. Simply put, we were misinformed as to the true core temperatures before Conroe and are not anymore.
    i had no idea.thanks for the info.i was wondering why my 6600 was idling at 37 and my p4 idled at 32.mystery solved lol.

    I7 2600K-MSI Z68A GD65-MSI GTX 580
    4x4gb Corsair Vengeance-OCZ Agility3 120gb
    WD 320gb-Seasonic X1050,CM HAF-X

    DDC-2 w/Bitspower mini tank
    EK Supreme HF
    DD GTX580
    XSPC RX360

    HEAT

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by maxfly
    i had no idea.thanks for the info.i was wondering why my 6600 was idling at 37 and my p4 idled at 32.mystery solved lol.
    Your welcome. You have the "Core Temp" which also reads the true digital temp so I would advise you to follow that reading as a true temperature.

    Here's my system idle and load temps.


    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by Barkiss; 10-01-06 at 04:40 PM.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by spiderhole
    Ok, been running some more tests with P95 at higher speeds.

    Went up to 320fsb (2.88ghz) then tried 333fsb (3ghz) and noticed my temps remained at about the same level at idle and load as 300fsb (+- 1 degree). However, at 333 P95 would give me the following error on both instances after a few minutes..

    "FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4"

    I have my Vcore locked to 1.325v right now. Should I try bumping up to 1.35 and give it another go at 333fsb?
    What's your current setting for the Static Read Control setting in the North Bridge Configuration screen? I had the same problem with P95 once I started hitting the 330+ MHz FSB range, after disabling Static Read Control the P95 issue disappeared without having to increase vcore.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Thanks for all the great info and advice, guys. So, any recommendations for a replacement cooler for the Big Typhoon that isnt as tall? Even something that is an inch or two shorter would work much better in my case.

    -M

  11. #11
    Member maxfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    GlassCity USA
    the zalman hsf are pretty good but expensive.there may be a sticky somewhere to help you choose.

    I7 2600K-MSI Z68A GD65-MSI GTX 580
    4x4gb Corsair Vengeance-OCZ Agility3 120gb
    WD 320gb-Seasonic X1050,CM HAF-X

    DDC-2 w/Bitspower mini tank
    EK Supreme HF
    DD GTX580
    XSPC RX360

    HEAT

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Ok, I ordered an Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro for $16 (what a deal) and will see how that works. I chose it over the Zalman because of the price and the fact that I won't have to take my mobo out and remove the BT backing pad to install. Will post the results.

    -M

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    I'm afraid what I'm looking at is a grossly concave IHS on my e6600 and will check and see when I go to install the Freezer 7 Pro. Lapping doesn't sound like my idea of fun, so hopefully I can get acceptable temps with the new cooler at 2.7ghz. Kinda makes me mad since most seem to be getting WAY better overclocks with the 6600 and even the 6400.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by spiderhole
    I'm afraid what I'm looking at is a grossly concave IHS on my e6600 and will check and see when I go to install the Freezer 7 Pro. Lapping doesn't sound like my idea of fun, so hopefully I can get acceptable temps with the new cooler at 2.7ghz. Kinda makes me mad since most seem to be getting WAY better overclocks with the 6600 and even the 6400.
    I'm in the same quandry as you. No matter how hard I try to clamp down the typhoons mounting plates (They're actually BENDING) I can only get it to contact the outer 1/3rd of my IHS on my 6600. I believe I either need to RMA this chip or void warranty by lapping this chip. I've owned a northwood and a prescott and both of those prior chips had FLAT IHS plates. Buying a better HSF or a waterblock won't solve the problem of only 33% contact of the IHS with the heatsink. I'm thinking about lapping this guy since it's able to run at 3ghz @ only 1.25Volts dual prime stable. Imagine what it can do once it's adequately cooled.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by spiderhole
    I'm afraid what I'm looking at is a grossly concave IHS on my e6600 and will check and see when I go to install the Freezer 7 Pro. Lapping doesn't sound like my idea of fun, so hopefully I can get acceptable temps with the new cooler at 2.7ghz. Kinda makes me mad since most seem to be getting WAY better overclocks with the 6600 and even the 6400.
    I've never lapped a cpu, but I don't think it's that big of a deal unless you go overboard with it. I was thinking of lapping mine because it's slightly concave, but my temps aren't too bad so I'm not worrying about it right now. If I do lap the cpu I'm going to use a whetstone that's used for sharpening knives. I'll start with the medium and finish with the hard. I doubt that'll give you the mirror finish that people go for, but the stock finish isn't mirrored either. That'll at least get it flat, and the rest can be made up with AS5. I mention the stones because I think that'd be easier to deal with than the typical sandpaper.

    Btw, I'd only use natural stones for that. The synthetic (particularly cheap ones) could give unpredictable results. Start with the Arkansas medium, and finish with the Wa****a hard.<--LMAO wth? W*a*s*h*i*t*a


    Addendum: It's a little late now, but I'm very happy with my Thermalright XP-90c. It works especially well with my specific setup due to my side case fan. I'm getting 55c at full load using prime95

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Lap the cpu if you're willing to lose the warranty. After getting tired of seeing idle temps of 45C and load temps of 60C @ 3ghz @ 1.2V on my concave E6600 I decided to lap her. I was initially scared at first since I started seeing copper. but perservered. Only took about 10 minutes since I started with an agressive 400 grit moved on to 600 then 800, 1000, 1500. Wasn't mirror finish, but the improvement is remarkable. In the exam same settings Coretemp is now 33C idle and 49C load after 30 minutes of dual prime. If you're willing to risk it, lapping is recommended.

  17. #17
    Contributing Member hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!
    Quote Originally Posted by magbarn
    Lap the cpu if you're willing to lose the warranty.
    if you care about being moral, the warranty is void the moment you OC it.
    i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
    6x4gb
    560ti
    and my baby Lucy
    <----

    Do not go gentle into that good night,
    Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by hUMANbEATbOX
    if you care about being moral, the warranty is void the moment you OC it.
    True True, but even before I started o/c the chip it was already idling at mid 40's and hitting 60C while loaded on stock voltage. This is all due to my chip being concave since most don't run that hot to begin with.

  19. #19
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Lapping a chip either way if its even alittle concave or even convex can help with temps the question is just how much.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Samsung UD590 28" 4k | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Heatware Profile
    I think your temperature are consider to be "okay". unlike mine, idle 50/ load 65-70 with 1.4875 (set in bios).

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •